Coolpix 990 (E990) Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Lake Bohinj
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 990 (E990) Digital Camera

  • 3.34 megapixel sensor captures enough detail for photo-quality prints at 8 x 10 inches and beyond
  • 3x optical plus 4x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 16 MB CompactFlash memory card holds 20 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses 4 AA batteries alkalines, included
  • Special features include movie mode, slide-show playback, and 9-image review


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 47 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Robert Gurberg 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:59:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:59:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:59:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:59:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:59:53 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the swivel design
6/13/2006 7:59:53 PM
 
Robert Gurberg 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:53:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:53:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:53:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:53:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 7:53:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like this camera because of its swivel design.You can go places with this camera where a SLR cannot
6/13/2006 7:53:25 PM
 
Miklos Szabo 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 8:47:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 8:47:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 8:47:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 8:47:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 8:47:11 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
good for the start
6/3/2006 8:47:11 AM
 
Randall Cote 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 6:56:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 6:56:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 6:56:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 6:56:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 6:56:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Well worth every Cent! More than 30,000 pics and still going. Bought in Dec 2001 and showing a little sign of wear
4/25/2006 6:56:15 AM
 
Dwight E. Hutcheson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:46:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:46:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:46:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:46:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:46:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am a university trained fine-art photographer(San Francisco State University) and have been using, almost exclusively, NIKON cameras. I feel that they have achieved a fine balance between affordability and quality. I found this to be true in my old-fashioned, 19th Century, methods of chemical photography, and I find it to be so, now, in the 21st Century. I've tried the rest - - NIKON is still the BEST, for me.
3/29/2006 1:46:32 PM
 
John Esposto 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:28:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:28:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:28:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:28:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 2:28:11 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I have the Nikon COOLPIX 990 camera which I think takes very good pictures, But I am planning on getting a DSLR Probably the Nikon D200 I read good reviews on it.
3/19/2006 2:28:11 PM
 
Irene A. Moore 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 4:46:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 4:46:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 4:46:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 4:46:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 4:46:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is a great camera. Great quality, easy to handle. It is light weight and small, Digital and simple to adjust. You can delete all the pics you do not wish to keep at any time.
12/16/2005 4:46:55 PM
 
Kyla L. Morse 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 2:37:43 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 2:37:43 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 2:37:43 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 2:37:43 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 2:37:43 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Since my Canon broke, this is actually just my dad's camera that he has lent to me for the time being. It's pretty good.. I prefer my Powershot, but this one will do for now. I like the rotating lens segment.
12/2/2005 2:37:43 PM
 
Kelly  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:04:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:04:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:04:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:04:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 12:04:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had the coolpix for a couple of years now and have generally been very happy with it .I will eventually upgrade to a Digital SLR. I love to be able to change lenses but, it is not as portable as I would like. The print quality is excellent.
12/1/2005 12:04:16 PM
 
William R. Tallman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:52:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:52:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:52:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:52:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:52:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
LOVED Shooting with this camera. A wonderful introduction to the world of multi-megapixel photography - Point & Shoot, most awesome! Thx Nikon.
11/20/2005 7:52:05 AM
 
Ken Head 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 2:42:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 2:42:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 2:42:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 2:42:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 2:42:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the convenience of digital. I'm very happy with the swivel lens, as it allows for taking photos from angles that would not be physically possible (at least not for me) with an SLR. However, I miss the sharpness of through-the-lens viewing of the SLR. The LCD viewfinder is difficult to work with in bright light.
11/14/2005 2:42:55 AM
 

First 10 of 47 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Coolpix 990 (E990) Digital Camera from Amazon.com