Online Photo Course - Eight Steps to More Dramatic Photography with Jim Zuckerman

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Eight Steps to More Dramatic Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Jim Zuckerman
Eight Steps to More Dramatic Photography

Transform your photography from mediocre and unfulfilling to exciting and dramatic. This course - taught by famed author/photographer Jim Zuckerman - delves into eight easy-to-understand steps that will definitely improve your ability to create better compositions, use color more effectively, and much more.

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Eight Steps to More Dramatic Photography


51 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ed Prasek 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2013 3:55:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2013 3:55:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2013 3:55:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2013 3:55:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2013 3:55:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great, great course. I learned a ton about composition, selecting backgrounds, working with color, working with lenses, and so much more. This was my first course with Jim Zuckerman, and it will not be my last. Excellent course, excellent instructor, and excellent curriculum.
11/5/2013 3:55:48 PM
 
Antoinette Addison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2013
Contact Antoinette
Antoinette's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2013 9:46:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2013 9:46:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2013 9:46:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2013 9:46:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2013 9:46:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course. Jim is a fabulous instructor, supportive and motivating. He really pushed me to improve my photography and I am seeing the results. I have gotten many more "great photo" comments from my friends!
9/11/2013 9:46:11 AM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2012 8:34:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2012 8:34:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2012 8:34:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2012 8:34:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2012 8:34:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim's course, as always, is magnificent. He has fine lectures that you can go back to and look at in the future (a must when taking course to have resource material in the future to refresh your mind on how to think about making images when you forget.

I will say, I am going through a difficult time in my photographic adventure. Jim's course helped me to renew my thinking about making images dramatic.

I appreciate his help and his critiques. They are excellent and provide wonderful insight.

BetterPhoto.com hit another home run with this course.

Well done and thank you!

4/27/2012 8:34:05 AM
 
Carolyn McIntosh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/3/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2012 8:47:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2012 8:47:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2012 8:47:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2012 8:47:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2012 8:47:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
At this point I consider myself to be verging on an advanced photographer category and I was still challenged by this course.

The content helped cement in my brain some fundamental techniques that you should never forget. You can never rest on your laurels and one must always keep learning. If you quit learning you will stagnate . . .

Jim's critiques were very detailed and he always gave ideas as to how you could have improved a photo. I don't envy an online instructor's job . . .I think it would take a lot of time to analyze every student's work and give detailed critiques.

1/8/2012 8:47:40 PM
 
James L. Jenkins
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/13/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2011 1:17:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2011 1:17:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2011 1:17:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2011 1:17:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2011 1:17:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim doesn't just instruct, he mentors. He doesn't just critique your submissions, he wants you to excel. Jim shows you that the world is a canvas and the camera is your paintbrush. With each class I take from him I am able to perceive the world through the viewfinder in a more artistic and dramatic way. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to expand on the fundamentals of compelling photography.
7/8/2011 1:17:10 PM
 
Janice Carter
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/23/2010
Contact Janice
Janice's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2011 7:39:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2011 7:39:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2011 7:39:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2011 7:39:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2011 7:39:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course. The lessons are well written, the assignments challenging, and Jim, as always, is ready to answer all the students' questions. His critiques are spot-on and very constructive. I would recommend this course to anyone who truly wants to improve their photography in any genre.
7/1/2011 7:39:15 AM
 
Thomas E. Hinds
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/7/2008
Contact Thomas
Thomas's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2011 6:40:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2011 6:40:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2011 6:40:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2011 6:40:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2011 6:40:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my third class with Betterphoto and first with Jim. I appreciate his vast knowledge and patient manner. The text used in the lessons is perfectly succinct and loaded with tips on how to get the most out of your camera and your vision! I highly recommend this class for anyone looking to improve their photographic skills!
5/16/2011 6:40:21 PM
 
Mary  L. Olson
Contact Mary
Mary 's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 5:43:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 5:43:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 5:43:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 5:43:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2010 5:43:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It amazes me that Jim, as busy as he must be, is so generous about sharing time and insights with his students. He shares his own work when he wants to make a point, and he is always quick to respond to any question. The course material is good, but the teacher makes this an outstanding experience.
12/31/2010 5:43:59 PM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2010 7:50:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2010 7:50:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2010 7:50:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2010 7:50:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2010 7:50:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my 9. class at BetterPhoto.com and my second with Jim.

Because of the earlier 8 classes I knew some of the stuff here, but I took it anyhow, and it showed up to be some new angles, that was very good til get, and only Jim has this special angles.

I also took the course because I knew, that you would get the very best and honest critique of your photos, and I certainly did, and at the same time you feel, that he care.

8/25/2010 7:50:08 AM
 
Maureen E. Marella
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/20/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2010 11:39:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2010 11:39:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2010 11:39:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2010 11:39:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2010 11:39:25 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Well, this was a bit easy for me but then, I think because I had already taken several classes that covered the same subject matter. I have nothing but praise though for Jim Zuckerman, he's an amazing teacher, has an amazing eye and is honest and upfront (even if a few of his reviews sort of made me mad...lol). In retrospect though, he told me the truth and was quite honest. I recommend him as a teacher 100%.
8/24/2010 11:39:25 AM
 
Evelyn W. Lucking 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 1:28:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 1:28:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 1:28:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 1:28:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 1:28:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love Jim's teaching style and learn so much from each class.
7/8/2010 1:28:30 PM
 
Josh A. Friedman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/3/2010
joshfriedmanphoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 5:37:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 5:37:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 5:37:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 5:37:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 5:37:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my 1st BetterPhoto.com course. I thought Jim's lessons were clear & very helpful. The assignments forced me to be creative, & they reinforced the concepts in the lessons. He took the time to give useful feedback in a clear, constructive manner. My photography has definitely improved as a result of this class, and I would highly recommend it to others.
5/5/2010 5:37:11 PM
 
Thomas Eriksson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 9:09:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 9:09:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 9:09:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 9:09:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 9:09:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Good Course and Teacher
Recomended
3/12/2010 9:09:54 AM
 
Patricia Anne M. Syquia
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/26/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2009 4:27:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2009 4:27:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2009 4:27:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2009 4:27:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2009 4:27:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim is a great teacher, with very informative and well-prepared critiques. Just reading them made me learn alot! And his explanations are very clear and easy to comprehend. I will definitely recommend this course to my friends, and take other classes under Jim.
12/11/2009 4:27:33 AM
 
Alex Ermolin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/4/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2009 12:08:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2009 12:08:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2009 12:08:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2009 12:08:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2009 12:08:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first course at BetterPhoto, and surely not the last one - all thanks to Jim. Great photographer, patient teacher, thoughtful reviewer. First thing I liked was the speed of his feedback. He replied to all my mails the next day, and often - within a few hours!

The title of the course - 8 steps to more dramatic photography - is fully justified by its content and outcome. I could see how my works improved with every lesson and every assignment. And I have witnessed the same thing happening to other students in class, too.

While we are at it - another remarkable thing about this course was the atmosphere. It was like a real campus indeed - just more friendly and supportive. I thank all my classmates who I learned a lot from, and I thank Jim for his skillful facilitation of this kind of atmosphere.

I've always thought that a good teacher is far more important than a topic of a lesson. Don't start with choosing the course - choose a teacher whose veiws, words and works seem near to you, and then choose among his or her courses - this should work much better. Well, at least it worked in my case. :)

And I can tell you: Jim Zuckerman is a good teacher. Unless of course you like to be beaten for mistakes - Jim's not that kind. LOL

BR,
Alex

9/16/2009 12:08:09 PM
 
Craig W. Myers
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/1/2008
Contact Craig
Craig's Gallery
leaperphotos.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 8:32:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 8:32:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 8:32:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 8:32:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2009 8:32:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Among all the excellent instructors I've had at BP, Jim is the best. Throughout the course I have appreciated the fact that he not only made frank appraisals of our work and offered great suggestions for improving our images and methods, but offered examples by either tweaking our work or sharing appropriate examples of his own. The lessons were clear, concise, and valuable. I look forward to more classes with Jim Zuckerman.
9/2/2009 8:32:23 PM
 
Kristina L. Jacobs
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/5/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2009 6:50:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2009 6:50:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2009 6:50:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2009 6:50:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2009 6:50:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just finished this course, the second course I've taken by Jim Zuckerman, and I highly recommend it.

Jim is both an excellent teacher and photographer. Some of the lessons are more challenging than others, but all have made me reach a new level in my ability to take decent photographs.

Thank you Jim and thank you Better Photo!

Kristina Jacobs

8/29/2009 6:50:11 PM
 
Ken De Pree
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/15/2008
Contact Ken
Ken's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2009 12:32:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2009 12:32:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2009 12:32:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2009 12:32:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2009 12:32:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my 3rd Better Photo course, all with Jim Zuckerman. I stayed with him because he is an excellent teacher and I like his style. No question that my photography skills have improved as a result of these course. I still have more to learn, but I am at a higher level than when I started with Jim and this is easily seen in my photos.

Money very well spent.

Ken De Pree

8/29/2009 12:32:13 PM
 
Judith E. Roberson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/2/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 10:32:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 10:32:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 10:32:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 10:32:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 10:32:25 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my second course here at BetterPhoto.com. I contacted Jim prior to the course and asked WHAT course he thought I would best benefit from, after reviewing my photos on a website. He suggested this course.

It has been an invaluable suppport to enhancing my photographic skills. I have a LONG way to go, but this course if definitely a first step in achieving my goal of better images. His critiques are timely and gentle, but honest. I read each and every critique and I learned even more than had I only read my own critiques. I would highly recommend this course if you are interested in improving your composition skills! ;)

3/11/2009 10:32:25 AM
 
Srividya Narasimhan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/13/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2008 11:49:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2008 11:49:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2008 11:49:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2008 11:49:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2008 11:49:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my first class at Betterphoto and I couldn't have made a better start. Jim is a wonderful teacher. His lessons are easy to understand and his assignments inspire you to think creatively. His critiques are very straightforward and yet, very very sweet. I had stayed away from using Photoshop due to "beginner's fear". Jim told me a small personal story and taught me how to conquer the fear of using something "new" - wonderful, Jim. I think that is what makes a great teacher-someone who prepares you for situations 'outside' the class. I loved the course a lot and have enrolled for his Photoshop course.
Thanks a million, Jim for a wonderful class. I learnt a lot about photography in this class.
7/9/2008 11:49:01 PM
 
Jessica Kibling 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2008 2:44:31 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2008 2:44:31 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2008 2:44:31 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2008 2:44:31 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2008 2:44:31 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
While the content of the course was good; I feel like I should have saved my money and purchased a book. I took this course to get feedback on my photos. You will eventually get feedback, but it may be 2 weeks after the assignment is due. It was not timely or very helpful in the learning process.
7/1/2008 2:44:31 PM
 
Wanda Judd
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/2/2003
wandajudd.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2008 12:15:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2008 12:15:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2008 12:15:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2008 12:15:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2008 12:15:06 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recently finished this class...I think it may be my 3rd class with Jim, he is outstanding...his leessons were insightful and informative...but the thing he did that others before him have tried is give me an asppreciation for the wide lens...that lesson was the best ever and I have since bought a wider lens because of his class...thanks JIm.
3/11/2008 12:15:06 PM
 
Ann Hempelmann 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2008 7:23:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2008 7:23:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2008 7:23:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2008 7:23:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2008 7:23:09 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I learned so much in this class - new techniques, new ways of evaluating my photographs, new ideas from other students. I know my photography will be greatly improved by what I've learned. Thanks!
2/7/2008 7:23:09 AM
 
Mark E. Howard 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 5:35:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 5:35:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 5:35:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 5:35:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2007 5:35:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Having taken a number of courses at BP, all taught by quality instructors, I rank Jim and his courses at the top. He provides astute critiques that are concisely identify where images can improve, while still pointing out the positives. I have found benefit from all of his courses and all of his critiques. While he occasionally travels for photo shoots, he always is quick to respond to questions and provides timely critiques. It has been said that "those that can do, those that can't teach," Jim demonstrates that it is possible to do both!
12/6/2007 5:35:10 PM
 
elizabeth Cavaluzzo 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2007 1:08:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2007 1:08:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2007 1:08:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2007 1:08:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2007 1:08:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jims knowlege of photography and his teaching style made this course most informative and fun! Jims course teaches artistic photography. If that is what your looking for I highly reccomend it. (thanks Jim)
9/7/2007 1:08:30 PM
 
Sarah D. Perreten 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 5:39:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 5:39:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 5:39:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 5:39:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2007 5:39:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I echo all the comments already made. Jim has given me a new set of eyes.

Thank you, Jim!
Sarah (Sally) Perreten

9/6/2007 5:39:41 AM
 
Marcia Gold 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 8:01:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 8:01:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 8:01:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 8:01:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 8:01:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As usual, Jim doesn't disappoint. He is truly an amazing teacher and photographer. He is able to convey sophisticated ideas in an easy-to-understand manner, bringing the quality of your work higher each week of class. His insights, critiques and suggestions have been a catalyst in bringing me from an amateur to the budding professional portrait photographer I am today. Thank you Jim for three life-changing classes...and counting. Next stop: Corel Painter X!!
9/5/2007 8:01:37 PM
 
Karen Anderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/19/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 4:10:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 4:10:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 4:10:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 4:10:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 4:10:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was the first class I have taken with BetterPhoto.....and, it won't be my last! I learned so much from Jim. His lessons were well written with good suggestions and his critiques were helpful. When a photo was done well, he pointed out all of the reasons why, and when they needed improvement, he explained what could be done and provided examples. This was the first time I have ever submitted photographs to be critiqued and I had a hard time waiting for responses from him when the class began. But, I think it also helped me gain confidence in my work as the class progressed. I am a better photographer because of this class and plan to take more of his classes in the future. It was great working with him.
6/6/2007 4:10:30 PM
 
Carlton Ward
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/13/2005
Contact Carlton
Carlton's Gallery
carltonwardphoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 4:01:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 4:01:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 4:01:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 4:01:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 4:01:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Of the 6 courses I have taken at BP, this is the one that I will carry with me every time I go out with my camera & tripod. The lesson on landscape techniques really opened my eyes to a part of my photography that I had been neglecting. The lessons were sequenced in a logical order and Jim's critiques were fantastic. I sometimes would wonder why a photo did not have an impact when exposure & lighting were correct and Jim would explain if the background or other factors were causing a distraction - which I am now more aware of when composing a shot. I cannot recommend this course more highly - it will make you a better photographer.
3/11/2007 4:01:54 PM
 
Gabor Hajdufi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2007 12:05:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2007 12:05:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2007 12:05:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2007 12:05:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2007 12:05:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks again for your help and comments. I really expected this course to be a fantastic experience and a great improvement to my skills, but I have to admit it exceeded all my expectations. I can't wait to sign up for another course!
1/9/2007 12:05:08 PM
 
Rebecca Shepherd 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2006 9:42:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2006 9:42:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2006 9:42:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2006 9:42:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2006 9:42:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I enjoyed the class it was very educational. Jim is straight forward, honest & understanding. If he doesn't like a photo he'll explain why & will also tell you how you can improve and/or download an edited version so you can understand the concept. If he likes the photo he'll point out the reasons so other students will understand. If you're not putting an honest effort into it, he knows. You might not get your critque right right away (1 to 7 days) but its worth the wait, normally it's 2 to 4 days. Although he does answer questions very quick. I would definitely take another course from Jim.
12/21/2006 9:42:33 AM
 
Kaye Hamilton-Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/23/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 9:43:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 9:43:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 9:43:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 9:43:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 9:43:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course truly lived up to its title. Jim showed us his own spectacular images and helped us make our own images more impactful. I really appreciated reading his critiques on all class photos. I feel that my vacation photos were greatly improved from having taken this course.
9/11/2006 9:43:17 PM
 
Rajan P. Parrikar 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 1:57:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 1:57:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 1:57:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 1:57:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 1:57:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The chief strength of this course taught by Jim Zuckerman was his emphasis on conveying to us the fundamentals of composition & technique, without losing sight of the fact that photography is, above all, a medium for artistic expression. The benefit of critiques from a first-rate photographer was also a crucial component of this course and an important factor in the learning process Jim's feedback was forthright, pointing to both our individual strengths & weaknesses. I have no hesitation in saying that this was an outstanding course.
9/11/2006 1:57:00 PM
 
Robert Patterson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 10:09:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 10:09:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 10:09:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 10:09:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 10:09:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for everything. Your course was an awesome experience! Your
instruction and critiques were excellent. This course took me to the next
level and beyond.


I have to admit that I was leery about taking an online class. I thought
attending classes in person would be more beneficial. I couldn't have been
more wrong. The spring is a very busy time in my business and the
flexibility of the online course enabled me to complete the assignments. The
individual assignments kept me focused, which can be very difficult.


As someone who has worked in adult learning, I like how you structured the
program. Each week's assignment built on the week before. Well done.


Based upon my experience in your class I'm taking the street photography
course beginning next month.


Thanks again.

7/6/2006 10:09:06 AM
 
Joni Earley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/6/2005
Contact Joni
Joni's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 6:57:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 6:57:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 6:57:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 6:57:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 6:57:24 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think Jim Z. is a talented and thoughtful photographer. His excitement about his own work is admirable, and rightly so. I'm glad he was so eager to share it all with us, and helped set examples for me in my own efforts to complete the assignments. The other workshops he taught on location while teaching this class makes me think he's stretched too thin at times, but at least we were warned before signing up for the class that there'd be delays. I probably wouldn't sign up for any more classes from anyone who was going to be so detached for so long. BUT, it wouldn't stop me from taking another Jim Zuckerman class! He's always answered my questions in a timely manner and is critiques have been honest and helpful.
3/14/2006 6:57:24 AM
 
Kathleen R. Struckle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/26/2003
Contact Kathleen
Kathleen's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:12:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:12:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:12:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:12:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:12:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my fourth class. I enjoyed this class very much. Jim has been such an inspiration to me. His lessons were to the point and his photography is wonderful. He always is right to the point in critiquing.
I learned so much. See you in the next class Jim.
3/13/2006 2:12:46 PM
 
Mary Iacofano
MARYIACOFANO.COM
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 4:56:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 4:56:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 4:56:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 4:56:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 4:56:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Oh This class is a blast!
Lessons & instructions were great. At first what seemed to be very easy, turned out to be very challenging. The negative & positive feedback from Jim is a great learning tool. He tells it like it is. Upfront & honest. That has taught me to be more critical of my own work & get out there & try harder. I learned so much and had so much fun.
Thanks for all your guidence & inspiration!
Thanks for always answering (my) questions from an amateur!
See ya in the next class!
Mary
3/10/2006 4:56:01 PM
 
Judi Bailey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 6:01:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 6:01:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 6:01:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 6:01:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 6:01:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first photography class ever...and I totally loved it. Jim, your instruction was very clear and well thought through...and the pictures for illustration were very inspiring...I felt very comfortable with posting them for your critique...I felt you would be offer help and suggestions without putting a damper on our enthusiasm and efforts...I also enjoyed the feedback from the other members...Thank you for an memorable experience...
3/7/2006 6:01:00 PM
 
Chuck Diefenderfer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/24/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 12:26:18 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 12:26:18 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 12:26:18 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 12:26:18 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 12:26:18 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I thought the lessons were excellent but the lack of timeliness of critiques by Mr. Zukerman detracted from the course.

As I stated in an earlier email he has not yet critqued week 5 and we have compleded the week 8 and are being asked to select our three favorite photographers.

I know he has been traveling to take photographs, but if that is his priority perhaps he should not be teaching this course. (In the past I have given up a part time college teaching job because my primary job required too much travel and I felt I could not be fair to my students).

I may take another Better Photo course but not one taught by Mr. Zukerman. Most of my feed back has come from other students.

3/7/2006 12:26:18 PM
 
C William Dunsay
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/6/2005
Contact C William
C William's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 8:27:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 8:27:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 8:27:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 8:27:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 8:27:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
jim, once again thank you for all your insight. I was challenged personally in my role as a photographer and have been thinking of what works for me and how I need to go about it. I look forward to more courses with BetterPhoto and perhaps another one of your classes. I enjoyed the India photos, particularly the Taj... in the morning and the drummers.
12/17/2005 8:27:32 PM
 
Diana R. Lemieux
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:19:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:19:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:19:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:19:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 7:19:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim, you are an instructor extraordinaire!! Thank you so much for all of your critiques, praises.....I feel like I have learned a lot and also become a better photographer because of your constructive criticisms and ideas. It has also been wonderful to interact with other students. This was a great class!
12/9/2005 7:19:51 AM
 
Larry Deamud 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 6:02:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 6:02:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 6:02:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 6:02:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 6:02:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim has the "know how" and more importantly "the ability to discern and convey" both the positives and the negatives of a wide array of images. His attentive critiques constructively blend your strengths and weakness' - facilitating marked improvement in your photographic abilities. I often submit “out of the norm” shots just for such feedback. I greatly value the ability to study under a "real" teacher.

larry

6/9/2004 6:02:38 AM
 
Ronald Balthazor
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/17/2002
balthazorphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:02:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:02:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:02:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:02:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:02:04 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks, Jim. I appreciate the help. By the way, I found going to some of the stock photo sites you recommended extremely helpful. They certainly give you some wonderful templates for this type of photography.

Again, I must say how much I like your critiques. You do a very nice teaching job. We're all learning here.

I've learned a ton through your instruction and suggestions.

1/4/2004 12:02:04 AM
 
Allyn Vineberg 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:59:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:59:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:59:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:59:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:59:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Your comments and suggestions are positive and a great help. I'm getting alot out of reading the comments you are making on everyone's pictures.
1/3/2004 11:59:42 PM
 
Diane Critelli 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:57:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:57:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:57:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:57:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:57:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
There's many times since completing your Mastering Light class that I've used the ideas that you taught us. Prior to that class, I would have thought my only option would have been to blast this subject with flash. The duck photo I submitted this week is another photo I would never have taken before the lighting class.
1/3/2004 11:57:27 PM
 
Sherri Conley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/28/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:52:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:52:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:52:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:52:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:52:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've enjoyed this class immensely and I've learned more in the past two months than I ever imagined. It's also been a real pleasure "meeting" everyone and learning the in and out's of photography.

Jim, your being a "catalyst" is an understatement. I was highly inspired and challenged by your assignments and your critiques made me want to be the best that I could possibly be.

Thanks so much for sharing your expertise with us and for your honesty in judging our photographs. You let our creativity streak run wild and let us be wide open when doing our "homework". I couldn't have asked for more. This class was exceptional and I'll definitely be "seeing you around campus" again! :)

1/3/2004 11:52:47 PM
 
Cathy J. Martin
HotshotsbyCathy.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:45:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:45:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:45:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:45:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:45:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you, Jim, very much... I have learned so much in your class. I have
found it to be quite difficult... which in turn equates to a great course. Thank you.
1/3/2004 11:45:19 PM
 
Stan M. Richards 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:41:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:41:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:41:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:41:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:41:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The class has been so informative, with each week another huge challenge. I find that I am trying to incorporate prior assignmens into each new assignment. Dramatic subject, golden light, setting the F stop for desired DOF, etc. I love the class and have enjoyed viewing the large number of excellent photographs submitted by classmates. I think all of us are improving with every assignment.

I have completely enjoyed the photo class, the subject was perfect for my abilities and I learned much. Jim Z. is an outstanding instructor.

The experiences of completing each photo assignment and receiving individual critiques from such a renowned professional has been very rewarding. It has been challenging, and I have learned much. Thank you.

1/3/2004 11:41:38 PM
 
Donna R. Moratelli
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/23/2000
Contact Donna
Donna's Gallery
DonnaraePhotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:39:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:39:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:39:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:39:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:39:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wish that this class could last forever. It gets me out there shooting
things that I wouldn't have normally shot and just out shooting!

I will miss this class terribly! You are a great teacher and I have loved each & every assignment. I'll be taking the new course of yours in
the future. It looks like a great class also!

1/3/2004 11:39:08 PM
 
Sharon E. Lowe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/7/2002
Contact Sharon
Sharon's Gallery
photosbysharon.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:36:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:36:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:36:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:36:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:36:51 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have thoroughly enjoyed this class thus far, despite having bonechilling weather to cope with! You have really stretched me to search for those great subjects and perfect light. I know I have already learned a tremendous amount from you! Thanks!
1/3/2004 11:36:51 PM
 
Mark Lane 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:35:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:35:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:35:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:35:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:35:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hey Jim, I just wanted to compliment you on the way you have the online courses set up. I like the section for introductions and self-portraits as well as having a section for Photo of the Week. Thanks for the effort - it
is appreciated. You didn't tell me what a challenge Jim Zuckerman's class was going to be but then I think you knew I like a challenge.
1/3/2004 11:35:33 PM
 

51 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist