Online Photo Course - Fine Art Flower Photography with Tony Sweet

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Fine Art Flower Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: Tony Sweet
Fine Art Flower Photography

Avoid cliches in flower photography and learn to create personal, unique, and well-lit images of wildflowers, roses, tulips, lilies, sunflowers, and more. Join Tony Sweet for an inspiring and creative 8-week course on fine art flower photography. Tools and techniques used by successful professional stock and fine art photographers will be discussed and illustrated. Spring, summer, fall, or winter... the season doesn't matter - whether you shoot cut flowers, a rose, tulip, lily, or sunflower in your garden, or wildflowers out on a trail, this class is guaranteed to get your creative juices going!

Category: Nature / Travel
Skill Level: 4 - Advanced
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Fine Art Flower Photography


First 10 of 59 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jan Gulley 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2012 4:51:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2012 4:51:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2012 4:51:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2012 4:51:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2012 4:51:44 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you Tony. I have really enjoyed this class and appreciate all the time you have spent critiquing every photo.
3/5/2012 4:51:44 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 12:42:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 12:42:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 12:42:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 12:42:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 12:42:06 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was an Excellent learning experience. Tony provided us a wealth of knowledge and critiques that forces you to thing differently about how you look at making images. This is a course, that I will go back to during the Spring when I can photograph flowers outdoors. Thanks to BetterPhoto and Tony, this was another fine way to learn some new ways of looking at image making.
2/27/2012 12:42:06 PM
 
Kristine McGarigle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/5/2012
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2012 4:30:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2012 4:30:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2012 4:30:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2012 4:30:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2012 4:30:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an excellent class on flower photography. The techniques covered start with the basics and then progress to more techniques in an intuitive manner. The critiques were honest and very helpful. Tony answered all questions, even if it took a time or two to get full understanding. I highly recommend this class to those wanting to improve their flower photography skills.
2/22/2012 4:30:54 PM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2011 10:18:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2011 10:18:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2011 10:18:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2011 10:18:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2011 10:18:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Tony Sweet is the master of photographing flowers - everybody can say yes to that, and the photos he showed us during the course was so inspiring.


I mostly go for the critique in those courses here, because I have been on so many courses (about 20), that some of the stuff is repetition for me, but in those lessons here, there was really stuff to learn.

And you just want to go out and try it out at once, because of the inspiring pictures.

This is a real skill 4 course - you have to work ;);), but it pays off.

And the critique was spot on - not many words, but precise and enough to learn from = he has the ability to point you in the right direction with few words - just "listen."

I can see, that some former reviews was not happy with his critique, but did you listen carefully ? and I also feel, that he can judge if you put more or less effort in your pictures, and the critique will mirror that, I think.

12/28/2011 10:18:29 PM
 
Stephanie Lewis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/27/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 5:37:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 5:37:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 5:37:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 5:37:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 5:37:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent course for those who are focused on strengthening their flower and macro photography. Tony's lesson plans provided useful information on specific techniques to incorporate into one's skill set. In my personal experience, his critiques were specific to my photos and they always included useful suggestions. I also thought that he really honed in on the areas he thought I needed to work on until I got it. The critiques were certainly worth the wait. I really grew because of this class.
11/9/2011 5:37:28 PM
 
Joan C. Lewis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/1/2009
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 11:07:27 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 11:07:27 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 11:07:27 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 11:07:27 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 11:07:27 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Learned new and exciting ways to photograph flowers I guess the best thing is that we had an assignment that FORCED US to practice. As far as the instructor, I always had respect for Tony Sweet. However, perhaps he is much too busy. His critiques were late to very late. He must have a macro because most of everyone's critique ended the same. His personalized critiquing was extremely short. Way too much money for a few sentences(suggestion run spell check). It will be a long time before sign up for class.
5/11/2011 11:07:27 AM
 
James M. Hunt 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2011 12:42:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2011 12:42:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2011 12:42:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2011 12:42:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2011 12:42:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a very solid course. I found the lessons particularly useful in that they push you to try a variety of techniques and compositional strategies. The result for me is that I feel I've got a much stronger and broader tool kit for some of the nature projects I'm currently planning. Tony's critiques are direct and helpful. Obviously you can't "master" new techniques in such a short time frame, but Tony's feedback did help me identify some areas for continued improvement. I do have one bit of advice for students taking the course. Read the lesson plans very carefully, several times before you source your subjects and start shooting. Though Tony does encourage experimentation, I found, not having utilized some of these techniques before, just trying to mimic some of the instructor's examples was quite helpful. In doing so I was able to get a better sense of just what effective use of a particular technique meant both in terms of shooting (specific apertures, composition, etc.) and in terms of results. Finally, I'd recommend printing out the lesson plans for future reference. Again, you can't master this stuff in two months.
3/10/2011 12:42:36 PM
 
Karen Anderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/19/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2011 5:20:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2011 5:20:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2011 5:20:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2011 5:20:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2011 5:20:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Well, this class is the absolutely outstanding, but not for those who don't want to strive for perfection ...sometimes more than once per lesson!! I learned so much! Tony was kind, helpful and direct in his critiques. He made me work hard and in the process I learned to love photography even more!!! I can honestly say he helped me put it all together as a photographer while finding my niche which I really didn't think would be close-up/macro/creative work with flowers/nature. I would highly recommend this course to those who want to really learn how to photograph flowers. I've never taken a better on-line class!
3/1/2011 5:20:21 PM
 
George E. Glen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/26/2007
gg-photos.com
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2010 1:24:00 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2010 1:24:00 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2010 1:24:00 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2010 1:24:00 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2010 1:24:00 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
This course was a disappointment. The content was adequate but the instructor lacked both patience and understanding. I would not recommend this course to anyone.
7/4/2010 1:24:00 PM
 
Lisa Prette 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2010 2:54:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2010 2:54:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2010 2:54:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2010 2:54:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2010 2:54:11 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I learned things about shooting flowers from this course. But I found Tony abit slow in critiquing our photos. I found that he had few nice things to say about the photos and some things he found fault with in our photos, I noticed were in his photos. But I did learn to see my photos in a better way. Not to crop out too much of the flower. One thing I have really noticed is how to use my lens now. I used to get in too tight with the shot, now I back off and get alot of the flower in better focus while getting that fine detail close up that I love to see. I would recommend this course to anyone.
6/17/2010 2:54:11 PM
 
Matt Runde
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/9/2010
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 2:24:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 2:24:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 2:24:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 2:24:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 2:24:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I found Tony's own photos to be outstanding. The lessons were very well organized, and I learned a tremendous amount. I learned as much from my (9) fellow students as from Tony.
The reason I didn't give 5 stars is the ratio of the cost to actual instructor time. Three hundred bucks is not cheap for an online course. Each lesson requires about 3 photos to be submitted, and the review and critique of these amounts (in my humble estimation) to a few minutes instructor time per week. I found Tony's responses to questions very prompt and usually helpful, but quite terse in some cases, as if being sent by text message on a Blackberry.
For the price of the course, I would like to see a bit more give and take, rather than just one critique on each submitted photo. The first critique could be followed by a resubmission (applying the suggestions for improvement) and another critique. Or, the instructor could review more than just a few photos a week. Or, the price could be more reflective of the instructor's time and effort.
I'm glad I took the course, as Tony Sweet is clearly an excellent photographer, with a tremendous store of knowledge.
5/12/2010 2:24:40 PM
 

First 10 of 59 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist