BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


FTb QL 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Pacific
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


32 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Luiz Martins da Costa
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/8/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
My second camera was a Canon FTb QL (the first-one was a Canonet QL 17 - what a nostalgia…) and disappeared. Later I bought others (F1,50E, 10D. etc) but the FTb was always in my mind. Today a friend offered one to me in excellent state of conservation. What joy… The FTb teaches to photograph, to study, to make the things with pleasure. I go to enjoy it.
10/8/2007 4:42:54 PM
 
Keith MacAulay
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/18/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Canon FTb QL 35mm SLR Camera is a GREAT camera. It was my 1st 35mm SLR. I got it in 1973 and is in mint condition & still takes great pictures! It has a 1:1.4 lens. I just bought my first digital camera, and it's a Canon PowerShot A550. It takes great pictures too! Well, that's no suprise! Canon makes GREAT cameras. Do you think I'm a Canon camera fan? You bet your Canon I am! My youngest daughter has a digital camera too. Her husband bought it for her. It's a Canon PowerShot SD400. Canon makes GREAT cameras! Cameras that last!
6/26/2007 6:00:24 PM
 
Alana Lowe Schwartz

member since: 8/16/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
how much is one worth?
8/31/2006 2:56:15 PM
 
Joseph Teplitz

member since: 7/3/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera! It's an antique now, but it's bulletproof and doesn't require electricity!
7/6/2006 4:25:48 AM
 
Nick M. Adamson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/3/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Definately old, but gets the job done. I really liked the analog meter, but the button battery is a pain to replace and find. It is very solid and weighty, but I prefer that because for me it is easier to steady than I lighter body. A couple problems are that it's old, so it's hard to get serviced and get lenses for. It has a horizontal travel cloth focal plane shutter, which is noisy compared to my new-ish Nikon. There is definately something to be said for using an all manual camera from time to time, though I use my Nikon the same way, the only difference is the Nikon's elctronic wind and settings controls...
6/7/2006 11:07:02 PM
 
Nick M. Adamson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/3/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Definately old, but gets the job done. I really liked the analog meter, but the button battery is a pain to replace and find. It is very solid and weighty, but I prefer that because for me it is easier to steady than I lighter body. A couple problems are that it's old, so it's hard to get serviced and get lenses for. It has a horizontal travel cloth focal plane shutter, which is noisy compared to my new-ish Nikon. There is definately something to be said for using an all manual camera from time to time, though I use my Nikon the same way, the only difference is the Nikon's elctronic wind and settings controls...
6/7/2006 11:07:01 PM
 
Karena Spowart

member since: 4/23/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i really like this camera i like the manual control i have, however is it fairly old which means i can have difficulty: obtaining spare parts, keeping the camera in good condition, and it is also very heavy...so not very practical for those snapshots.
4/23/2006 10:18:40 AM
 
Nicole D. Gauthier

member since: 1/19/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera id built like a tank. Old School Canon Ftb is a completly manual SLR, no automatic functions.
1/23/2006 10:05:37 PM
 
Kimberly  A. Cochran

member since: 12/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. It's fully manual so it was a great way for me to learn the basics of understanding aperture and shutter speeds and how they affect your exposure -- something a lot of people miss by using a digital or automatic camera. It's heavy, but solid (it's metal) so it would take a lot to break it! The light meter is off on it (due to its age) but I've learned to work around it.
12/28/2005 10:59:53 AM
 
David A. Dawson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/10/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This Canon camera is very good for manual use, but it takes a little time to set the focus, speed and aperature. It is not a point and shoot camera. I like using it for astrophotography and long exposures.
12/10/2005 9:20:32 PM
 
Gary T. Pierce
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/4/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's old tech, but its rugged.
12/4/2005 5:44:18 AM
 
Sylvain Amand

member since: 11/19/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I feel great with this camera in my hands. It is a bit heavy, but still it's a pleasure. You can't do much things and that is the reason why I use it most of the time: it is simple, and I just think about the picture I'm about to take, I don't have to search every button. I like It very much. It's my father's by the way :)
11/19/2005 9:34:47 AM
 
Kacie  

member since: 11/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my canon!!!! My father bought it in japan in 1969 and gave it to me when I was 10 years old I always return to this camera when I want to really capture the beauty in something. My digital photos are a product of a Fuji finePix, Its a good little camera for the everyday shots my family wants of gatherings. But my canon is always on the other hip waiting for just the right moment.
11/16/2005 5:53:08 PM
 
Richard A. Kelly

member since: 6/22/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Ricoh KR-5 and the Canon Ftb have to be among the absoute best. Both purely mechanical, both workhorses, these two got me through my first few years. Now I shoot with an EOS Elan II and it seems less gratifying in some way. Sure, with the old klunker you needed to know what you were doing, but isn't that a big part of it? Making that image happen. The click of the aperture ring, the spring shutter, and the racheted advance all serve to make men observe more carefully what may easily be overlooked. The camera becomes a part of you and you a part of the camera. It directs your eye, it guides your inner vision to something less seen. Yes, the old Ricoh and the Ftb clanged against each other on my hip for a while. One never did the other damage, and they always seemed to agree plus or minus half a stop (that's a photography joke.) It just goes to show you, with a 50mm 1.8 lens there's nothing you can't do.
7/18/2005 8:51:05 PM
 
Robin Dodder
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/6/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a really great camera... my first ever. It's such a great help in learning about exposures. Doesn't do anything for the photographer, so your results are ALL you. The light meter isn't very smart so any exposure compensation has to be accounted for manually, meter be damned.
7/8/2005 7:09:13 AM
 
Douglas  P. Beavers

member since: 4/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camara gives me a wide range of possibilities whith my photos and awsome clarity in different light settings. the only thing i dont like is the wind film advance only alows you one shot in action photos. Film speeds 100/1000 asa shutters speeds range from 1/1000 interchangable lenses for closeup or distance shots.
4/30/2005 3:54:10 PM
 
John E. Thomas
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/13/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My first camera. Great work horse, built like a tank. This camera takes all of the FD type lenses avalible. It's very versital and I love working with it. Some would say that it's outdated, but it still works and takes great photos. The only thing I've seen wrong with it is when shooting at 1000th of a second, the photos are darker on one side. This is caused by the mechanical shutter moving faster to start with then slows a bit at the end of the exposure. (doesn't happen at 500th)
1/13/2005 8:06:39 AM
 
Lucy S. Durfee
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/23/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Fully manual, only needs batteries for the meter!
1/3/2005 6:14:47 PM
 
Giulio Croce

member since: 5/10/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Rugged, affordable, solid and reliable. Really nice camera, only doomed by its mercury batteries...
9/7/2004 1:37:56 PM
 
Kevin Elliott
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/10/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Solid, reliable, strong with great lenses. Accurate light meter, who needs automatics?
8/10/2004 1:07:19 PM
 
David B. Cloney

member since: 7/22/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is an old camera I have had for 25+ years. Excellent piece of equipment.
7/29/2004 12:43:13 PM
 
Becky Kempker

member since: 4/25/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is the first time I’ve really don’t anything with a 35mm SLR. So I don’t have anything to compare it to. It is really very easy to use. It is fairly light, and it has taken some really good pictures. The one thing that was told to me in a class after I bought it, was that this camera was a good one for personal use, but that I should have a better one for professional use. For now this one does fine. But when I upgrade, I hope someone helps me with what would be a good quality camera for professional use.
7/16/2004 12:07:22 PM
 
Andy 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/28/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is a full manual camera (the battery is only needed for metering). It has real mirror lock up, DOF preview, and other features just like my AT-1. The only drawbacks, it uses the mercury bettery which is now illegal to sell in the US. I had my camera recalibrated to use alkaline battery. Another draw back is the focus screen. It is a matte type, not the split image type as my AT-1, which I found it hard to focus sometimes as my eye sight is getter worse. Since it does not require battery to operate the shutter, I can use it in cold weather environment.
6/11/2004 3:24:30 PM
 
Michael E. Brodie
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/28/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The FTb is still going strong. My father gave it to me when he saw how interested in photography I really was. Although heavy, it has a very accurate meter, shutter speeds that don't drift over time and a depth-of-field preview lever that is first rate. It's heavy and does not have any exposure automation, but it's a great machine all the same
5/1/2004 8:56:25 AM
 
Joe Terni
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/7/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I think over 30 years old is my old Canon FTb QL now.The focus dose not work as it did many years back...bit of trial and error now and hope for the best.The shot counter hasnt worked for many years...so I run out of film at the wrong time or any time, not knowing how many shots I have taken.Yes the carry bag has fallen to bits as well.I will rate my camera when new and for many many years as 9.5 out of 10.It has served me well.These days I suppose its a 4 out of ten rating,but it is over 30 years old....but I still feel at home with it...but I guess I too will have to upgrade fairly soon.The world has changed with digitals.Maybe I should have spent some money on it over the years to get the focus repaired etc,yes maybe I should have done that.I still think it was and still is a great camera.(cost me 199 Australian dollars when I bought it,30 odd years back)Joe Terni
2/15/2004 7:11:40 AM
 
Michelle S. Jackson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/8/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was the first SLR camera I used. My dad bought it back in 1965. I actually have some photos of myself as a child that my dad took with it 25 years ago. The pictures it takes today are just as beaustiful as the ones it took when it was new. It is a manual camera and it really helped me to understand how a camera works.
2/8/2004 2:28:13 PM
 
Michelle S. Jackson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/8/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It was the first slr camera I ever used. My dad purchased it in 1965. I actually have several photos of myself as a child that my dad took with it 25 years ago. It still takes pictures that are as beautiful as it did when it was new. It is manual and really helped me to understand how to work a camera.
2/8/2004 2:07:45 PM
 
Clarence Lynn

member since: 12/23/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my standby b+w camera. I have 3 of these zoned, normal, +1 and -1. They have been a part of my photography for almost 40 years. They have been serviceed professionally each year.
2/5/2004 3:06:54 PM
 


member since: 12/30/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
it is old but i know what can with it.it work good but lightmeter is not work correctly,i forced to chang it by film iso.
12/30/2003 11:57:16 PM
 
Nirmal Shrestha

member since: 11/24/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Though an old camera, I love my camera
12/18/2003 9:42:07 PM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com

member since: 6/14/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A Best Buy among Canon FD-series manual cameras. A big plus is the 12% rectangle metering area, like the F-1's. Once you learn it, you'll have problems metering with averaging meters. I have owned some and loved them.
Reject a used one with the film counter window missing. They tend to fall into the works, causing jams. Should you notice your frames on the negative strips overlapping or bumping together, the culprit is the rubber rollers in the Quick Load system hardening with age. Try to locate a junker from which you can cannibalize parts, or move to the F-1.
8/18/2003 10:26:16 AM
 
Deborah Stokes

member since: 5/27/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is an old manual camera. I get great pictures from it.
7/14/2003 3:59:39 PM
 

32 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.