Online PhotoCourse™ - Polaroid/Fuji Image and Emulsion Transfer with Kathleen Carr

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Polaroid/Fuji Image and Emulsion Transfer Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Kathleen T. Carr
Polaroid/Fuji Image and Emulsion Transfer

Explore creative, alternative photographic techniques to produce unique and artistic images using Polaroid and Fuji films. Learn how to create Polaroid/Fuji image and emulsion transfers and apply them to different surfaces, as well as to manipulate and handwork your transfers, and then handcolor them. Each image is unique due to the physical properties of the transfer processes.

Category: Specialty Subjects
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Polaroid/Fuji Image and Emulsion Transfer


23 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kim M. Ross 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 4:55:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 4:55:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 4:55:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 4:55:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 4:55:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kathleen Carr's Polaroid/Fuji Image and Emulsion Transfer course challenges photographers to learn new processes and sharpen composition skills. Photography, as an art, needs to move forward, and photographers need to continue to see in new ways. This course is designed to do both. Each of the eight lessons is densely packed with information, detailed instructions and beautiful images. In addition, Kathleen is a gifted teacher, ready to lend assistance and give inspiration. Anyone who is truly interested in growing as a photographer should take this course. I highly recommend Kathleen Carr's Polaroid/Fuji Image and Emulsion Transfer class available on BetterPhoto.com Kim Ross
11/9/2010 4:55:33 AM
 
Christine L. Murphy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/2/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 8:58:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 8:58:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 8:58:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 8:58:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 8:58:57 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class exceeded my expectations in every way. It was great to explore my creativity using images on different paper and different mediums. It was almost like painting with your images! You can put photos just about anywhere you can think of. I'm disappointed the class is ending but I plan to keep playing with my Fuji Film and different transfer mediums. Thank you so much Kathleen for your encouraging words and wonderful ideas. This class has been the most exciting and fun class I have ever taken. I just wish it wasn't ending.

7/12/2010 8:58:57 AM
 
Lisa Canorro 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2010 10:45:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2010 10:45:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2010 10:45:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2010 10:45:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2010 10:45:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I had blown through a lot of film by the time I found this class. Internet sites were pretty wavering on working techniques for fuji film. Kathleen was right on the money about what processes worked and didn't, whether you were using fuji film or polaroid. What a great help! Great layering of lessons to help one succeed and strong feedback on works and questions. I found that Kathleen's work and that of my fellow classmates helped inspire me to go beyond what I would have otherwise done on my own. I highly recommend this class, very enjoyable, wish it wasn't over already!
7/6/2010 10:45:33 AM
 
Lisa Gordon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/30/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2010 11:57:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2010 11:57:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2010 11:57:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2010 11:57:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2010 11:57:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kathleen's class was just amazing!!! I learned so much and with her thoughtful guidance was able to explore a bit of my artistic side that I was not sure existed. Her comments were timely and so very helpful. All questions were answered promptly. Anyone interested in Polaroid/Fuji/Alternative Photography processes would love this course.
7/5/2010 11:57:34 AM
 
Georganne Fisher 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2009 4:36:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2009 4:36:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2009 4:36:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2009 4:36:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2009 4:36:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've wanted to do Polaroid transfers for a long time, but felt more confident trying this process out with an experienced person like Kathleen Carr helping me. She was very flexible, with critiques that were supportive and accurate. Her suggestions were gentle and thorough. Communication was excellent. Most importantly, she looked for the strengths as well as the weaknesses in our work and pointed those out.
The online experience is not ideal for this type of class. In spite of the excellent written instructions provided and individual attention given, a student can make more mistakes than necessary due to the fact the instructor is not actually present to correct problems as they occur. On the other hand, the instructor is forced to guess what went wrong based on viewing a student's work and reading an, at times, inaccurate description of the problem.
Lastly, the BetterPhoto site provides an easy way to upload photos, but even though I consider myself fairly computer savvy, I found trying to add comments to each photo, very non intuitive and somewhat confusing. I'm not sure I ever quite got it right.
Thanks for a great course, Kathleen Carr is wonderful, I would love to take one of her work shops. Kathleen please come to Tampa! :-)
Georganne Fisher
9/27/2009 4:36:59 AM
 
Monique Harmon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 9:49:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 9:49:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 9:49:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 9:49:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 9:49:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was a pleasure to be a part of and most importantly a wonderful and new learning experience. I feel like I am taking away a lot of new insight and knowledge to the process of both image and emulsion transfers. I plan on continuing to experiment and play around. I highly recommend this cours to anyone interested in the process of image/emulsion transfer. It is far better than trying to find out info/instructions randomly online.The critiques, help, & knowledge Kathleen had to offer was very valuable.
9/4/2009 9:49:11 PM
 
Amira Raviv 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 4:12:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 4:12:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 4:12:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 4:12:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 4:12:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5

I want to thank Kathleen for an interesting course, fascinating new techniques and mainly her enormous knowledge, and willingness to share it, and her detailed informative explanations.
This was one of the most interesting courses I took and definitely learnt a lot.Together with her two books it felt like a whole new world opened to me. Her answers to my questions were alwaysdetailed very informative and motivating.
I recommend to anybody who loves photography combined with art and creativity to take this course with Kathleen!Awesome!
Amira Raviv
3/13/2008 4:12:48 PM
 
Kathleen M. Kelly 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 6:06:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 6:06:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 6:06:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 6:06:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 6:06:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my second time through on this class, and it was worth every penny. Unfortunately, I had to be away for the final two weeks, but plan to get everything in before starting my next online class with Kathleen in April.
The first time around I got the mechanics, more or less, and in the intervening year, accumulated the equipment to do it easier. This time, it was very inspiring for me. I appreciated hearing a bit about Kathleen on the radio, so there was that human touch. Great job, Kathleen
3/12/2007 6:06:11 PM
 
Alan Friedman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 6:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 6:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 6:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 6:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 6:51:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first e-course and I am a neophyte photographer and a fairly klutzy guy on top of that. Unfortunately I could not finish the last two lessons, as I unexpectedly had to have shoulder surgery. But, I was so impressed with Kathleen's teaching approach, her detailed written instructions and her quick and generous feedback that I wanted to type this (by "hunt and peck" method) to get my positive comments on the record as soon as possible.

Thank you Kathleen for providing me with tools to more fully enjoy my retirement exploring a challenging and wonderful medium. I will recommend you and this Better Photo class to all my buddies (or maybe only those in touch with their feminine side).

I have read all of the reviews of this course and wholeheartedly agree with the common thread --- great course, even better instructor.

3/7/2007 6:51:24 PM
 
Wendy B. Kagan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:33:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:33:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:33:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:33:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:33:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been a wonderful experience for me (and continues to be, as I finish up the assignments!). As a busy working mom living in the "boonies," I'm so thankful for online classes like this and the chance to work with an amazing instructor who I wouldn't have had access to otherwise. I started out with a very limited understanding of this process from one 4-hour workshop. After 8 weeks with Kathleen I now feel privy to the secrets of the craft. I was especially impressed with the professional level of the lessons - yet as a beginner I did not feel intimidated. Instead I felt empowered, and now I have a new passion in my life. Thank you, Kathleen & Better Photo!
9/13/2006 2:33:11 AM
 
Judy C. Norton
judysfirstlightimages.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:44:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:44:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:44:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:44:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:44:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kathleen

I loved your class! Some of the signs a great teacher can bring to a
class are enthusiasm and a positive attitude. You have it is spades!
Your creativity and ideas made so many different ways of expression
possible. I am grateful for that, because it forced me to step out of
my limited thinking box! You were honest and kind in your critiques.
Thanks! I have fulfilled a dream by completing this class and
learning this wonderful process!

Warmly,

Judy Norton

6/20/2006 11:44:49 AM
 
Gail Hammer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 4:33:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 4:33:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 4:33:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 4:33:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 4:33:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The course was wonderful and more than what I anticipated! Years ago I took a Polaroid transfer weekend workshop, so I did have the basics - but I learned so much more from the course. It really has given me the inspiration to continue experimenting and creating new pieces. The course outline was very concise and easy to understand - Kathleen really has - not just a gift in her photographic art - but also in her writing! I already have two of herr books - "Polaroid Transfers" and "Polaroid Manipulations," which was what really inspired me to want to learn more. When I read about the BetterPhoto course, I was elated!!
Gail Hammer
6/12/2006 4:33:31 PM
 
Karen Rexrode 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 5:59:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 5:59:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 5:59:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 5:59:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 5:59:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kathleen's class really helped me practice the polaroid transfer and emulsion lifts to the point that I was comfortable with the process. Her notes each week were very complete and she was very patient with the various questions.
12/18/2005 5:59:45 PM
 
Robyn L. Mayne
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:20:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:20:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:20:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:20:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:20:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I enjoyed Kathleen's Polaroid Transfers class immensely. While I have been a photographer for some time, I found the processes taught by Kathleen allowed me to unleash a whole new creative side of me. The hand coloring of transfers was an unexpected part of this course and I loved it - the local artist supply shop has become like a second home.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to try something different and stretch and challenge themselves. As a bonus you get to create unique, original, one-off artworks that will impress everyone who sees them.

12/13/2005 7:20:10 PM
 
Ronni Nienstedt 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 7:28:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 7:28:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 7:28:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 7:28:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 7:28:36 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kathleen Carr does an excellent job with her course on Polaroid Image and Emulsion Transfers! She is a gifted teacher who disseminates information in an understandable way....encourages participation from all students in questions and comments....and has the ability of all expert teachers, which is to critique with kindness and patience while being "to the point" for the sake of creativity. I not only enjoyed this course....I delighted in it...It was the first online course I ever took....and I cannot recommend it more highly to all who are interested in transfers. Kathleen will open doors to areas of expression that will leave you smiling.....all day long!
I also must say that the BetterPhoto course was a wonderful way to meet other creative people...& it was just terrific to share work and dialogue with these artists.
3/16/2005 7:28:36 AM
 
Todd E. Price 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 12:44:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 12:44:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 12:44:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 12:44:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 12:44:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was incredible! Kathleen's insctuction is top notch!

It was such an inspiration to go beyond "photography". I got so much enrichment and enjoyment out of working with other mediums (acrylic, pastels, pencil, etc.).

This is the second class I have taken with Kathleen and it is my hope that she teaches more classes in the future. Perhaps an extention course!

9/22/2004 12:44:45 PM
 
Karey Miller 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 7:04:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 7:04:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 7:04:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 7:04:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 7:04:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for your incredible transfer class at BetterPhoto. It has
opened a whole new world for me, and I can't wait to pursue it further. Traditional photography was never the right fit for me, and your books and class gave me a whole new passion. Throughout the last two months you have greatly inspired me with your incredible talent,and generous guidance....something that has made me very excited about the future. Please know you have a big fan and you've had a profound effect on my future!
9/22/2004 7:04:50 AM
 
Nancy Wilson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 9:46:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 9:46:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 9:46:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 9:46:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 9:46:25 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I add my seconds to all of the comments. The creativity, the
"awakening" to possibilities I have never thought of before, the confidence building from all of the positive comments, a passion for
the work, the inspiration, and the impression that I am looking at work of great artists, and finally, the wonderful commaradarie.

I started this course quite apprehensively. You would all be
younger, more talented, and I would lag behind everything. Into the course, I let go of all of that and just concentrated on my own style and pushed myself to do the very best that I could. Many thanks to all of you and to Kathleen.

7/28/2004 9:46:25 AM
 
Patrice Ryan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:11:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:11:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:11:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:11:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:11:04 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class has inspired a much needed creative awakening in me and I am so grateful for this. I can feel the difference every day when I'm out in the world... I'm 'seeing' in composition. Kathleen, I've learned so much from you. I greatly appreciate your eye for the subtle details. Also, your perspective has caused me to look at some of the images in the class a second time and appreciate them in a whole new way. You've done an excellent and thorough job in imparting your knowledge. Your enthusiasm and positive approach in communicating, teaching and critiquing has been delightful.
5/1/2004 8:11:04 AM
 
Deanna Grigus 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:09:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:09:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:09:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:09:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:09:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have enjoyed this class SO much!!!!! I have learned a lot, pushed myself, appreciated others comments and really enjoyed seeing everyone's work develop. I believe the internet class has been better for really looking at all of the participants work. Also being able to reference questions that others have. In a class room setting--it just isn't the same! This has been a great experience- I will miss it very much.
5/1/2004 8:09:45 AM
 
Joanne I. Netland 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:08:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:08:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:08:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:08:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 8:08:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been the most rewarding class I've ever taken! I looked forward to each week's lessons and I couldn't wait to see everyone's work and read the comments -- especially from you, Kathleen. I've devoured your books and will continue to.
5/1/2004 8:08:14 AM
 
Nancy Wilson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:46:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:46:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:46:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:46:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:46:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I learned about this course after corresponding with Kathleen Carr. This was a wonderful course with an accomplished artist and teacher. Her style works very well with online course delivery, and she did everything right: specific feedback, full lesson details, and enriching the community of artists taking her class.

I am a professional photographer, but I had never done any work with Polaroid Transfers. I sure learned a lot. I would like to continue my learning by doing more work with Kathleen.

3/28/2004 10:46:23 AM
 
Giuseppe Satriani 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:36:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:36:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:36:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:36:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 10:36:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
For me has been a pleasure to be e-student in your first on-line performace! Everything works very well and I had fun with the assignments
you proposed us. I met very interesting people and I learned tips that will lead me to dramaticaly improve my abilities with Polaroid Transfers.
We will keep in touch and I will evaluate with attention any other on-line course you'll propose. I will ask my wife to gift me your book Polaroid Manipulation for my birthday (1st of June).
3/28/2004 10:36:30 AM
 

23 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist