BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Dimage Z1 Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Are we really her...
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage Z1 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 3.2 megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 8 x 10 prints and medium-quality prints up to 11 x 14
  • 10x optical plus 4x digital zoom (for 40x total)
  • Includes 16 MB Secure Digital card; also compatible with MMC
    cards
  • Unique SLR-style; fast f2.8 - f3.5 lens allowing fast shutter
    speeds for sport or natural-light photography; 2-second start-up time
  • Powered by 4 AA batteries (alkalines included); connects with
    Macs and PCs via USB 1.1

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


114 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kevin Burns

member since: 10/23/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
OK now that I have had the camera for a while the blue fringe around the tree limbs is really not that bad. For a 3mp camera the images are quite awesome. The lag time is very fast and really one don't even notice the lag time at all. People do say the lens does make loud popping noises when zooming in and out, but after a few months the popping sound go's away and is really quite smooth. Image quality is sharp and I have never had an exposure problem. The camera feels solid and is not a heavy camera at all. The only problem I had was the switch finder button broke and was only a 50.00 repair with about a 2 week fix time.
I won a International insect photo contest with the camera and won a 635.00 prize in the form of Adobe photo shop CS2 full version back in 2006.
The link to the site and my image shot with this camera. I was in super macro mode with a Vivitar +1-+10 variable macro lens. I give it a 4 1/2 only because the camera is a bit to light and that some times makes it easy to rotate the camera when pressing the shutter button. I have put some weight on the bottom to add weight.
http://www.strangeattractor.co.uk/pestival/photocomp.html

11/20/2008 10:59:18 PM
 
Marsha A. Carney
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/2/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
My Minolta DimageZ1 takes good macro pics and decent everyday pics. It doesn't have a good zoom.
7/2/2006 10:18:22 PM
 
Kieran 

member since: 6/7/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I find the Minolta Dimage Z1 to be a great digital camera. Obviously purchased on a low budget, it offers great features including manual control and manual focus. Although it has now been replaced by newer models and has a fairly low resolution of 3.2 megapixals, it still works fine for me. It certinly works well for close up/macro shots, although the screen could be a little bigger, as its not always obvious from the on screen preview that a shot it out of focus or wrongly exposed.
6/7/2006 1:30:33 PM
 
Kim Jenkins
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/17/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Since I am just getting started at this, I really don't know how it compares to others. I do like it though!
5/17/2006 10:20:06 PM
 
Dennis E. Akins
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/8/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This has been an awesome camera. It is simple to use and produces some nice photos. The only draw back is the low resolution of 3.2. I have dropped it, gotten it wet, and it still produces decent pictures
5/11/2006 7:47:37 PM
 
Kevin M. Margason

member since: 4/26/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great for taking shots outdoors. Does not take good low-light shots. The zoom function is great.
5/3/2006 11:23:09 AM
 
Wanda Johnson

member since: 4/27/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I use my digital camera more than my film camera. I am fairly satisfied with my pictures, but I do see others made with Nikons that appear more professional. You have to wonder if it's all due to the photographer or the camera.
4/27/2006 3:06:38 PM
 
Karen Hartman

member since: 4/27/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For a point-and-shoot style of camera I really like this one. It has an awesome zoom and is terrific for focusing in on moving subjects.
4/27/2006 8:19:55 AM
 
Alannah Virtanen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/24/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I love two things about this camera: the colours are fantastic, and the 10x optical zoom is a great feature. In most cases, Its easy to take pictures with it and most turn out great. Two primary downsides however exist. First: the focusing (I miss having easy control like in my SLR, plus if its low light or action it has difficulties focusing). This can be partially off-set if I have the flash on, but often some of the features I would like to capture (ie night sky-line) are lost. This leads to the second - overall, using it in dark/low light is not that effective for the reason noted.
4/24/2006 6:16:13 AM
 
Madison Mueller
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/14/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great beginners camera for 3.2 megapixel!
4/15/2006 4:44:14 AM
 
Stephanie Callaway

member since: 4/4/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is fantastic, however, slightly outdated with only 3.2mp. It does have a 10X optical zoom which I have grown to love. I have recently replaced it with the Canon Digial Rebel XT.
4/5/2006 11:19:05 AM
 
JOANNA M. Fernandez

member since: 3/25/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
lo unico que no me gusta es que es muy sensible al movimiento
3/25/2006 4:10:58 PM
 
Lynn  Margason
BetterPhoto Member
rhemaranchphotography.com

member since: 3/9/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the zoom on this camera. I take photos primarily of outdoor subjects. It is extremely easy to hold and I can stare through it for extended periods without tiring. Because it doesn't cover much of my view, I can see around it easily, too. The auto focus is great. Even without a filter, it handles most light conditions except twilight. But, indoors, because of the small apeture, you have to use the flash, or select subjects that are not moving. This camera hasn't been able to handle indoor arena conditions well enough and we have recently started using a Canon D20 for those. Although the photos are less than a mg each, there has been sufficient data to play with. It has been my first digital camera and I've enjoyed it thoroughly. It has given me confidence to explore many places I'd fear to go with a larger expensive camera.
3/21/2006 12:42:42 PM
 
Clayton N. McBreairty

member since: 3/15/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like this camera very much. It takes great pictures and is very easy to use.
3/15/2006 12:10:35 PM
 
Richard L. Bliss
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/9/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Excellent Macro Capabilities. 10x optical zoom and excellent optics. Amazing detail for a little 3.2 megapixel. It has served me very well. I have just upgraded to a Canon 20D but I anticipate entering some photos taken with the Dimage. Just wanted to give the camera its due!
3/9/2006 10:37:42 AM
 
Tiffany Tweet

member since: 2/16/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
love my camera. love the lens on it however don't like it not having antishake on it.
3/4/2006 3:37:30 PM
 
Suzan McEvoy

member since: 2/20/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
A great starter camera that taught me a lot about the first foray into digital photography. Indoor photos were tough and the digital zoom very 'noisy' but it did great macros.
2/20/2006 11:31:46 AM
 
Marconi V. Calindas
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/25/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
excellent zoom and quality photos
1/25/2006 6:49:26 AM
 
Jack 

member since: 1/17/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Has several things I like about it,ease of ues. Has features that I like.Hard to describe, just a very good camera.Easy to grip,has a great zoom and makes good pictures.
1/17/2006 7:58:01 PM
 
Daniel Maier
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/13/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera has done well to help introduce me to some of the joys of photography. I like its speed, powerful zoom, easy to use menus, and low power consumption. i also appreciate that Minolta included many programs such as aperture priority, shutter pripority,and a manual setting. I would like more sensitivity in low light (higher ISO) and a more consistent auto-focus.
1/17/2006 2:17:16 PM
 
Christine A. DiNova

member since: 3/6/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I am happy with this camera. It is easy to use and the quality is very good. I use rechargeable batteries so that isn't an issue. The wait time between taking pictures is minimal. The mini clips are of good quality of well. It doesn't do well in low light. The long range zoom can get shakey. Over all, it is a good camera.
1/14/2006 4:00:15 PM
 
Travis S. Buhler

member since: 1/11/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my Camera. The set-back, is the 3.2 mega pixels, which is great for an 8x10, but anything bigger, you could tell it was digital. The zoom is great, and my pictures turn out wonderfully.
1/11/2006 9:57:02 PM
 
Anand Varahala

member since: 12/13/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great optical zoom... 10X and i love it. Real Good quality pictures in jpg format... high resolution pics and capability for recording video with sound. But only 3.2MP ...
1/10/2006 11:59:26 PM
 
Rick N. Adams

member since: 1/1/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good entry level digital.
1/1/2006 9:03:09 PM
 
Mary Fales

member since: 12/29/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
If you're looking for a digital camera that takes general snapshots, this is a great one. The 10x Optical zoom is a plus!
12/29/2005 8:50:09 PM
 
Tara A. Lothridge

member since: 12/29/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
for me, being the amatuer, it works out great
12/29/2005 3:38:41 PM
 
Sarah M. Whitney

member since: 12/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my digital camera. This is the first digital camera I have ever owned and enjoy taking pictures. I am sure there are better ones out there but think this is a perfect beginner one for me.
12/25/2005 5:10:08 AM
 
Tracy J. Hensley

member since: 12/9/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
When I purchased my Minolta camera, I ahd no ideaa about megapixels, it is a 3.2. I'd like something much larger now. When I take pictures they usually turn out but if someone else uses it they rarely turn out good, they are usually blurry. I don't change settings, I do hold the button down half way to focus before I snap, is that the difference? Focusing seems to be an ongoing issue.
12/9/2005 1:33:09 PM
 
Keith D. Edwards

member since: 12/2/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great, easy to use with a 1gb card for unlimited photos (almost)
12/2/2005 6:26:08 PM
 
Ian Shelley P. Alabanza

member since: 11/21/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's a hybrid camera. I would prefer to handle a digital SLR but this one has all the features you would find in an SLR except the capacity to change lenses.
11/21/2005 10:43:21 PM
 
Joan Reitzel

member since: 9/5/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. It is my first digital camera and it has all the bells and whistles that help me take pictures of my family, that I am proud of. The only thing I don't like is the lens cover pops off a little too easy.
11/15/2005 8:50:25 PM
 
Frances D. Morgan

member since: 11/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera, I like that I can take pictures and record video. I just haven't learned all the ins and outs of it yet.
11/8/2005 4:23:36 PM
 
Kathrine M. Kirk

member since: 10/25/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I have enjoyed it for taking pictures of my kids, and have been able to take some pretty terrific pictures with it, but I am almost ready to move on to something that can take pictures a bit more quickly so I have fewer blurred shots.
11/1/2005 10:08:36 AM
 
Jane N. Murray
BetterPhoto Member
janemurrayphoto.com

member since: 10/30/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, simple to use. Good hand feel. Nice weight.
10/31/2005 9:08:42 AM
 
Jane N. Murray
BetterPhoto Member
janemurrayphoto.com

member since: 10/30/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, simple to use. Good hand feel. Nice weight.
10/31/2005 9:06:05 AM
 
Marjorie Porter

member since: 10/29/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my first camera and I love it. I bought it to take pictures of my family, however, I've discovered a love for photography!! I now need to upgrade to an SLR. This camera is great to start with. It's easy to use, and takes wonderful pictures. I plan to keep it even after I upgrade.
10/29/2005 11:01:13 PM
 
David M. Berry
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/29/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Despite all the negative aspects that come with the more inexpensive cameras, this one has done me well. I bought it for one reason alone and that is to take advantage of that wonderful 10x optical zoom.
10/29/2005 3:55:06 PM
 
Kevin Burns

member since: 10/23/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Lots of bluing in trees like in Bonanza the TV show.
10/23/2005 6:58:51 AM
 
Brandy Bengtson

member since: 10/19/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is great for first time digital camera users. It's user friendly and has a very comforatable SLR feel to it. The only negative comment I have about this camera is the night shooting ability. It doesn't seem to be able to take indoor or night shots as clear as other cameras I have used.
10/19/2005 6:27:27 PM
 
Claire A. Hollenbeck

member since: 10/19/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love the zoom that this camera provides for beautiful picture. I go this camera from my uncle for christmas about two yeaars ago. I love it.
10/19/2005 4:52:50 PM
 
Alexander Rangelov

member since: 10/13/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Good package of options and controls for money, big zoom, good for perfect light conditions, BUT lots of noise, soft lens, horrible low-light focus, useless manual focus
10/13/2005 12:21:10 PM
 
Kathy Erickson

member since: 9/25/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
A digital camera is still new to me. I picked this one, becuase I trusted the name Minolta. I like that it's similar to my Minolta Maxxum in that it can be automatic or manual, but so far I'm not quite convinced the quality of the pictures is better or equal to. I am anxious to try out the B&W or Sepia options. I'm sure as I gain more experience with it, I'll like it better and better. It certainly is lighter! And I can take the tons of pictures you sometimes have to take to find that special shot . . . without spending a fortune on film and developing!
9/26/2005 6:57:15 AM
 
Donald E. Walter

member since: 9/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it takes great pics,i've just started taking photos.i need to get a lens for blocking the sun's rays,i have a great camera,i'm happy with it.
9/22/2005 6:35:35 PM
 
Rebecca 

member since: 8/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have not much to say about cameras, since I don't use so many different, I'm no phtographer.
8/30/2005 4:44:50 AM
 
Diane L. Loft

member since: 10/19/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've used Minolta for years. Started way back in the 70"s, with slr X700. Then when digital came out, it amazed me how much you could do with this camera. We recently went to a concert, and you can even take a short movie with it. I would like to learn more on the advanced part of this camera. I'm from the era when there was'nt computers, so I'm learning everything now.I'm on disability, so now I have more time to sit and play with my camera and computer.
8/26/2005 12:01:41 AM
 
Angel D. Ramirez

member since: 7/26/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like everything. It's an excellent camera
7/28/2005 7:32:44 AM
 
Paul Krans

member since: 7/24/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Using this camera for over a year now, I still find more options it has to offer. I never photographed before and using this camera was just very easy. The quality of the pictures are very good considering it's price.
7/24/2005 7:52:34 AM
 
Allen p P. Beilschmidt sr

member since: 7/23/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
nice light,compact slr.many features;strong zoom and a great macro. Very good color matchiong plus an vivid mode. only real downside is the low 3.2 pixels
7/23/2005 3:44:52 PM
 
Joe Bozik

member since: 7/14/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Dimage Z1 is very easy to handle. We bought it for the 10x zoom to use on our cruises. I have enjoyed learning how to use the macro. It's a very easy camera to use and takes magnificent photos.
7/14/2005 8:33:59 PM
 
Will L. Hughes

member since: 1/8/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
I love my Minolta Dimage Z1. For the price you can't beat it.
6/29/2005 9:04:58 PM
 
Melissa D. Bowman

member since: 6/19/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is the best one that I have had yet. Takes ex pictures and has a very good shutter speed on it.
6/19/2005 5:25:45 PM
 
Malia K. Chong

member since: 6/10/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like my camera. The colors are really accurate. But after I bought my 35mm Pentax camera I am starting to regret the fact that I don't have manual focus.
6/10/2005 5:04:51 PM
 
Dipu K

member since: 6/2/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The camera is very good for the category and price that it sells. It gives a good response and have lot of manual controls. Satisfied with the camera. Cons - feels brittle on hand. Lowlight focussing is bad.
6/3/2005 8:22:23 AM
 
BEVERLY SHADLEY

member since: 5/23/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
ESPECIALLY FOR BEGINERS
5/23/2005 10:43:44 AM
 
David  S. Phillips

member since: 10/6/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The best of the 3 digital cameras I have owned.
5/22/2005 4:15:09 PM
 
Tom  G. Grob

member since: 4/13/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Sturdy little work camera. Has held to up the abuse only an insurance adjuster can dish out.
4/13/2005 10:22:53 AM
 
Rita Smith
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Rita
Rita's Gallery

member since: 9/22/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Not the worst I have used, not the best...
4/5/2005 11:03:23 AM
 
Vera L. Berard

member since: 3/19/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good for amateurs photographers. Good price and excellent zoom. Unfortunately a low resolution, but still take a good pictures.
3/19/2005 7:14:27 PM
 
arden sanford

member since: 3/18/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
stylish great zoom lots of features great value poor low light imaging
3/19/2005 12:31:57 AM
 
Sachin HR Bharadwaj

member since: 2/20/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like the zoom and its handiness I hate the night performance
2/21/2005 1:17:19 AM
 
Sachin HR Bharadwaj

member since: 2/20/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like the range of lens (zoom) and its semi professional features like PASM modes etc. I dislike its performance in the night
2/20/2005 8:48:52 AM
 
Monchai Triwiboonvanit

member since: 2/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Its features are incredibly comprehensive!!!
2/16/2005 2:21:24 AM
 
Monchai Triwiboonvanit

member since: 2/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Its features are incredibly comprehensive!!!
2/16/2005 2:21:00 AM
 
Jason Gehrman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/12/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
its easy to use for the first timers who want to take "professional shots". It has a manual control so you can set up your shot how you want it. The only problem so far is low level light photos at times and it has a slight lens distortion...it tends to bend your picture a little on the edges..but not too much
2/12/2005 7:44:17 AM
 
Shane McMillan

member since: 7/15/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great camera, just a odd size. The features are great, it would however be better if it was made of metal and not plastic. I can't say that I have any complaints however. The shutter lags a but and the action shots get all messed up, but I don't use my digital for action that much anyways. Pretty great little camera that has survived some abuse.
2/8/2005 8:51:18 PM
 
Greg A. Hatfield

member since: 2/7/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like my camera, the zoom is awesome and I love the different settings. I wish it had a little more of a guide as to how to use it and what all the different things meant. I'm an amateur so...
2/7/2005 8:52:12 AM
 
William Beal

member since: 2/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
does not auto focus as well as i would like on dificult subjects.
2/5/2005 11:37:16 PM
 
Belinda Garcia

member since: 1/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm pretty new to Photography, so for me this camera is great. I can get good shots of the boys out on the Football field and it takes great still shots.
1/27/2005 2:30:29 PM
 
Mike Fiorito

member since: 1/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
great camera, very versatile
1/24/2005 8:08:28 PM
 
Wendy Hemssems

member since: 1/22/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx
1/23/2005 12:25:31 PM
 
Claudia J. McCarthy

member since: 1/18/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really like this camera. The zoom is terrific. The features are numerous and easy to use. It doesn't drain batteries like other digitals I've used. It's great!
1/18/2005 12:23:47 PM
 
Kathleen Paton

member since: 7/13/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my second digital camera. It has a 10x optical zoom, less of delay than my other (Olympus C-2100) and is not as heavy. So far, it is serving me well.
1/13/2005 3:27:21 PM
 
Dana Cox

member since: 12/31/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
For the money, it's great. Fast picture setting, great zoom, small, easy to use.
1/5/2005 1:29:14 PM
 
Rohant Shyam

member since: 11/5/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
amazing
12/30/2004 9:57:46 PM
 
Andrew Youatt

member since: 12/30/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Doesn't do nearly as well with dark pictures, but wonderfully versitile if you know how to use it.
12/30/2004 10:15:35 AM
 
Path J. Snyder

member since: 12/10/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Z1 is a great entry level camera for beginners. The buttons and menu are easily accessible and convenient. I also like the fact that I can use manual settings. The quality of the photographs is fantastic for a 3.1 megapixel camera. I produce very nice 8x10 prints. Only drawback is the stability for dark shots. It has a hard time focusing.
12/10/2004 9:49:52 AM
 
Kai Eiselein
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/21/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Seems to work pretty well. Have had only 1 day, time will tell.
11/22/2004 9:02:54 PM
 
Amber Bays

member since: 11/10/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
For a point and shoot, I love the zoom and its very user friendly. I have problems with the lens cap falling off though and I'm ready to upgrade.
11/10/2004 4:22:23 PM
 
Melissa M

member since: 10/25/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a fairly decent camera. It has excellent zoom as well as the ability to use the camera in manual mode to set your own shutter speed and apature. However you have limited apatures and shutter speeds to choose from. The camera does take crisp clear photos and does surprisingly well in "Auto" mode.
10/25/2004 10:36:31 PM
 
Lynn D. McDonald

member since: 10/21/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Wish someone would have told me how many batteries it was going to go through. Total battery hog. But I've sold photos taken with it so I guess I shouldn't complain.
10/21/2004 8:03:16 AM
 
Chris Hansen

member since: 10/14/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent medium range camera for a digital enthusiast. Great shutter and f-stop range, plenty of manual features, and still small in size. This is my 2nd camera and I love it. Perfect for what I'm doing until I'm ready to step up to the big leagues.
10/18/2004 6:33:57 AM
 
Susan Helms

member since: 9/16/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it. It has been great for taking snaps of my family.
9/18/2004 6:13:55 PM
 
kathy wolfe
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/10/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just got it, and really haven't had the opportunity to play that much. I like the zoom capability and the fast shutter so far.
8/30/2004 6:35:14 AM
 
Fredda  Sutton

member since: 8/22/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera, it is very user friendly. There is only one thing I would change about it if I had the power and it would be to move the zoom. It is easy activated when you hold the camera.
8/22/2004 9:04:24 PM
 
Bobby Harvison

member since: 8/12/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Fast good zoom pictures could be better. bought it for action and dark shots.
8/12/2004 9:23:45 AM
 
Gerald Greenwood

member since: 8/8/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent feature set and very good quality pictures for the price. Highly recomended for anyone on a budget who wants to take quality pictures and be able to have the flexibilty of manual settings.
8/8/2004 3:06:53 PM
 
LISA L. HOWARD
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/3/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I JUST PURCHASED THIS A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO . REALLY DONT KNOW THAT MUCH. THE REASON I GOT THIS WAS THAT MY OTHER DIGITAL WAS GETTING SLOW ON THE SHUTTER BUTTON . I LIKE THIS ONE BECAUSE IT HAD MORE MEGAPIXELS AND THE SHUTTER ON IT WAS FASTER.
7/28/2004 10:50:50 AM
 
Vladimir Janakov

member since: 6/22/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I changed from F200 to Z1. The reasons - because I'm not so advanced to see/need the difference in the lences of Z1/F200 (the GT - the ones now the Z2 has) and because I wanted to experiment a bit with the 10x zoom. I like the Z1.
7/9/2004 8:32:56 AM
 
Donna Barnes

member since: 7/8/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the 10X optical zoom and macro. I am still having trouble getting good pics in low light settings. There are many features I haven't really used much yet.
7/8/2004 2:00:03 PM
 
Cesar Velazquez

member since: 11/30/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the 10x zoom and the fast autofocus. Very nice camera.
6/13/2004 6:34:50 PM
 
sohail irfan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/3/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
very good with optical zoom though mega pixels are just 3,2 hope i will be able to buy more mega pixels in future
6/13/2004 2:52:54 PM
 
James Bowman

member since: 6/13/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Mamiya RB 6 x 7 is a good studio camera. Very Flexable and reliable. As with all cameras, find you a trustworthy & honest camera tech to keep your equipment maintained.
6/13/2004 7:39:55 AM
 
Steve Howard

member since: 6/8/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great range of features, handling and ease of use. Great zoom range (38mm-380 equivalent) and lens quality. I also use a Minolta wide angle converter (28mm equivalent) and a Raynox DCR-250 macro converter.
6/8/2004 6:03:45 AM
 
Leif Väremo

member since: 6/5/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A wonderful camera whith 10 x zoom and all the manual settings that I want. It also has a macro limit of only 4 cm. Some pictures however have purple fringing. Overall I love this camera.
6/5/2004 12:57:00 PM
 
Ian A. Collier

member since: 3/16/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love it love it love it. Maybe the z2 is better, but for the price now you can do no wrong with the marvellous z1. Check out the gallery of photos here taken with it to see how good it can get!
6/4/2004 3:14:41 AM
 
April Bryant
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/19/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just got the camera but I love it. Its my first digital and my first "real" camera.
5/19/2004 7:20:53 AM
 
Victoria L. Segura

member since: 8/7/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It took some getting used to but I am loving it now.
5/4/2004 4:54:45 PM
 
Michelle M. Tabor

member since: 3/23/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I did extensive research on cameras like this one. But overall I got this one because of the lag time between pushing the button and actually taking the photo was the best in the market. It's great!
4/29/2004 7:04:57 AM
 
Corri L. Christensen

member since: 4/23/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I was initially very pleased with this camera. My only complaint would be the (over)use of AA batteries.
4/23/2004 12:15:32 PM
 
Ria H. Hayden

member since: 3/21/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It has an endless list of options and takes wonderful photos.
3/21/2004 11:03:17 AM
 
Noel P. Hansen

member since: 3/14/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
for being a lower-end($350)camera, it takes awesome quality pics and is capable of taking great pictures from auto to fully manual. It is small and stylish and an all-around great digital camera for an amatuer. The only thing that I don't like about this camera is that I am stuck with 10x optical and 4x digital zoom, as far as I know, there are no lense attachments for this cam.
3/14/2004 8:33:14 AM
 
Damon Elliott

member since: 3/12/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Only one bad thing to say...Minolta doesn't offer many MINOLTA accesories. Besides that everything is great.
3/12/2004 5:12:33 PM
 
Damon Elliott

member since: 3/12/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Only one bad thing to say...Minolta doesn't offer many MINOLTA accesories. Besides that everything is great.
3/12/2004 5:11:36 PM
 
Dianna Townsend

member since: 2/25/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just purchased this camera last week so I'm still learning but I can tell ya the Zoom is excellent and its much better than my Canon Powershot A10
3/3/2004 5:27:40 AM
 
Kenvin Pinardy

member since: 3/1/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
sharp and easy to use
3/2/2004 11:42:27 PM
 
Cristina Boada

member since: 2/2/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera is alright but not one of my favorites. It is a personal thing I just don't like digital cameras to much because they will never shoot like SLR cameras and the ones that do are above and beyond my price range. But really this is not to bad a camera.
2/12/2004 7:06:02 PM
 
Maria Luk

member since: 2/7/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
perfect camera for its price... easy to use.. highly recommended for a non-perfesional that loves photography
2/7/2004 6:00:15 PM
 
Cathy MS Meehan

member since: 1/24/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Brilliant. Better with the 10X optical zoom which gives me the equivilant of the 35mm 300mm zoom lens.
2/7/2004 11:10:42 AM
 
Cindy M. Schneider

member since: 1/30/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the 10X Zoom. The ability to zoom gives more options for creating a great photo. I like the auto-focus. I also like being able choose the settings manually. I like that I can add a wide angle lense. This Camera is easy to use, has great functions. What I don't like.....Everyone wants to use it! My whole family begs to let them take pics with it because they like the quality of the photos.
1/30/2004 6:54:18 PM
 
Debby Hathaway

member since: 1/27/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I received the camera as a gift and love it. It is 3.2 megapixel and 10X. I haven't enlarged bigger than 8X10 but even that big gives really good clear pictures. I haven't even begun to tap into all the different options I have.
1/27/2004 2:35:51 PM
 
Dan Brown

member since: 1/26/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great beginner camera with full manual control
1/26/2004 7:19:29 AM
 
Manohar Awasthi

member since: 1/22/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This has all the features of SLR camera. Has given quite good results till date.
1/22/2004 10:14:18 AM
 
Kelly A. Sellers

member since: 1/16/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great camera for the price. Some manual control would make it a great camera at any price.
1/16/2004 9:15:32 AM
 
Larry O. Campbell

member since: 12/5/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Dimage Z1 Camera is by far the best digital camera that I have had the opportunity to use. Its 40X mega zoom is effective for distances of over a hundred feet with clarity upon zoom in on the computer and for macro work it is definitely not outclassed by any of the other cameras. I highly reccomend this camera for amateur and professional. It will replace most standard 35 mm cameras and though there are still some shots that are necessary with 35mm, the digital is definitely the photography of the future.
12/5/2003 2:35:41 PM
 

114 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Dimage Z1 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.