D1 Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

getting ready for...
View photos created with this camera

The D1 Digital SLR Camera

Uses Nikon F5/F100 body. A high-end digital camera from Nikon, this is a strong camera for the imaging professional.

  • 2.74 megapixel
  • 2,000 x 1,312 pixel resolution
  • Shoot pictures at up to 4.5 per second in bursts up to 21 pictures
  • Uses CompactFlash;
    Feels like professional Nikon F5 and F100 35mm SLR models
  • 2-inch diagonal LCD monitor
  • Compatible with virtually every F Mount Nikkor lens
  • TTL 3D Matrix Automatic Balanced Fill-flash when used with SB-28DX speedlight

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


22 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Abram Van Eijk 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2006 8:17:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2006 8:17:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2006 8:17:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2006 8:17:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2006 8:17:37 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Bought a used one for only 250 euro. As a backup for my D1X, which is also a used one. In my opinion a bargain! I love the picure quality. Considering the age of the camera it is phenomenal.
8/30/2006 8:17:37 AM
 
Angela Arenal 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 11:03:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 11:03:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 11:03:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 11:03:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 11:03:38 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
heavy and complicated but very good pictures
1/13/2006 11:03:38 PM
 
Giordano Pietroni 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 1:03:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 1:03:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 1:03:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 1:03:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 1:03:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
excellent camera. very versatile
12/6/2005 1:03:01 PM
 
Claudio E. Luna
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/14/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2005 10:19:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2005 10:19:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2005 10:19:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2005 10:19:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2005 10:19:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good over all
9/15/2005 10:19:20 AM
 
Claudio E. Luna
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 11:18:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 11:18:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 11:18:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 11:18:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 11:18:52 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
good overal
9/14/2005 11:18:52 AM
 
David Velez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/24/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 4:14:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 4:14:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 4:14:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 4:14:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 4:14:38 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Being this is my first Digital camera, I feel I am not qualified to rate it.
8/27/2005 4:14:38 AM
 
Steve Roberts 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 2:01:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 2:01:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 2:01:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 2:01:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 2:01:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
every shot in good light seems perfect ..
8/17/2005 2:01:21 PM
 
Javi F. Ybarra 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2005 6:16:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2005 6:16:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2005 6:16:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2005 6:16:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2005 6:16:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Nikon D1 was the best digital camara when it first came out, and still excellent despite its age. It has great speed and ease of use. It's practically indestructible. It performs like the first day after yeas of abuse. I ranked it 4 out of 5 because of the newer cameras with higher resolution. Today, I would consider the Nikon D2X the best camera in the world. and the Nikon D70 the best value.
6/22/2005 6:16:17 PM
 
Andrew Laverghetta
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/13/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 5:57:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 5:57:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 5:57:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 5:57:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 5:57:14 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For what I used the camera for, it was ok. I had to use ISO1600 which was the biggest downfall. The noise is really bad getting that high. The camera does have the ability to go up to 3200 and even 6400 but you'd better be able to do some VERY HEAVY NOISE REDUCTION. The noise isn't like film grain but it appears stronger in horizontal bands.

The camera is slow for today's standards in terms of writing the images to the card. The buffer is probably the most useless in the single shot mode. You cannot take another picture until the buffer is completely empty. This takes a long time. I always use continuous shooting when I use this camera.

The camera feels very good in my hand and very solid. Being a Canon user though, I don't like how the controls are spread all over the camera. I like how my canon has the mode selection dial on the top left, and everything else is on the top right or by your right thumb. I don't like how you have to press a button to autofocus. I'd rather just half press the shutter. My other gripe about being a Canon user is how the numbers are displayed. They are somewhat contorted to fit other functions while the numbers on Canons look like real numbers and not symbols. On last thing is the playback mode. I don't understand why Nikon didn't just include this into their regular shooting modes. If you're in playback mode you have to switch back to a regular shooting mode before you can take actual pictures.

A lot of my gripes probably have to do with the age of the camera and the technology at the time but I just don't like how it's set up, like with the magnetic flap at the bottom that has the buttons under it.

It does feel great, but I would use a D70 over it anyday.

5/4/2005 5:57:14 PM
 
Bruce Knoll 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2004 8:29:15 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2004 8:29:15 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2004 8:29:15 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2004 8:29:15 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2004 8:29:15 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Camera used for portrait used in introduction.
12/27/2004 8:29:15 AM
 
Brian C. Wade 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 8:49:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 8:49:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 8:49:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 8:49:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 8:49:13 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is my baby. It is molded to my hand perfectly!!!
11/13/2004 8:49:13 AM
 
Michael Elliott
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/9/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 3:22:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 3:22:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 3:22:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 3:22:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 3:22:51 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. Easy to use. Color is right on and photos are all sharp.
7/15/2004 3:22:51 PM
 
Michael Elliott
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/9/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 2:20:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 2:20:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 2:20:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 2:20:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 2:20:53 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. Easy to use. Color is right on and photos are sharp
7/15/2004 2:20:53 PM
 
Sharon J. McAulay
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/9/2004
sharonmcaulay.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 3:10:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 3:10:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 3:10:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 3:10:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 3:10:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The only digital I've ever had my hands on, and therefore the best! Have only been experimenting with it for a few weeks, so don't feel I'm experienced enough to give an opinion. My only complaint is the weight - very difficult to hand-hold with a Nikkor 80-200...
4/18/2004 3:10:25 PM
 
David L. Shannon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/23/2003
Contact David
David's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 11:19:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 11:19:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 11:19:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 11:19:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 11:19:51 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera and switching to and from the Nikon F5 is seamless - same look and feel. Once the cost of the CF cards are accounted for, you can't beat the zero film and processing costs. This particular camera seems to be off by a stop toward under ezposure, but easily compensated with the ev compensation. If I were to be granted a wish for the D1, it would be for longer battery life.
4/12/2004 11:19:51 PM
 
Steven D. Dodds II 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:54:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:54:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:54:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:54:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:54:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Too new to me to realy know what the camera will do. I have read all the reviews and I am sure I will be happy with it.
3/19/2004 8:54:34 PM
 
Norman Gem B. Ellasos 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:21:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:21:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:21:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:21:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:21:13 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It Lacks manual Focus. Other than that, It is a great camera for beginners to Intermediate once you familiar with the advance features. Definitely a great compact travel camera!
1/1/2004 12:21:13 AM
 
Patrick D. Amon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:34:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:34:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:34:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:34:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:34:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Recently switched to Canon 10D in order to try new, higher-resolution, less noisy CCD, and OS lenses. Love the D1 - very "film-lensing" rendering, somewhat soft but very "warm" image at lower (<=400 ISO). A bit noisier at high ISO. Used camera with Tamron 28-105F2.8 Great combination. I will try the Canon - my first few test-shots have been, I look forward to taking lots more. The Nikon is a bit bulky and heavy but it handles great. Not exactly a point-and-shoot, but then again that's not really what I'm after...
12/29/2003 9:34:48 AM
 
Bonnie Shedd 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:17:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:17:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:17:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:17:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:17:09 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it!
9/7/2003 7:17:09 AM
 
Julie Best 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 7:59:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 7:59:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 7:59:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 7:59:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 7:59:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Enjoy the instant viewing of picture. Can control light much easier.
7/25/2003 7:59:25 PM
 
Vincent J. Rodriguez 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:56:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:56:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:56:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:56:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:56:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great for 3.34 Megapixels...
6/17/2003 12:56:24 PM
 
Robert Torrence 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
What can I say but "Built like a (Tank)
Nikon" I started out with the Fujix/Nikon DS515A digital that was a nice camera but you could tell it was not film. I wanted to upgrade so I bought the Fuji S1 but only kept it for 2 days to because it was not built well.
(built on a $200 frame)I took it back and got the D1. The best thing I could have ever done. I sell a lot of Digital prints and have no customer complaints about the prints for this camera. Uses all of the Nikon lenes even the Silent wave ones. It feels like a real camera in the hand like my F5. An all around camera so much so I sold my F5 and F4 35mm cameras and only use the D1 for everything but weddings. Any body getting ready to buy a digital camera I would recommend they would consider buying this camera now the price has dropped. Good Hunting
 

22 Reviews