BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


D1 Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

getting ready for...
View photos created with this camera

The D1 Digital SLR Camera

Uses Nikon F5/F100 body. A high-end digital camera from Nikon, this is a strong camera for the imaging professional.

  • 2.74 megapixel
  • 2,000 x 1,312 pixel resolution
  • Shoot pictures at up to 4.5 per second in bursts up to 21 pictures
  • Uses CompactFlash;
    Feels like professional Nikon F5 and F100 35mm SLR models
  • 2-inch diagonal LCD monitor
  • Compatible with virtually every F Mount Nikkor lens
  • TTL 3D Matrix Automatic Balanced Fill-flash when used with SB-28DX speedlight

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 22 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Abram Van Eijk

member since: 8/27/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Bought a used one for only 250 euro. As a backup for my D1X, which is also a used one. In my opinion a bargain! I love the picure quality. Considering the age of the camera it is phenomenal.
8/30/2006 8:17:37 AM
 
Angela Arenal

member since: 1/11/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
heavy and complicated but very good pictures
1/13/2006 11:03:38 PM
 
Giordano Pietroni

member since: 12/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
excellent camera. very versatile
12/6/2005 1:03:01 PM
 
Claudio E. Luna
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/14/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good over all
9/15/2005 10:19:20 AM
 
Claudio E. Luna
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
good overal
9/14/2005 11:18:52 AM
 
David Velez
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/24/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Being this is my first Digital camera, I feel I am not qualified to rate it.
8/27/2005 4:14:38 AM
 
Steve Roberts

member since: 8/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
every shot in good light seems perfect ..
8/17/2005 2:01:21 PM
 
Javi F. Ybarra

member since: 6/22/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Nikon D1 was the best digital camara when it first came out, and still excellent despite its age. It has great speed and ease of use. It's practically indestructible. It performs like the first day after yeas of abuse. I ranked it 4 out of 5 because of the newer cameras with higher resolution. Today, I would consider the Nikon D2X the best camera in the world. and the Nikon D70 the best value.
6/22/2005 6:16:17 PM
 
Andrew Laverghetta
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/13/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For what I used the camera for, it was ok. I had to use ISO1600 which was the biggest downfall. The noise is really bad getting that high. The camera does have the ability to go up to 3200 and even 6400 but you'd better be able to do some VERY HEAVY NOISE REDUCTION. The noise isn't like film grain but it appears stronger in horizontal bands.

The camera is slow for today's standards in terms of writing the images to the card. The buffer is probably the most useless in the single shot mode. You cannot take another picture until the buffer is completely empty. This takes a long time. I always use continuous shooting when I use this camera.

The camera feels very good in my hand and very solid. Being a Canon user though, I don't like how the controls are spread all over the camera. I like how my canon has the mode selection dial on the top left, and everything else is on the top right or by your right thumb. I don't like how you have to press a button to autofocus. I'd rather just half press the shutter. My other gripe about being a Canon user is how the numbers are displayed. They are somewhat contorted to fit other functions while the numbers on Canons look like real numbers and not symbols. On last thing is the playback mode. I don't understand why Nikon didn't just include this into their regular shooting modes. If you're in playback mode you have to switch back to a regular shooting mode before you can take actual pictures.

A lot of my gripes probably have to do with the age of the camera and the technology at the time but I just don't like how it's set up, like with the magnetic flap at the bottom that has the buttons under it.

It does feel great, but I would use a D70 over it anyday.

5/4/2005 5:57:14 PM
 
Bruce Knoll

member since: 11/24/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Camera used for portrait used in introduction.
12/27/2004 8:29:15 AM
 
Brian C. Wade

member since: 11/2/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is my baby. It is molded to my hand perfectly!!!
11/13/2004 8:49:13 AM
 

First 10 of 22 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.