Stylus 400 Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Whatcha Thinkin&#...
View photos created with this camera

The Stylus 400 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 4.0 megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality prints up to 11 x 14 and medium-quality poster-size prints
  • 3x optical plus 4x digital (12x total) zoom lens with autofocus
  • All-metal body and all-weather reliability lets you shoot
    digital images under almost any weather condition
  • Included 16 MB XD memory card holds 16 images at 2272 x 1704 HQ
    setting
  • Rechargeable Lithium-Ion battery included; connects with Macs
    and PCs via USB port

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


27 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Dana A. Miedama 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 8:20:01 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 8:20:01 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 8:20:01 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 8:20:01 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 8:20:01 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Fun for a quick picks and good for the kids to use. A good knock around camera to toss in the beach bag.
6/8/2006 8:20:01 AM
 
Nick J. Gastelecutto 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 4:46:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 4:46:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 4:46:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 4:46:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 4:46:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good for outdoor photography with it's preset settings and water resistance. I only wish there was a way to change shutter speed
3/31/2006 4:46:48 AM
 
Jesse Benson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/23/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 8:33:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 8:33:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 8:33:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 8:33:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 8:33:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's small and weather-proof...easily navigable and fast image loading. This camera is a typical family type, but it's the only digital one we have.
3/23/2006 8:33:34 PM
 
Diana Weiss
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/17/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 12:02:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 12:02:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 12:02:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 12:02:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 12:02:41 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my Olympus and carry it everywhere. It's easy to use, download photos and edit in Camedia Master. I've learned a lot about editing and edit programs. I'm now looking at the challenge of upgrading to the Canon EOS 20D. yikes! The Olympus Stylus 410 does have a few limitations as with most point-and-shoot cameras, ie. to long a gap needed between photos, even in silence mode of camera there is a 'noise' when you open the shutter. When taking zoom photos skydiving, the zoom was not as good as my own eyes. It's been great as my first digital camera. I highly recommend.
1/19/2006 12:02:41 AM
 
Kaysel Adrover 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 7:01:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 7:01:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 7:01:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 7:01:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 7:01:35 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera takes beautiful pictures as long as there is plenty of light. The pictures indoor tend to come out grainy unless you use a tripod and night shot. The start time of the camera and the time between pictures taken is slow.
1/4/2006 7:01:35 AM
 
Ashley R. Pederson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/18/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 7:45:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 7:45:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 7:45:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 7:45:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 7:45:42 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My camera is not cheap yet expensive. It has a few good quality things on it, so i can at least get decent photographs. It takes many inspiring pictures that I love to see.
12/18/2005 7:45:42 PM
 
Danielle E. Bindics 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:42:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:42:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:42:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:42:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:42:05 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like it but I would like for it to zoom in a little better
9/3/2005 8:42:05 AM
 
Ginny Lloyd 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 8:43:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 8:43:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 8:43:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 8:43:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 8:43:29 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love the size and ease of use of this little wonder. Sharp and quality lense. Don't like that I have to be sure not to cut subject off in framing since true WYSIWYG isn't reliable..
8/30/2005 8:43:29 PM
 
Henry Rodman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 8:12:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 8:12:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 8:12:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 8:12:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 8:12:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's great. It's small and has a long lasting battery and takes beautiful photos for such a budget line camera. I got it for $200 at Costco. Only complaint is the zoom. It doesnt zoom too far but whatever... Another great feature is the water proofness. When its all sealed up, it is water resistant. Great camera!
8/24/2005 8:12:42 PM
 
SHANNON  L. MACK 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 9:18:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 9:18:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 9:18:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 9:18:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 9:18:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
THIS IS THE FIFTH TIME I HAVE TYPED THIS COMMENT. I LOVE MY CAMERA. THE SIZE IT PERFECT, THE PICTURES COME OUT VERY CLEAR AND I'M NOT WRITTING ANYMORE BECAUSE IT DOESN'T SEEM TO TAKE IT ANYWAY!!!LDJDLFJLODTHJDFJDJFOERITYUOERJFLDFNGFJTYHJFFHGIERUTOREFDGHDRITUHOERJFDFLJNODFHGOERUTLNCKDGHOEIDSJNHIDRUHTEOUOSDJDOGHODRJFDFSDLFJSDLFJLDSGDYTIESTHEIURESLFISEUSLDJFKSDHTSEJFKSDHJOSEURSLDHFSEULDFHSFHSKDFLSJDFLDSJFLDJFLDSJFLDSFJLSJFLDSFJLSDFJLSDFJLDFJLDFJLSDFJLDSJLDSKFJDLFJLDSFJLDFJDLSJDLSFJLDSFJDFLFJLDSFJLDSKFJLDSKJLDSFJDLKJLDSKJLDSFJLDSFKJLSDJDSLJDSLDJSFLDSFHKJVYROEJLFHDGIOERUJFJXDFLKJDSLFJLSFJLSKFJLDSKJLSDKFJLSDKFJDSFKLJDSLJDLSJLDSJFLDSJFLDSJDLSKFJSLDKFJDLSFJSDLJFSDLJFLSDKTYUHFDSLKRJEDKFJDKFJTHTHE THEJELJDFHTGWELJGFESRFDLGHWE FDJSFLSDJFDFKHTGEJDSJHFTWEURDJDHGOSEIDN
8/22/2005 9:18:52 PM
 
Tim Laesch 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 3:31:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 3:31:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 3:31:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 3:31:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 3:31:47 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Small, weather-proof, and simple to use.
8/17/2005 3:31:47 PM
 
Ivan Chacon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/16/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 4:17:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 4:17:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 4:17:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 4:17:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 4:17:24 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My camera is fantastic.What I dont like is I dont know my camera 100%
8/16/2005 4:17:24 PM
 
Chuck Terrell 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 7:25:26 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 7:25:26 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 7:25:26 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 7:25:26 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 7:25:26 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Quality picture taking camera for the casual photographer. I was surprised by the level of detail it can show.
6/3/2005 7:25:26 AM
 
David Robertson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2005 7:22:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2005 7:22:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2005 7:22:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2005 7:22:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2005 7:22:50 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I don't know much about cameras, but I find this camera easy to use and the photo quality is very good.
4/22/2005 7:22:50 AM
 
Michael J. Auteri 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 2:41:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 2:41:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 2:41:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 2:41:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 2:41:50 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I actually own the Stylus 410 (very little difference from what I've read). I enjoy this camera as a point and shoot, but it is limiting because it does not have many/any manual adjustments; everything is automatic. I also find the menu set up a bit confusing from time to time.
4/11/2005 2:41:50 PM
 
Tim S. Flanagan 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 2:22:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 2:22:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 2:22:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 2:22:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 2:22:50 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Works well, but it is the first camera I owned. Nothing else to compare it to.
3/24/2005 2:22:50 AM
 
Beverly Joanne Hoover 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 1:41:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 1:41:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 1:41:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 1:41:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 1:41:58 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the camera. Christmas gift. Love that I can shoot ,download,print, share,etc. all in one hour. Thats great. Metal splashproof body. Lots, lots menus options to choose from. Photos are tack sharp, superior quality. It is a great first digital camera to start with. Easy to use and learn. I don't have to stop to reload, I can shoot away. I would recommend this camera. THe viewfinder is too small, the camera is small for my hands but, then again, I can shoot and not be seen. Don't like the delay time.
2/15/2005 1:41:58 PM
 
Beverly Joanne Hoover 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 1:25:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 1:25:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 1:25:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 1:25:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 1:25:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
THIS IS MY FIRST DIGITAL CAMERA. DISLIKES:: The Olympus is a little small for my hands, the offset, you can shoot without being seen. Viewfinder is very small. LIKES:: The camera strap to put around my wrist, so I don't drop camera. I love that I can shoot, download, share, print, do it all minutes after I take the shot. That's wonderful. MANY options to choose from camera Menu. Top Quality tack sharp prints made. I don't have to stop to reload, just keep on shooting and I don't miss that important shot. Lots resolutions to pick from, metal splashproof camera body. Simple, easy to learn. Book is very instructive. Great digital camera to start with. Best Christmas gift I got.
2/15/2005 1:25:54 PM
 
Janet Dietz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/19/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 4:03:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 4:03:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 4:03:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 4:03:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 4:03:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This makes a great little camera to carry with you. I was tired of always taking the Nikon and the camera bag on every trip out the door, so this was something I looked for to fill in. It makes a great camera to stick in pocket of purse when you just can't or don't want to carry all the other gear. And, the 4.0 mega pixels are more than adequate to make prints.
1/2/2005 4:03:08 AM
 
Joshua L. Kelberman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 3:22:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 3:22:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 3:22:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 3:22:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 3:22:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
wish it had more effects, more megapixels, a lock for the lens cover, longer battery life, but generally a very great little camera.
12/12/2004 3:22:28 PM
 
Adam Harris 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 9:11:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 9:11:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 9:11:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 9:11:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 9:11:54 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I give this camera a 9 not because of the incredible quality, though it has taken many beautiful pictures, but rather because of it's construction. I am pleased with it's capabilities. I, however, purchased this camera for it's durability. I am a fisheries biologist and wanted something I could take in the field. It is water resistant and has ametal case.
11/11/2004 9:11:54 AM
 
Holly Hegeman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 3:27:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 3:27:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 3:27:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 3:27:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 3:27:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great to throw in your bag. Lens quality is superb. Pictures are unbelievably sharp.
10/14/2004 3:27:56 PM
 
Michele Sesty 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:30:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:30:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:30:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:30:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:30:28 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Read many reviews on digital cameras and found this one to have the best comments on people who have purchased and used it. It does in fact take very good pictures, is easy to use, is weather proof which is a plus and is the only camera with this capability.
10/5/2004 7:30:28 PM
 
Laura J. Hamn 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 3:51:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 3:51:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 3:51:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 3:51:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 3:51:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pretty good, love the water proof/resistance. Nice size.
8/24/2004 3:51:06 PM
 
Ian Froats 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 12:00:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 12:00:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 12:00:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 12:00:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 12:00:46 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
awesome, small, great pics, great funcitons user friendly and weatherproof. Im clumsy as h### and the all metal casing is strong. love this digi
5/19/2004 12:00:46 AM
 
William B. Myers 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 4:15:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 4:15:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 4:15:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 4:15:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 4:15:47 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great little camera. I like its small size and weight, and the fact that it is water resistant. I spend a lot of time walking the beach and it's perfect for that. Lens quality is excellent and it will allow very close work. It does like to eat up batteries, however, so a spare is really a requirement. Well worth it, considering all the advantages.
2/19/2004 4:15:47 AM
 
Ashley Sauvey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/29/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:17:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:17:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:17:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:17:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:17:31 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great camera for a small digital however, lacks manual controls. A great point and shoot camera for a beginner such as me!
12/29/2003 9:17:31 PM
 

27 Reviews  

Buy Stylus 400 Digital Camera from Amazon.com