Online PhotoCourse™ - Polaroid/Fuji Image and Emulsion Transfer with Kathleen Carr

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Polaroid/Fuji Image and Emulsion Transfer Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Kathleen T. Carr
Polaroid/Fuji Image and Emulsion Transfer

Explore creative, alternative photographic techniques to produce unique and artistic images using Polaroid and Fuji films. Learn how to create Polaroid/Fuji image and emulsion transfers and apply them to different surfaces, as well as to manipulate and handwork your transfers, and then handcolor them. Each image is unique due to the physical properties of the transfer processes.

Category: Specialty Subjects
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Polaroid/Fuji Image and Emulsion Transfer


First 10 of 23 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kim M. Ross 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 4:55:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 4:55:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 4:55:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 4:55:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 4:55:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kathleen Carr's Polaroid/Fuji Image and Emulsion Transfer course challenges photographers to learn new processes and sharpen composition skills. Photography, as an art, needs to move forward, and photographers need to continue to see in new ways. This course is designed to do both. Each of the eight lessons is densely packed with information, detailed instructions and beautiful images. In addition, Kathleen is a gifted teacher, ready to lend assistance and give inspiration. Anyone who is truly interested in growing as a photographer should take this course. I highly recommend Kathleen Carr's Polaroid/Fuji Image and Emulsion Transfer class available on BetterPhoto.com Kim Ross
11/9/2010 4:55:33 AM
 
Christine L. Murphy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/2/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 8:58:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 8:58:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 8:58:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 8:58:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 8:58:57 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class exceeded my expectations in every way. It was great to explore my creativity using images on different paper and different mediums. It was almost like painting with your images! You can put photos just about anywhere you can think of. I'm disappointed the class is ending but I plan to keep playing with my Fuji Film and different transfer mediums. Thank you so much Kathleen for your encouraging words and wonderful ideas. This class has been the most exciting and fun class I have ever taken. I just wish it wasn't ending.

7/12/2010 8:58:57 AM
 
Lisa Canorro 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2010 10:45:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2010 10:45:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2010 10:45:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2010 10:45:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2010 10:45:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I had blown through a lot of film by the time I found this class. Internet sites were pretty wavering on working techniques for fuji film. Kathleen was right on the money about what processes worked and didn't, whether you were using fuji film or polaroid. What a great help! Great layering of lessons to help one succeed and strong feedback on works and questions. I found that Kathleen's work and that of my fellow classmates helped inspire me to go beyond what I would have otherwise done on my own. I highly recommend this class, very enjoyable, wish it wasn't over already!
7/6/2010 10:45:33 AM
 
Lisa Gordon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/30/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2010 11:57:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2010 11:57:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2010 11:57:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2010 11:57:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2010 11:57:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kathleen's class was just amazing!!! I learned so much and with her thoughtful guidance was able to explore a bit of my artistic side that I was not sure existed. Her comments were timely and so very helpful. All questions were answered promptly. Anyone interested in Polaroid/Fuji/Alternative Photography processes would love this course.
7/5/2010 11:57:34 AM
 
Georganne Fisher 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2009 4:36:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2009 4:36:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2009 4:36:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2009 4:36:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2009 4:36:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've wanted to do Polaroid transfers for a long time, but felt more confident trying this process out with an experienced person like Kathleen Carr helping me. She was very flexible, with critiques that were supportive and accurate. Her suggestions were gentle and thorough. Communication was excellent. Most importantly, she looked for the strengths as well as the weaknesses in our work and pointed those out.
The online experience is not ideal for this type of class. In spite of the excellent written instructions provided and individual attention given, a student can make more mistakes than necessary due to the fact the instructor is not actually present to correct problems as they occur. On the other hand, the instructor is forced to guess what went wrong based on viewing a student's work and reading an, at times, inaccurate description of the problem.
Lastly, the BetterPhoto site provides an easy way to upload photos, but even though I consider myself fairly computer savvy, I found trying to add comments to each photo, very non intuitive and somewhat confusing. I'm not sure I ever quite got it right.
Thanks for a great course, Kathleen Carr is wonderful, I would love to take one of her work shops. Kathleen please come to Tampa! :-)
Georganne Fisher
9/27/2009 4:36:59 AM
 
Monique Harmon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 9:49:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 9:49:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 9:49:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 9:49:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2009 9:49:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was a pleasure to be a part of and most importantly a wonderful and new learning experience. I feel like I am taking away a lot of new insight and knowledge to the process of both image and emulsion transfers. I plan on continuing to experiment and play around. I highly recommend this cours to anyone interested in the process of image/emulsion transfer. It is far better than trying to find out info/instructions randomly online.The critiques, help, & knowledge Kathleen had to offer was very valuable.
9/4/2009 9:49:11 PM
 
Amira Raviv 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 4:12:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 4:12:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 4:12:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 4:12:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2008 4:12:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5

I want to thank Kathleen for an interesting course, fascinating new techniques and mainly her enormous knowledge, and willingness to share it, and her detailed informative explanations.
This was one of the most interesting courses I took and definitely learnt a lot.Together with her two books it felt like a whole new world opened to me. Her answers to my questions were alwaysdetailed very informative and motivating.
I recommend to anybody who loves photography combined with art and creativity to take this course with Kathleen!Awesome!
Amira Raviv
3/13/2008 4:12:48 PM
 
Kathleen M. Kelly 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 6:06:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 6:06:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 6:06:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 6:06:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 6:06:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my second time through on this class, and it was worth every penny. Unfortunately, I had to be away for the final two weeks, but plan to get everything in before starting my next online class with Kathleen in April.
The first time around I got the mechanics, more or less, and in the intervening year, accumulated the equipment to do it easier. This time, it was very inspiring for me. I appreciated hearing a bit about Kathleen on the radio, so there was that human touch. Great job, Kathleen
3/12/2007 6:06:11 PM
 
Alan Friedman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 6:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 6:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 6:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 6:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2007 6:51:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first e-course and I am a neophyte photographer and a fairly klutzy guy on top of that. Unfortunately I could not finish the last two lessons, as I unexpectedly had to have shoulder surgery. But, I was so impressed with Kathleen's teaching approach, her detailed written instructions and her quick and generous feedback that I wanted to type this (by "hunt and peck" method) to get my positive comments on the record as soon as possible.

Thank you Kathleen for providing me with tools to more fully enjoy my retirement exploring a challenging and wonderful medium. I will recommend you and this Better Photo class to all my buddies (or maybe only those in touch with their feminine side).

I have read all of the reviews of this course and wholeheartedly agree with the common thread --- great course, even better instructor.

3/7/2007 6:51:24 PM
 
Wendy B. Kagan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:33:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:33:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:33:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:33:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 2:33:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been a wonderful experience for me (and continues to be, as I finish up the assignments!). As a busy working mom living in the "boonies," I'm so thankful for online classes like this and the chance to work with an amazing instructor who I wouldn't have had access to otherwise. I started out with a very limited understanding of this process from one 4-hour workshop. After 8 weeks with Kathleen I now feel privy to the secrets of the craft. I was especially impressed with the professional level of the lessons - yet as a beginner I did not feel intimidated. Instead I felt empowered, and now I have a new passion in my life. Thank you, Kathleen & Better Photo!
9/13/2006 2:33:11 AM
 
Judy C. Norton
judysfirstlightimages.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:44:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:44:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:44:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:44:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:44:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kathleen

I loved your class! Some of the signs a great teacher can bring to a
class are enthusiasm and a positive attitude. You have it is spades!
Your creativity and ideas made so many different ways of expression
possible. I am grateful for that, because it forced me to step out of
my limited thinking box! You were honest and kind in your critiques.
Thanks! I have fulfilled a dream by completing this class and
learning this wonderful process!

Warmly,

Judy Norton

6/20/2006 11:44:49 AM
 

First 10 of 23 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist