Cyber-shot DSC-F828 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Ivy
View photos created with this camera

The Cyber-shot DSC-F828 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 8-megapixel 4-color Super HAD CCD captures enough detail to make
    22x16-inch prints
  • 7x optical zoom with a Carl Zeiss T* lens system (28 - 200mm,
    35mm equivalent); 14x precision digital zoom
  • Captures images in both raw and TIFF modes; MPEG movie; advanced
    accessory shoe
  • Stores images on either Sony Memory Stick media or Microdrive
  • Powered by InfoLithium M battery (included with AC
    adapter/in-camera charger)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 222 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
May Lattanzio 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 7:02:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 7:02:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 7:02:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 7:02:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2007 7:02:53 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is wonderful. I can't fault it, really. This is my second 828. I do a lot of macro work in heat and humid weather. I also use this for magazine work. I haven't learned everything about it, but I do publish my images in a magazine I work for, and have the images for ads and to illustrate my articles. I will also be using them for stock images.
Sometimes, I agree, there is noise in low light. Important to me is getting something (as w/the insects I photograph) then work on getting it right. Sometimes to get an ID, it's impossible if you have an insect with the jitters. I also use it for horses and other animals, and occasionally it has grown hot in my hand from shooting.
It is a workhorse. I heartily recommend it. (Please do not slip into water and drown it. Been there, done that.)
8/9/2007 7:02:53 AM
 
Shaana Pritchard-Risley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/8/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 1:43:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 1:43:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 1:43:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 1:43:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2007 1:43:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE my Sony Cybershot f8.28! Have had many professionals not believe I didn't have an SLR with some of my pics that I really "set up" to get the good shot (watching lighting and settings). It has really given me a great start to my education for when I can afford a nice SLR. I take primarily action shots too! I'm and Equine photographer (specializing in dressage). (grin) I'd recommend this camera to anyone just starting out! I must say, I won't sell it when I get a real SLR .. cause this one will be a great "second" / spare one to keep around! I use and abuse it unmercifully (at horse shows .. aka dust, rain, cold, hot, humid weather, you name it!) and the dang thing still kicks butt for a point and shoot! Like everyone else .. I wish I could add another lens to it. (sniff) .. ahh well, you can't have it all! Shaana
6/20/2007 1:43:03 AM
 
JR Grey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/21/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2007 5:36:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2007 5:36:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2007 5:36:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2007 5:36:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2007 5:36:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Bought this camera last year and I have had great shots from it since then.
Some noise in low light but its not a pro camera and if you work on it (the settings) then you can shoot pritty well in low light. over all , I love the camera,
5/20/2007 5:36:19 PM
 
Harris Qazi 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2007 10:01:57 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2007 10:01:57 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2007 10:01:57 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2007 10:01:57 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2007 10:01:57 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
After getting enthusiasm from my late father who was a professional cinematographer and still photographer I have started photography as hobby in late 80s. I have started taking photographs from old Pentax k2000 that I got from my father. Since 1991 I used this camera until I lost it on an airport.

In 2005 when again I have got passion towards photography till that time things have changed substantially in the world of photography. Before purchasing any camera I had two targets in front of me. First I was looking for a learning tool in digital photography that can provide step learning of pro digital cameras and pro digital photography and secondly a reliable brand with not expensive cost.

I have gone through to literature of some popular cameras available on the net where my eyes caught the name Sony.

As being popular in audio and video technology the name itself inspired me. Secondly I have learnt that Sony is a supplier of Image Sensors to some leading camera manufacturers and also they are the pioneer in introducing new image sensor that can sense 4 colours instead of traditional three RGB colours.

Inspired by the facts and its impressive outlook I have at last bought the camera. It had not taken a long time for me to get acquainted with F828 functions. It is a real user friendly camera. It had provided me basic and practical know-how about pro digital cameras and familiarity with pro functions.

One great fact about this camera is a fixed lens that keeps a beginner away from entering into this camera and thus protecting from forming an accidental damage to sensitive internal parts during the process of changing lens or of cleaning image sensor etc. For beginner level the photo quality is fantastic. I have took one and the same shot several times with different camera settings just to learn different affects it causes on the resulting photos. It produces very pleasing results and that was a great fun way of learning techniques of digital camera. Another good point is that this camera is a real tank. Just what any beginner like to have. I took photos in different weather conditions and different travelling environments. I nearly abuse this camera while playing with different settings and settling it on places with abundant of dust or moisture or on very cold or hot surfaces for taking photographs without the help of a tripod. Nothing causes even a slightest change on this cameraís performance and quality. One good alternative of fire cable is a self timer shooting. This is particularly good for taking shots with long exposures where slight action of finger over the shooting knob matters.

This camera is capable of producing great images under certain light conditions but unfortunately it is not capable of handling all light conditions like many of the pro cameras. It is far not a match to a pro camera. I have tried my best to get crispy and sharp images and after playing with camera settings. To a certain extent I have got the results. But that was not the case with all of my photographs. Noise is a big hurdle while wrestling with low light conditions or with fast moving subjects. Sharp and contrast images can be produced only on ISO 64 and ISO 100. Auto White Balance is giving somewhat red hue to the resulting photos. Most of the results are somewhat blurry even with the highest sharpness and contrast values with high shutter speed and f values above 5.

Overall itís an excellent learning tool for people new to digital photography and best for people who normally like Point and shoot and occasionally get into the camera settings.


3/10/2007 10:01:57 AM
 
Nicole  2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 7:31:07 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 7:31:07 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 7:31:07 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 7:31:07 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 7:31:07 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
its okay.
6/30/2006 7:31:07 AM
 
Alexy Mcgill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/24/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:04:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:04:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:04:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:04:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:04:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love this camera. Only thing I would like better is if it had the option of inter-changeable lenses.
6/24/2006 3:04:46 PM
 
Howard W. Toy 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 4:26:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 4:26:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 4:26:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 4:26:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 4:26:18 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good picture quality. A lot of the setting that you get on a semi pro camera. It would be better if you could change lens on the Camera.
6/14/2006 4:26:18 AM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 6:33:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 6:33:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 6:33:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 6:33:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 6:33:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera gives digital camera owners the full SLR experience without the need to carry multiple lenses, however, I wish the camera could take more than one lense. Overall performance is on the whole very good, with fast startup times, short shutter release lag and better than average focusing speed.
5/30/2006 6:33:37 AM
 
Roger Lopez 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 8:16:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 8:16:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 8:16:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 8:16:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 8:16:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent Camera
5/23/2006 8:16:25 PM
 
Julia D. Allen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 5:16:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 5:16:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 5:16:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 5:16:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 5:16:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just a wonderful camara!Very easy to operate, Looks and feels like a 35mm. Carl Ziess lens is fabulous for stock lens. Last for approx. 3 hours on a single charge. both Compact flash & Memory card compatible. Never takes a bad picture!
5/23/2006 5:16:08 PM
 
Pam DeWispelaere 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 6:50:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 6:50:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 6:50:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 6:50:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 6:50:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera has excellent color, crispness, clarity. It has been easy to use, easy to learn the features. I highly recommend it.
5/7/2006 6:50:01 PM
 

First 10 of 222 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-F828 Digital Camera from Amazon.com