E1 Digital SLR


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

high tide
View photos created with this camera

The E1 Digital SLR

Features:


  • Exclusive Supersonic Wave Filter virtually eliminates dust
    particles
  • 3 ASIC Digital Engine provides unique Parallel processing system
    allows up to 12 images at 3 fps in any mode (TIFF, JPEG, RAW, or JPEG + RAW)
  • Separate 128MB image buffer
  • USB 2.0 / FireWire ( IEEE-1394 ) connectivity
  • Magnesium alloy metal body for extreme durability and
    lightweight, water resistant comfort

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 48 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kim W. Rollins 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 9:32:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 9:32:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 9:32:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 9:32:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2007 9:32:57 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the E-1 and Oly glass.
5MP is sufficient though 8 would be good for cropping.
Built well and not matched by others, weather-proofing and Anti-dust shaker works. I have never cleaned the sensor and I do change lens in adverse condition (with care taken).
Faster auto focus is desired. Noise at ISO 400 and above may be handled in post and some statement the unusable at those ISO are just not true.
A classic camera and I have no need for an upgrade. That said need and desire are two diff. things. ;-) E-500 as addition to arsinal is tempting because of improvements made, in- body Image Stabalization, etc.

E-1 image examples - http://www.pbase.com/kwr_01/contest_entries

10/4/2007 9:32:57 AM
 
David K 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2006 1:11:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2006 1:11:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2006 1:11:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2006 1:11:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2006 1:11:24 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Obviously biased as I own one, but:

Bad Points:

Low resolution, poor image quality above ISO 800, quality lenses are expensive.

Good Points:

Build like a tank (no plastic here), weather-proof, fast and responsive, excellent image quality and excellent handling.


If you are looking for a tough, outdoors camera and resolution isn't the be all and end all then you wont find a better camera for under 1,7000.

11/30/2006 1:11:24 AM
 
Becca Wood 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera. It is just a great all around camera and very weather proof. I love its speed and being able to switch modes easily. At times it is not user friendly and I have problems making adjustments as the buttons seem to be in an awkward place for me to use.
7/3/2006 10:07:01 AM
 
Menachem Serraf 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 3:18:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 3:18:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 3:18:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 3:18:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 3:18:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
amazing picture quality at low iso amazing lens no dust. But i would like some improvement at better focusing at low light and ani shake and 8 stops of DR even at iso 800
6/9/2006 3:18:11 PM
 
Matt Collingwood 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 11:39:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 11:39:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 11:39:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 11:39:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 11:39:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the E1. Give me just a few more megapixels and a slightly faster autofocus and it would be perfect.
6/2/2006 11:39:34 AM
 
Peter M. Wilcox
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 7:41:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 7:41:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 7:41:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 7:41:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 7:41:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Extraordinary Ergonomics and Build Quality A little low on resolution, and a little noisy at high ISO.
4/21/2006 7:41:09 AM
 
Candice Dunham Silver
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/14/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 3:51:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 3:51:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 3:51:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 3:51:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 3:51:40 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is fantastically professional. I have had it almost a year now, and I am still so amazed with the images I have created with it. What sold me on this camera is the Olympus E-Series cameras have a "Dust Free" feature, and dust is a problem so previlent to Digital SLRs in the first place. When you turn on your camera, the image sensor shakes 35,000 a second (if you can fathom that!) and all dust particles fall to a adhesive sticker inside the camera. I have never once had a problem with black dirt spots on my digital images. It has endless programming options, even easy white balance! Takes a compact flash for larger files and more time to shoot! The only downer on this camera is it is heavy, so field shooting can be a little strenuous if you don't have a tri-pod. As far as a studio camera-it's A++!
4/15/2006 3:51:40 PM
 
Julio Yeste 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:12:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:12:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:12:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:12:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:12:49 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great except for 5MP.
4/4/2006 3:12:49 PM
 
Wayne Shumaker 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:57:10 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:57:10 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:57:10 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:57:10 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:57:10 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I like the ergonomics. I like the remote release. I can hold this camera all day, the finger gripping is the best. The camera suffers from too much noise at iso 800. The auto-focus with the most recent firmware can have problems under lights with dimmers (due to sampling aliasing effects). There are no image stablized lenses from Olympus.
3/22/2006 5:57:10 PM
 
Wendy L. Pipp 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 12:02:05 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 12:02:05 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 12:02:05 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 12:02:05 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 12:02:05 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I am a beginner photographer so this camera works for me.
3/22/2006 12:02:05 PM
 
Bill Foxworthy
Contact Bill
Bill's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 5:32:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 5:32:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 5:32:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 5:32:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 5:32:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This rugged camera produces bsolutely great images with incredible color, detail and sharpness.
2/22/2006 5:32:49 AM
 

First 10 of 48 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy E1 Digital SLR from Amazon.com