Coolpix 990 (E990) Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Lake Bohinj
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 990 (E990) Digital Camera

  • 3.34 megapixel sensor captures enough detail for photo-quality prints at 8 x 10 inches and beyond
  • 3x optical plus 4x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 16 MB CompactFlash memory card holds 20 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses 4 AA batteries alkalines, included
  • Special features include movie mode, slide-show playback, and 9-image review


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


47 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Robert Gurberg 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:59:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:59:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:59:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:59:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:59:53 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the swivel design
6/13/2006 7:59:53 PM
 
Robert Gurberg 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:53:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:53:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:53:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:53:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:53:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like this camera because of its swivel design.You can go places with this camera where a SLR cannot
6/13/2006 7:53:25 PM
 
Miklos Szabo 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 8:47:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 8:47:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 8:47:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 8:47:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 8:47:11 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
good for the start
6/3/2006 8:47:11 AM
 
Randall Cote 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 6:56:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 6:56:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 6:56:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 6:56:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 6:56:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Well worth every Cent! More than 30,000 pics and still going. Bought in Dec 2001 and showing a little sign of wear
4/25/2006 6:56:15 AM
 
Dwight E. Hutcheson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:46:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:46:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:46:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:46:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:46:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am a university trained fine-art photographer(San Francisco State University) and have been using, almost exclusively, NIKON cameras. I feel that they have achieved a fine balance between affordability and quality. I found this to be true in my old-fashioned, 19th Century, methods of chemical photography, and I find it to be so, now, in the 21st Century. I've tried the rest - - NIKON is still the BEST, for me.
3/29/2006 1:46:32 PM
 
John Esposto 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:28:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:28:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:28:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:28:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:28:11 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I have the Nikon COOLPIX 990 camera which I think takes very good pictures, But I am planning on getting a DSLR Probably the Nikon D200 I read good reviews on it.
3/19/2006 2:28:11 PM
 
Irene A. Moore 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 4:46:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 4:46:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 4:46:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 4:46:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 4:46:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is a great camera. Great quality, easy to handle. It is light weight and small, Digital and simple to adjust. You can delete all the pics you do not wish to keep at any time.
12/16/2005 4:46:55 PM
 
Kyla L. Morse 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 2:37:43 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 2:37:43 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 2:37:43 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 2:37:43 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 2:37:43 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Since my Canon broke, this is actually just my dad's camera that he has lent to me for the time being. It's pretty good.. I prefer my Powershot, but this one will do for now. I like the rotating lens segment.
12/2/2005 2:37:43 PM
 
Kelly  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:04:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:04:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:04:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:04:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:04:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had the coolpix for a couple of years now and have generally been very happy with it .I will eventually upgrade to a Digital SLR. I love to be able to change lenses but, it is not as portable as I would like. The print quality is excellent.
12/1/2005 12:04:16 PM
 
William R. Tallman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:52:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:52:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:52:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:52:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:52:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
LOVED Shooting with this camera. A wonderful introduction to the world of multi-megapixel photography - Point & Shoot, most awesome! Thx Nikon.
11/20/2005 7:52:05 AM
 
Ken Head 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 2:42:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 2:42:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 2:42:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 2:42:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 2:42:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the convenience of digital. I'm very happy with the swivel lens, as it allows for taking photos from angles that would not be physically possible (at least not for me) with an SLR. However, I miss the sharpness of through-the-lens viewing of the SLR. The LCD viewfinder is difficult to work with in bright light.
11/14/2005 2:42:55 AM
 
Liz Frey 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 8:47:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 8:47:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 8:47:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 8:47:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 8:47:45 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I borrowed this camera for the summer. It has so many great options! I haven't worked with it much, but I'm excited about it. It is a bit much to take in, but I'm working my way through the manual. I find that I understand the options in the manual but when I g to shoot I have a hard time making the camera do what I want it to do. Practice, I guess. When I know this camera better I will be able to rate it better. It's a little inconvenient to hold - bulky.
7/17/2005 8:47:45 AM
 
Jesselyn 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/17/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 6:28:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 6:28:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 6:28:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 6:28:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 6:28:42 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like that I can actually take fair pictures of myself. I don't like that my personal nikon doesn't take the best macros.
7/13/2005 6:28:42 PM
 
Joyce Wycoff
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:28:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:28:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:28:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:28:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:28:08 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It was a great camera until the battery door broke -- then a 1 cent piece of plastic rendered the whole camera useless.
4/6/2005 10:28:08 AM
 
Nathan Fine
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/25/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:13:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:13:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:13:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:13:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:13:54 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This was my first digital camera, I got one when it first came out. It was a great camera and served it's purpose for the time. Again if you want to try out digital photography then the coolpix series of cameras are great. they have fully manual fuctions with the exception of a decent manual focus feature. It's say manual focus and technically it is but not really. but its other manual sttings are great and it takes wonderful pictures for its megapixel range but only being 3.3MP it lacks in present standards wich is why I upgraded my digital system. It does however have an excelnt macro feature one of hte best that I have seen on a camera of this kind, I have teken images as close to a subject as 3/4" of an inch. Again great camera for its type, MP, and price but I would not recconemd it to the working professional.
2/27/2005 4:13:54 PM
 
Neal E. Thatcher 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:33:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:33:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:33:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:33:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:33:28 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
good image quality, very long shutter lag time and sucks batteries like nothing I have ever seen!
2/24/2005 8:33:28 AM
 
David P. Breeden 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 5:20:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 5:20:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 5:20:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 5:20:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 5:20:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
the Cool pix 990 is a good starter camera. It has many functions and as I am newer at this hobby I beleive it was a good price eventhough outdated.
2/14/2005 5:20:02 PM
 
Mel Wilner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:06:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:06:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:06:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:06:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:06:49 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great for my infra red imaging. Not as easy to use as my D100.
11/23/2004 1:06:49 AM
 
John Gardner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 7:56:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 7:56:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 7:56:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 7:56:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 7:56:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good for a backup camera and for quick point and shoot shots.
10/11/2004 7:56:36 PM
 
Rick Browning 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:05:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:05:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:05:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:05:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 7:05:25 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
a great 3 mega pixel camera
10/5/2004 7:05:25 PM
 
Martin Paul 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:56:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:56:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:56:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:56:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:56:15 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I specifically purchased this camera to modify for infrared. Although I would not have picked this camera as a first camera nor do I reccomend it as such, it's ease of modifcation was the reason I chose it. I removed the "hot glass" from the CCD and replaced it with a #87C filter so it is an IR camera only.
9/5/2004 1:56:15 PM
 
Lou T. Cipriano 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:03:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:03:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:03:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:03:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 8:03:18 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is great. Easy to handle and with the way the lense rotates you can hold the camera at any angle you need to. The only draw back is it only has 3.34 megapixels.
8/15/2004 8:03:18 AM
 
James Shaffer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 12:24:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 12:24:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 12:24:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 12:24:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 12:24:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes great micro shots!
7/25/2004 12:24:22 PM
 
Eileen  Smith 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 11:59:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 11:59:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 11:59:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 11:59:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 11:59:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It has both auto mode and manual. It's perfect for both amateur (like me) and those who know what they are doing. I have been using this camera for over 4 years with no problems.
6/30/2004 11:59:13 AM
 
Clara Ossa 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 9:51:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 9:51:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 9:51:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 9:51:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 9:51:28 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This was my first digital camera. Eventhough it was a good camera, it was very slow and the battery didnīt last long.
6/24/2004 9:51:28 AM
 
James Gavioli 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 4:30:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 4:30:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 4:30:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 4:30:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 4:30:48 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A much, much bigger camera than its 3.34 MP! It's quirky and deceptively complex to use really proficiently, but once you've mastered the Coolpix Way, as I call it, this little device becomes an extension of your eye and mind. I've used both of my 990s in almost every conceivable way- on a tripod, with bracket and flash, handheld, underwater(!), in foul weather (I"m a storm chaser), in the Carribean Jungle, Canadian winter... no matter what I throw at it, it just keeps on making fantastic images. After at least 10,000 exposures, I've had one hot pixel emerge in my photos and two dead pixels on my lcd. Big deal. I've used many other digital cameras, and I currently own a D30 and a Fuji S7000, but I still reach for one of my Coolpixes. There's just something about sticking that flat little brick in a pocket, then whipping it out and shooting. Remarkable image quality. Gotta love the rugged all magnesium body.. so much tougher than most plastic 'toy' digital cameras today. And it's heavy for it's size.. a very, very good thing if you want quality images. Complaints: The CF card is difficult to eject if you don't know the trick. Write time to TIFF is too slow to be useful. That's it. No more negatives, the rest is all good! These gems still hold their value on ebay, and I'd take my 990 over almost any prosumer camera, regardless of megapixel resolution! It's that good. The last great coolpix.
5/17/2004 4:30:48 PM
 
Wong Chek Poh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/30/2004
Contact Wong
Wong's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:15:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:15:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:15:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:15:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:15:14 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Superb idiot-proof digital camera even for beginners. Just love the swivel lens, allowing me to shoot from the hip (literally).
3/31/2004 6:15:14 AM
 
Audrey A. Fitting 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:34:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:34:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:34:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:34:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:34:25 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my Nikon 990 digital camera.
3/21/2004 7:34:25 AM
 
Jack Taylor 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 10:17:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 10:17:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 10:17:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 10:17:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 10:17:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Camera takes GREAT pics but is too slow to process the pics onto the Comapct Flash Card.
3/17/2004 10:17:52 PM
 
Anthony M. Aicardi 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 10:41:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 10:41:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 10:41:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 10:41:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 10:41:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Modified for digital infrared. Excellent.
3/3/2004 10:41:17 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2004 2:56:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2004 2:56:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2004 2:56:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2004 2:56:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2004 2:56:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i absolutely adore this camera....the only drawback is the 3.2 megapixel range.
2/6/2004 2:56:00 PM
 
Douglas Rutledge 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 8:44:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 8:44:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 8:44:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 8:44:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 8:44:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
compact, versatility, quality of image, rugged i took many great shots with this camera, i regret trading in.
1/13/2004 8:44:35 PM
 
Randy Walton 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 7:45:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 7:45:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 7:45:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 7:45:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 7:45:16 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The camera that really got me hooked on digital. Great little point and shoot. Still use is and is easy to carry when there is a need to be really light. Does a wonderful job with macros.
1/7/2004 7:45:16 PM
 
Jill M. Turnbull 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:16:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:16:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:16:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:16:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:16:33 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Nikon CoolPix 990 takes great photos but is limited in Megapixels (3Megapixel)
1/4/2004 12:16:33 AM
 
Ross King 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 5:30:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 5:30:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 5:30:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 5:30:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 5:30:29 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am a beginning photo hobbyist and I like that I can use the camera in "default" mode
11/7/2003 5:30:29 PM
 
Jennifer Clarkson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 5:29:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 5:29:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 5:29:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 5:29:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 5:29:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The twist in the camera allows the photographer some unique vantage points that would be near impossible with an SLR body. Automatic image capture is, in general, superb. The split-second delay in shutter release makes it difficult to capture subjects in motion, unless luck is on your side.
9/25/2003 5:29:34 PM
 
Jason W. Porter 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 7:25:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 7:25:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 7:25:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 7:25:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 7:25:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
this is a great camera just wish you could upgrade you mega pixels
9/9/2003 7:25:30 PM
 
Farrukh Nadeem 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 11:20:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 11:20:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 11:20:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 11:20:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 11:20:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i am using coolpix 990 about 1 year.it really have extraordinary result,but in outdoor light.at night flash makes the problem by producing red eye.so if red eye function is enable ,it dosent' produce red eyes.so I will request to Nikon that they have to launch some external lense.... to remove the red eye prob.in other sense ,Coolpix 990 is the best pro and biggner camera.u can add wideangle,fisheye &and use external Flash..then.. I also refer Tripod stands for Landscape, Nature and still photography.Hope u wil enjoy Collpix 990.
the solution of red eye is only.. edit ur's photo...by Adobe photoshop.....by using..healing... Stamp..tool.or make eye color chage with it.u can also use ACDC for red eye reduction.Enjoy it!
9/7/2003 11:20:13 PM
 
Courtney S. Brand 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 2:15:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 2:15:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 2:15:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 2:15:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 2:15:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best camera to use for a beginner like me. The memory card fits right into my laptop for easy importing and has an easy to see playback screen.
8/7/2003 2:15:55 AM
 
Courtney S. Brand 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 2:14:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 2:14:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 2:14:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 2:14:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 2:14:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best camera to use for a beginner like me. The memory card fits right into my laptop for easy importing and has an easy to see playback screen.
8/7/2003 2:14:24 AM
 
Geo Van Geffen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 12:27:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 12:27:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 12:27:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 12:27:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 12:27:12 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A very easy and good quality camera for macroshots. Easy to carry in your pocket.
7/17/2003 12:27:12 PM
 
Rebecca J. Ray 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 5:26:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 5:26:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 5:26:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 5:26:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 5:26:51 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Manual settings are hard to understand and fully automatic doesn't always have the best exposure.
7/2/2003 5:26:51 PM
 
Kristie N. Baxter 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2003 11:49:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2003 11:49:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2003 11:49:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2003 11:49:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2003 11:49:52 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really like this camera. It gets the job done.
6/8/2003 11:49:52 AM
 
bob eli 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great for digiscoping photography. Swival lens and interior telephoto makes it convient to set up and reach out to sunject. LCD screen difficult to view in normal light conditions- impossible in sunlight. Shade cloth does the trick to some degree. Download images into computer for "darkroom" maipulation
 
Diego Mera 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
We use this camera for our studio portrait photos. One major drawback of this camera is the seriously bad red-eye the flash produces. We also use studio strobes and so there is this weird effect that happens when mixing on camera flash with the strobes. A "shadow" develops on the right side of every picture. We eliminated the red-eye and that weird shadow by taping a piece of paper such that light from the on camera flash does not hit any part of the subject. Now the light is only coming from the strobes themselves. This eliminated the red-eye and the weird shadow. The pictures come out clear and beautiful. We use an Olympus P-400 dye-sub printer and with this combination our family portraits are coming out great.

The camera's menu system is something that takes some getting used to, but once you do, it is a snap. Outdoor pictures come out looking good too.

Unfortunately it uses a proprietary sync flash connection and so makes an off camera flash something you have to get through Nikon.

For that reason and the two mentioned above, I cannot give it a 10 rating. The biggest problem I had with this camera was the red-eye though. We photographed a wedding and we had to "fix" just about every picture because they all had red-eye.

 
John R. Hurley 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the Camera and it's ability to take great pictures. My only complaint is that the supplied Memory card is slow and that after 40 days of picture taking (1000+ photos) I had to send the camera in for repair. The lens element section was replaced due to it's intermittent failure to correctly image a picture.
 
Penelope  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
When people ask my what digital camera to purchase I recommend the Coolpix 990. But in order to enjoy the incredible photos that this camera produces, you should be computer-savvy and know Photoshop. A good printer is another must (or a commercial lab). This is not for the now and then photographer. My clients are thrilled with the final portraits. I'm generally thrilled, but am also frustrated with the red-eye problem. I have to digitially correct eyes when the photos are taken indoors. There doesn't seem to be an easy way around this. I'm waiting for Nikon to offer a red-eye eliminator attachment to this camera. Outdoor photos do not have this problem. All in all, the Coolpix is a great camera to begin taking photos professionally.
 

47 Reviews  

Buy Coolpix 990 (E990) Digital Camera from Amazon.com