E1 Digital SLR


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras


View photos created with this camera

The E1 Digital SLR

Features:


  • Exclusive Supersonic Wave Filter virtually eliminates dust
    particles
  • 3 ASIC Digital Engine provides unique Parallel processing system
    allows up to 12 images at 3 fps in any mode (TIFF, JPEG, RAW, or JPEG + RAW)
  • Separate 128MB image buffer
  • USB 2.0 / FireWire ( IEEE-1394 ) connectivity
  • Magnesium alloy metal body for extreme durability and
    lightweight, water resistant comfort

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


48 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kim W. Rollins 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 9:32:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 9:32:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 9:32:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 9:32:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 9:32:57 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the E-1 and Oly glass.
5MP is sufficient though 8 would be good for cropping.
Built well and not matched by others, weather-proofing and Anti-dust shaker works. I have never cleaned the sensor and I do change lens in adverse condition (with care taken).
Faster auto focus is desired. Noise at ISO 400 and above may be handled in post and some statement the unusable at those ISO are just not true.
A classic camera and I have no need for an upgrade. That said need and desire are two diff. things. ;-) E-500 as addition to arsinal is tempting because of improvements made, in- body Image Stabalization, etc.

E-1 image examples - http://www.pbase.com/kwr_01/contest_entries

10/4/2007 9:32:57 AM
 
David K 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2006 1:11:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2006 1:11:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2006 1:11:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2006 1:11:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2006 1:11:24 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Obviously biased as I own one, but:

Bad Points:

Low resolution, poor image quality above ISO 800, quality lenses are expensive.

Good Points:

Build like a tank (no plastic here), weather-proof, fast and responsive, excellent image quality and excellent handling.


If you are looking for a tough, outdoors camera and resolution isn't the be all and end all then you wont find a better camera for under 1,7000.

11/30/2006 1:11:24 AM
 
Becca Wood 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera. It is just a great all around camera and very weather proof. I love its speed and being able to switch modes easily. At times it is not user friendly and I have problems making adjustments as the buttons seem to be in an awkward place for me to use.
7/3/2006 10:07:01 AM
 
Menachem Serraf 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 3:18:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 3:18:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 3:18:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 3:18:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 3:18:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
amazing picture quality at low iso amazing lens no dust. But i would like some improvement at better focusing at low light and ani shake and 8 stops of DR even at iso 800
6/9/2006 3:18:11 PM
 
Matt Collingwood 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 11:39:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 11:39:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 11:39:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 11:39:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 11:39:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the E1. Give me just a few more megapixels and a slightly faster autofocus and it would be perfect.
6/2/2006 11:39:34 AM
 
Peter M. Wilcox
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 7:41:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 7:41:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 7:41:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 7:41:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 7:41:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Extraordinary Ergonomics and Build Quality A little low on resolution, and a little noisy at high ISO.
4/21/2006 7:41:09 AM
 
Candice Dunham Silver
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/14/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 3:51:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 3:51:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 3:51:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 3:51:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 3:51:40 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is fantastically professional. I have had it almost a year now, and I am still so amazed with the images I have created with it. What sold me on this camera is the Olympus E-Series cameras have a "Dust Free" feature, and dust is a problem so previlent to Digital SLRs in the first place. When you turn on your camera, the image sensor shakes 35,000 a second (if you can fathom that!) and all dust particles fall to a adhesive sticker inside the camera. I have never once had a problem with black dirt spots on my digital images. It has endless programming options, even easy white balance! Takes a compact flash for larger files and more time to shoot! The only downer on this camera is it is heavy, so field shooting can be a little strenuous if you don't have a tri-pod. As far as a studio camera-it's A++!
4/15/2006 3:51:40 PM
 
Julio Yeste 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:12:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:12:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:12:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:12:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:12:49 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great except for 5MP.
4/4/2006 3:12:49 PM
 
Wayne Shumaker 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:57:10 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:57:10 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:57:10 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:57:10 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:57:10 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I like the ergonomics. I like the remote release. I can hold this camera all day, the finger gripping is the best. The camera suffers from too much noise at iso 800. The auto-focus with the most recent firmware can have problems under lights with dimmers (due to sampling aliasing effects). There are no image stablized lenses from Olympus.
3/22/2006 5:57:10 PM
 
Wendy L. Pipp 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 12:02:05 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 12:02:05 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 12:02:05 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 12:02:05 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 12:02:05 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I am a beginner photographer so this camera works for me.
3/22/2006 12:02:05 PM
 
Bill Foxworthy
Contact Bill
Bill's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 5:32:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 5:32:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 5:32:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 5:32:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 5:32:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This rugged camera produces bsolutely great images with incredible color, detail and sharpness.
2/22/2006 5:32:49 AM
 
Tara J. Cassidy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 6:13:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 6:13:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 6:13:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 6:13:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 6:13:07 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
good
1/30/2006 6:13:07 PM
 
Robert M. LaBarba 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 12:17:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 12:17:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 12:17:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 12:17:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 12:17:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i switched from Nikon about a year ago and just love the quality of Olympus. I am however eagerly awating the release of a new professional body. The Zukio lenses are just incredible.
1/21/2006 12:17:25 PM
 
Matthew G. Schmidt 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:11 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Olympus is a very easy to handle digital SLR. The grip makes it much more comfortable to carry around for long periods of time. It has seals on all of the attachments, so it can be taken out in moderately poor weather without concerning yourself about the camera or lens getting wet. The shutter is extremely quiet. Very good for wildlife photography if you like to get close to your subject. Having 2 relatively fast lenses that cover everything from 28mm to 400mm (film equivalent) is very convenient, especially with the macro functionality of the 14 - 54. The 4/3 format takes a little getting used to, but since it actually captures what is in the viewfinder, and only what is in the viewfinder, cropping for some standard size prints is minimal. I actually had to start including extra stuff in the frame so that the standard sizes would not crop away parts of the image that I like. Still, I am having a great time with it!
1/11/2006 6:59:11 PM
 
Michael Cooper 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:35:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:35:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:35:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:35:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:35:40 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Likes 1) Awesome build quality. 2) Weather sealed body and lenses. 3) Great image colors. 4) Fairly compact size. 5) Quiet shutter Dislikes 1) Slow(although precise) auto-focus 2) Only 3 frames per second burst
1/8/2006 10:35:40 AM
 
Charles G. Rohn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:45:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:45:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:45:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:45:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:45:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Needs update to 8MP or higher instead of 5.2MP
1/2/2006 3:45:13 PM
 
Tarra Fleming 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:07:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:07:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:07:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:07:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:07:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm an amateur photographer so I don't have much experience with a lot of different cameras to compare it too. I like my camera because it's easy to handle and I have found it somewhat easy to self teach on how to use it. Having said that, it is a complex camera with a lot to learn in order to use it to it's most beneficial potential and to get the best photograph.
12/15/2005 11:07:40 PM
 
Dana M. Yamini 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 3:16:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 3:16:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 3:16:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 3:16:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 3:16:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Handy Simple Fast
10/30/2005 3:16:34 PM
 
Matt Teich
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/3/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:15:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:15:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:15:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:15:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 7:15:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, easy to operate. Lenses are great
10/5/2005 7:15:23 PM
 
Brandon C. Hunter 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 5:46:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 5:46:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 5:46:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 5:46:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 5:46:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a good studio based camera, it versatile enough to be used as a first time photojournalist camera. Not the best to shoot sports with. But all around a good, first time digital SLR to start off with.
10/4/2005 5:46:45 PM
 
Francesco A. DAmico
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/5/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 2:09:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 2:09:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 2:09:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 2:09:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 2:09:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great wb, awsome color, Dust shaker, weather proof. A real tank!
9/27/2005 2:09:49 PM
 
Aleksander Mar 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 10:03:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 10:03:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 10:03:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 10:03:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 10:03:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Beautiful colors.
8/21/2005 10:03:44 AM
 
Dale Honermann 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 12:16:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 12:16:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 12:16:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 12:16:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 12:16:21 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My E1 has proven to be a pleasure to use and is both reliable and sturdy. It is also my first digital camera. The lenses (I have the 14-54mm f2.8 and 50-200mm f2.8) are incredibly sharp and are very functional- I may never have to purchase another lens. The only complaint I have is the autofocus sometimes gets lost when I try to focus on too small of a flying object- flocks of small birds have been the most difficult.
8/6/2005 12:16:21 PM
 
Geoff McPherson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 7:29:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 7:29:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 7:29:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 7:29:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2005 7:29:12 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. Nice color and speed. Substantial picture size for 8x10 or 11x14 prints. Eats batteries and can be heavy, but makes up for it with its durability.
7/10/2005 7:29:12 PM
 
Sarah Anne Mayes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 8:20:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 8:20:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 8:20:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 8:20:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 8:20:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera but the 300mm lens is to expensive, they are coming out with other lens. I plan to buy a Canon Mark II and use the E1 as a back up.
6/28/2005 8:20:34 PM
 
Philip M. Eggman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 4:16:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 4:16:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 4:16:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 4:16:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 4:16:46 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have found that the 5-megapixel Olympus E1 is quite responsive and compact as a single-lens reflex digital camera. Viewfinder coverage is excellent and you can adjust the eyepiece if you have less than 20-20 vision, which is a very nice feature. The camera has four exposure modes Manual, AP, SP, and Program. I typically shoot much of what I am doing on Program, although exposure computations are a little tricky at times. Shutter speed ranges from 60-1/4000th of a second. System uses a compact flash card and can capture three frames per second. The Olympus FL-50 flash is excellent and interfaces with the camera well. The multi-directional swivel head is outstanding for all bounce situations. The battery has excellent durability, more than enough power for a 512 meg card worth of shooting. There is a slight delay when I turn on power or when the camera goes into sleep mood, but only a few seconds. I experience no shutter delay when shooting in average light.
6/27/2005 4:16:46 PM
 
Philip M. Eggman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 4:14:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 4:14:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 4:14:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 4:14:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 4:14:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have found that the 5-megapixel Olympus E1 is quite responsive and compact as a single-lens reflex digital camera. Viewfinder coverage is excellent and you can adjust the eyepiece if you have less than 20-20 vision, which is a very nice feature. The camera has four exposure modes Manual, AP, SP, and Program. I typically shoot much of what I am doing on Program, although exposure computations are a little tricky at times. Shutter speed ranges from 60-1/4000th of a second. System uses a compact flash card and can capture three frames per second. The Olympus FL-50 flash is excellent and interfaces with the camera well. The multi-directional swivel head is outstanding for all bounce situations. The battery has excellent durability, more than enough power for a 512 meg card worth of shooting. There is a slight delay when I turn on power or when the camera goes into sleep mood, but only a few seconds. I experience no shutter delay when shooting in average light.
6/27/2005 4:14:52 PM
 
Don Anthony 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 6:20:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 6:20:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 6:20:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 6:20:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 6:20:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The E1 is the most intuitive digital camera I have handeled. The lens are superb, all are F2.8, except the 50mm (100mm) macro, which is F2. Every thing you need to work this camera, is at your fingertips. Tha internal processing ids one of the best in the business.
6/9/2005 6:20:06 AM
 
Frances A. Schwabenland 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 4:45:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 4:45:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 4:45:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 4:45:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 4:45:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had amazing results with the color and clarity.
4/16/2005 4:45:11 PM
 
Frances A. Schwabenland 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 4:44:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 4:44:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 4:44:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 4:44:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 4:44:44 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had amazing results with the color and clarity.
4/16/2005 4:44:44 PM
 
Paul Jackson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 8:51:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 8:51:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 8:51:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 8:51:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 8:51:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great ergonomics and built like a tank
4/15/2005 8:51:37 PM
 
Mark Jansen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/17/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 7:33:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 7:33:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 7:33:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 7:33:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 7:33:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Camera, I have the 14-54 lens , 50-200, teleconverter,and tube for macro with the 50-200. A great compact kit the covers most all the bases. I only wish the upcoming wide lens wasn't so expensive $1700..
3/1/2005 7:33:30 AM
 
James Bowman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 12:28:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 12:28:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 12:28:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 12:28:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 12:28:44 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Olympus E-1 Digital camera is very flexable and allows for anything from snapshots to highly creative work. I use mine mostly with existing light whenever possable,low noise up to 800ASA without optional noise reduction filters on. It is the first 4/3 format camera that is a real fooler as far as the megapixel, meaning it is only a 5.0 megapixel per Olympus. The photograph I submited of Sarah's first hours was taken with this E-1 handheld with aperture wide open in poor hospital light printed on Epson stylus 2200 at 13" x19" and it is crisp ( no photoshop help either ). Since it is a new format, lens are limited to a few Sigmas or my favorite, the Zukio OM lens. Image quailty from edge to edge to crisp. I use the 11-22mm zoom, the 50 macro, the 50-200mm zoom and the 14-54mm zoom without any complaints. If you are going digital go digital with digital specific lens. I have been photographing whatever planet earth has for almost 35 years, with exception of my medium format 645 and RB 6x7 120 jewels, I have used the Olympus pro cameras and Zuiko lens, no regrets at all. I still have mint working OM-1,OM-2,OM-3,OM-4, 35mm film camera, even though they are collecting dust, for the E-1 is a joy to use and is a keeper also. I do recomend the Big Battery pack for this camera, it is battery friendly, but I keep the sleep function turned off even though the camera is up instantly when switched on. You get what you pay for is true. It can capture 3fs for a total of 12, but it writes so fast to teh card, I have not found this to be an issue for me. I would buy the E-1 again. Lets go take some pictures with whatever camera ya have. The best tool is your imagination. :)
2/17/2005 12:28:44 PM
 
Steve Holderfield 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:52:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:52:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:52:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:52:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:52:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great digital camera. with 3 lenses and a teleconverter I cover the 35mm equivalent of 22mm all the way up to 560mm!
1/18/2005 6:52:28 PM
 
Jack Steele 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 2:00:45 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 2:00:45 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 2:00:45 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 2:00:45 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 2:00:45 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Best feature is the self cleaning CCD.
1/5/2005 2:00:45 PM
 
Denise M. Fuson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 4:46:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 4:46:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 4:46:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 4:46:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 4:46:37 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A remarkable digital SLR. Excellant color and image quality. Easy to use. Rugged, weather resistant. Lens glass is superb.
12/28/2004 4:46:37 AM
 
Rick Browning 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 8:19:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 8:19:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 8:19:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 8:19:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 8:19:07 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
have only had my E1 for one month but am truly enjoying it. I cannot believe its ability to capture a blue sky. The extra cost is woth it...
10/4/2004 8:19:07 PM
 
Rick Browning 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 8:18:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 8:18:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 8:18:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 8:18:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 8:18:18 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
have only had my E1 for one month but am truly enjoying it. I cannot believe its ability to capture a blue sky. The extra cost is woth it...
10/4/2004 8:18:18 PM
 
Holly Higbee-Jansen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/10/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:56:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:56:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:56:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:56:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:56:17 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have just purchased this camera for myself so can not review personally, but my husband has used this camera for about 6 months and has come out with STUNNING results. I'm looking forward to the same! His only negative remarks are that the camera is noisy in low light.
9/14/2004 5:56:17 AM
 
Greg McCroskery
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/27/2003
imagismphotos.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 8:07:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 8:07:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 8:07:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 8:07:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 8:07:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Another quality Olympus camera with 'pro' features that are unique. Automatic sensor dust removal system and moisture/dust sealing of the body and lenses are major features not offered by other brands. Olympus approach of designing the camera body and lenses from a purely digital, integrated approach is impressive. God Bless, Greg
8/23/2004 8:07:06 AM
 
Dena Sanders 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 4:32:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 4:32:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 4:32:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 4:32:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 4:32:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love everything about it.
7/24/2004 4:32:29 PM
 
Mikki Cowles
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/29/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2004 5:01:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2004 5:01:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2004 5:01:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2004 5:01:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2004 5:01:44 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
When I first started my research on DSLR's, I had narrowed it down to the Olympus DSLR and the Nikon D100. As I asked around some local pros, the only negative thing they could say about the Olympus was that it was an expensive camera. I leaned that way initially because I owned two previous Olympus cameras, and I already had a couple of accessories that I didn't want to have to buy again. I am thrilled with this camera and would buy it again. The only negative I have found so far is that it tends to underexpose, which is easily correctible in Photoshop.
5/29/2004 5:01:44 PM
 
Donna  E. Martinez 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 11:23:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 11:23:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 11:23:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 11:23:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 11:23:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the Oly system. It is perfect for my current needs.
5/17/2004 11:23:51 PM
 
D. L. Kimbler 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2004 5:58:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2004 5:58:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2004 5:58:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2004 5:58:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2004 5:58:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Bought this as my trade-up to digital SLR (had been a 35mm user in the past, then a digicam). Selected based on rich feature set, ergonomics, image quality, and I have not been disappointed. It covers 14-200mm extremely well in two lenses, and the 50mm macro is excellent. The only problem as far as I can see is cost, but that is improving. On the other hand, I paid more than I would have for other brands, but I have not had backfocus problems, ease of use problems, etc. The noise issue is, in my opinion, overdone. I find noise to be not a problem up to ISO400, becomes an issue at 800, definitely needs special processing above that; similar to my experience with Tri-X!
5/10/2004 5:58:59 PM
 
Cindy R. Walker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2004 9:12:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2004 9:12:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2004 9:12:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2004 9:12:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2004 9:12:56 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Have only had the camera about 5 months - so far really pleased with it - very easy to use. A little heavy with the 50-200mm and the battery pack on at the same time. Shutter lag time seems really long.
4/3/2004 9:12:56 AM
 
Sheldon Lazovsky 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 8:32:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 8:32:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 8:32:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 8:32:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 8:32:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. Excellent lenses.
3/30/2004 8:32:19 PM
 
Sheldon Lazovsky 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 7:03:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 7:03:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 7:03:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 7:03:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 7:03:29 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Nice weight and feel. Quiet operation, and almost no shutter lag! Great lenses, too.
2/15/2004 7:03:29 PM
 
Christopher Moon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 11:51:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 11:51:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 11:51:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 11:51:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 11:51:18 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent digintal 35mm camera that is also weatherproof. High quality images without a lot of work and very smart exposure control.
1/4/2004 11:51:18 AM
 

48 Reviews  

Buy E1 Digital SLR from Amazon.com