BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


ZX-M 35mm SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

The First Photogr...
View photos created with this camera

The ZX-M 35mm SLR Camera

  • Four exposure modes: the hands-off Programmed AE, the depth-oriented Aperture-Priority AE, the action-oriented Shutter-Priority AE, and the totally maneuverable Metered Manual.
  • Multi-pattern metering system
  • Built-in film winder
  • Depth of field preview button
  • Exposure compensation
  • Memory lock
  • Self-timer
  • External LCD panel and viewfinder display
  • Includes Pentax 1 year USA warranty

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 22 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
David L. Prescott

member since: 5/24/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the ability to easily control every function on this camera. Many cameras have as many controls or more, but the Pentax ZX-M is super easy to use. Not having auto-focus is rarely a draw back, although some day I will have to pony up for a digital.
5/24/2006 2:23:00 PM
 
Derrald R. Farnsworth-Livingston
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/10/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I got this camera so I could have an updated version of my old k-1000. Loved it. Unfortunately, it doesn't see much daylight since I have since moved on to ditigal. It is a wonderful learning tool and I recommend it for anyone looking for a good wholly manual film camera.
4/25/2006 5:54:03 PM
 
Laura  Ann Bowen

member since: 2/15/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my very first (and only) 35mm SLR camera, which I bought when I started taking photography courses in high school, about 5 years ago. I have been extremely happy with it and have carried it everywhere every single minute of every single day since I got it - really. I tend to take good care of my things, but I have been particularly impressed with the way it has held up despite being made of plastic - but it is also really light weight. It lacks some of the advantages of a vintage SLR, such as the ability to control the winding of the film (it is automatic). My brother bought his own Pentax ZX-M a few years ago, upon my recommendation, but his came with a zoom lens. I borrowed the zoom lens a few times, but found it difficult to use because it forced me to use much slower shutter speeds. I guess this will always be the case with a zoom lens, but I think it is strange that they don't sell it with the regular lens anymore. However, he has had no complaints. I got this camera at a local camera store, on sale at half price for about $100. It was the greatest purchase I've ever made. I've actually considered buying a second one, in case something tragic should happen to this one. I love this camera and I plan on having it over my shoulder every day for the rest of my life.
2/15/2006 5:06:27 PM
 
Bob Garlits
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
For a manual film camera it's very easy to use. Autoload/autorewind. It uses all of my Pentax lenses (K1000) and my Vivitar zoom is great. If you want to go all manual it will show you if your settings are ok in the easy to read viewfinder. I carry it in a holster case. Very convenient.
9/25/2005 3:24:48 PM
 
Bob Garlits
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
For a manual film camera it's very easy to use. Autoload/autorewind. It uses all of my Pentax lenses (K1000) and my Vivitar zoom is great. If you want to go all manual it will show you if your settings are ok in the easy to read viewfinder. I carry it in a holster case. Very convenient.
9/25/2005 2:10:44 PM
 
Nancy A. Swiacki

member since: 4/6/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It was a good camera for many years. However when you compare to the digital cameras - it just doesn't have the same features. I did find it to be a wonderful camera at the time.
4/7/2005 4:06:03 PM
 
lou estes

member since: 4/24/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Pentex, ZXM is a good all around manual camera that can handle the most extreme circumstances. I have had it in blazing hot weather to bitter cold and it has not let me down. I am very happy with it and feel comfortable using it for any situation.
11/14/2004 10:46:56 AM
 


member since: 10/19/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's the first SLR camera I've ever had. Takes great pictures!
10/19/2004 10:54:25 PM
 
LaBree Shide

member since: 9/14/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It has produced great pictures since day one and has held up to a fair amount of abuse.
9/14/2004 7:03:54 PM
 
Alfredo Mendez

member since: 4/7/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like this camera Esta camara hace buenas tomas.
4/11/2004 2:27:48 PM
 
Timothy Mr Lubcke

member since: 2/8/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, no bad points. I have a zoom lens for it which is a bonus.
2/8/2004 2:13:38 AM
 

First 10 of 22 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy ZX-M 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.