FTb QL 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Pacific
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 32 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Luiz Martins da Costa
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/8/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2007 4:42:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2007 4:42:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2007 4:42:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2007 4:42:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2007 4:42:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My second camera was a Canon FTb QL (the first-one was a Canonet QL 17 - what a nostalgia…) and disappeared. Later I bought others (F1,50E, 10D. etc) but the FTb was always in my mind. Today a friend offered one to me in excellent state of conservation. What joy… The FTb teaches to photograph, to study, to make the things with pleasure. I go to enjoy it.
10/8/2007 4:42:54 PM
 
Keith MacAulay
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/18/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2007 6:00:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2007 6:00:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2007 6:00:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2007 6:00:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2007 6:00:24 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Canon FTb QL 35mm SLR Camera is a GREAT camera. It was my 1st 35mm SLR. I got it in 1973 and is in mint condition & still takes great pictures! It has a 1:1.4 lens. I just bought my first digital camera, and it's a Canon PowerShot A550. It takes great pictures too! Well, that's no suprise! Canon makes GREAT cameras. Do you think I'm a Canon camera fan? You bet your Canon I am! My youngest daughter has a digital camera too. Her husband bought it for her. It's a Canon PowerShot SD400. Canon makes GREAT cameras! Cameras that last!
6/26/2007 6:00:24 PM
 
Alana Lowe Schwartz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2006 2:56:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2006 2:56:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2006 2:56:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2006 2:56:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2006 2:56:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
how much is one worth?
8/31/2006 2:56:15 PM
 
Joseph Teplitz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:25:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:25:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:25:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:25:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:25:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera! It's an antique now, but it's bulletproof and doesn't require electricity!
7/6/2006 4:25:48 AM
 
Nick M. Adamson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/3/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:07:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:07:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:07:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:07:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:07:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Definately old, but gets the job done. I really liked the analog meter, but the button battery is a pain to replace and find. It is very solid and weighty, but I prefer that because for me it is easier to steady than I lighter body. A couple problems are that it's old, so it's hard to get serviced and get lenses for. It has a horizontal travel cloth focal plane shutter, which is noisy compared to my new-ish Nikon. There is definately something to be said for using an all manual camera from time to time, though I use my Nikon the same way, the only difference is the Nikon's elctronic wind and settings controls...
6/7/2006 11:07:02 PM
 
Nick M. Adamson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/3/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:07:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:07:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:07:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:07:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:07:01 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Definately old, but gets the job done. I really liked the analog meter, but the button battery is a pain to replace and find. It is very solid and weighty, but I prefer that because for me it is easier to steady than I lighter body. A couple problems are that it's old, so it's hard to get serviced and get lenses for. It has a horizontal travel cloth focal plane shutter, which is noisy compared to my new-ish Nikon. There is definately something to be said for using an all manual camera from time to time, though I use my Nikon the same way, the only difference is the Nikon's elctronic wind and settings controls...
6/7/2006 11:07:01 PM
 
Karena Spowart 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 10:18:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 10:18:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 10:18:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 10:18:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 10:18:40 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i really like this camera i like the manual control i have, however is it fairly old which means i can have difficulty: obtaining spare parts, keeping the camera in good condition, and it is also very heavy...so not very practical for those snapshots.
4/23/2006 10:18:40 AM
 
Nicole D. Gauthier 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 10:05:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 10:05:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 10:05:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 10:05:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 10:05:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera id built like a tank. Old School Canon Ftb is a completly manual SLR, no automatic functions.
1/23/2006 10:05:37 PM
 
Kimberly  A. Cochran 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 10:59:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 10:59:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 10:59:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 10:59:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 10:59:53 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. It's fully manual so it was a great way for me to learn the basics of understanding aperture and shutter speeds and how they affect your exposure -- something a lot of people miss by using a digital or automatic camera. It's heavy, but solid (it's metal) so it would take a lot to break it! The light meter is off on it (due to its age) but I've learned to work around it.
12/28/2005 10:59:53 AM
 
David A. Dawson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/10/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 9:20:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 9:20:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 9:20:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 9:20:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 9:20:32 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This Canon camera is very good for manual use, but it takes a little time to set the focus, speed and aperature. It is not a point and shoot camera. I like using it for astrophotography and long exposures.
12/10/2005 9:20:32 PM
 
Gary T. Pierce
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/4/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 5:44:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 5:44:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 5:44:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 5:44:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 5:44:18 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's old tech, but its rugged.
12/4/2005 5:44:18 AM
 

First 10 of 32 Reviews  (see all user reviews)