Dimage Z1 Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Are we really her...
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage Z1 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 3.2 megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 8 x 10 prints and medium-quality prints up to 11 x 14
  • 10x optical plus 4x digital zoom (for 40x total)
  • Includes 16 MB Secure Digital card; also compatible with MMC
    cards
  • Unique SLR-style; fast f2.8 - f3.5 lens allowing fast shutter
    speeds for sport or natural-light photography; 2-second start-up time
  • Powered by 4 AA batteries (alkalines included); connects with
    Macs and PCs via USB 1.1

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 114 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kevin Burns 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2008 10:59:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2008 10:59:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2008 10:59:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2008 10:59:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2008 10:59:18 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
OK now that I have had the camera for a while the blue fringe around the tree limbs is really not that bad. For a 3mp camera the images are quite awesome. The lag time is very fast and really one don't even notice the lag time at all. People do say the lens does make loud popping noises when zooming in and out, but after a few months the popping sound go's away and is really quite smooth. Image quality is sharp and I have never had an exposure problem. The camera feels solid and is not a heavy camera at all. The only problem I had was the switch finder button broke and was only a 50.00 repair with about a 2 week fix time.
I won a International insect photo contest with the camera and won a 635.00 prize in the form of Adobe photo shop CS2 full version back in 2006.
The link to the site and my image shot with this camera. I was in super macro mode with a Vivitar +1-+10 variable macro lens. I give it a 4 1/2 only because the camera is a bit to light and that some times makes it easy to rotate the camera when pressing the shutter button. I have put some weight on the bottom to add weight.
http://www.strangeattractor.co.uk/pestival/photocomp.html

11/20/2008 10:59:18 PM
 
Marsha A. Carney
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/2/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 10:18:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 10:18:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 10:18:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 10:18:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 10:18:22 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My Minolta DimageZ1 takes good macro pics and decent everyday pics. It doesn't have a good zoom.
7/2/2006 10:18:22 PM
 
Kieran  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 1:30:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 1:30:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 1:30:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 1:30:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 1:30:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I find the Minolta Dimage Z1 to be a great digital camera. Obviously purchased on a low budget, it offers great features including manual control and manual focus. Although it has now been replaced by newer models and has a fairly low resolution of 3.2 megapixals, it still works fine for me. It certinly works well for close up/macro shots, although the screen could be a little bigger, as its not always obvious from the on screen preview that a shot it out of focus or wrongly exposed.
6/7/2006 1:30:33 PM
 
Kim Jenkins
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 10:20:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 10:20:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 10:20:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 10:20:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 10:20:06 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Since I am just getting started at this, I really don't know how it compares to others. I do like it though!
5/17/2006 10:20:06 PM
 
Dennis E. Akins
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/8/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 7:47:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 7:47:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 7:47:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 7:47:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 7:47:37 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This has been an awesome camera. It is simple to use and produces some nice photos. The only draw back is the low resolution of 3.2. I have dropped it, gotten it wet, and it still produces decent pictures
5/11/2006 7:47:37 PM
 
Kevin M. Margason 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 11:23:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 11:23:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 11:23:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 11:23:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 11:23:09 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great for taking shots outdoors. Does not take good low-light shots. The zoom function is great.
5/3/2006 11:23:09 AM
 
Wanda Johnson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 3:06:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 3:06:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 3:06:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 3:06:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 3:06:38 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I use my digital camera more than my film camera. I am fairly satisfied with my pictures, but I do see others made with Nikons that appear more professional. You have to wonder if it's all due to the photographer or the camera.
4/27/2006 3:06:38 PM
 
Karen Hartman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 8:19:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 8:19:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 8:19:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 8:19:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 8:19:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For a point-and-shoot style of camera I really like this one. It has an awesome zoom and is terrific for focusing in on moving subjects.
4/27/2006 8:19:55 AM
 
Alannah Virtanen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/24/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 6:16:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 6:16:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 6:16:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 6:16:13 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 6:16:13 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I love two things about this camera: the colours are fantastic, and the 10x optical zoom is a great feature. In most cases, Its easy to take pictures with it and most turn out great. Two primary downsides however exist. First: the focusing (I miss having easy control like in my SLR, plus if its low light or action it has difficulties focusing). This can be partially off-set if I have the flash on, but often some of the features I would like to capture (ie night sky-line) are lost. This leads to the second - overall, using it in dark/low light is not that effective for the reason noted.
4/24/2006 6:16:13 AM
 
Madison Mueller
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/14/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 4:44:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 4:44:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 4:44:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 4:44:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 4:44:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great beginners camera for 3.2 megapixel!
4/15/2006 4:44:14 AM
 
Stephanie Callaway 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 11:19:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 11:19:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 11:19:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 11:19:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 11:19:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is fantastic, however, slightly outdated with only 3.2mp. It does have a 10X optical zoom which I have grown to love. I have recently replaced it with the Canon Digial Rebel XT.
4/5/2006 11:19:05 AM
 

First 10 of 114 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Dimage Z1 Digital Camera from Amazon.com