BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Optio 555 Digital Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

My Version
View photos created with this camera

The Optio 555 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5.0 MegaPixel CCD
  • Ultra lightweight aluminum alloy body - Weighs only 7.2 oz
  • Voice recording mode - audio capability that rivals stand alone
    audio recording devices
  • Unlimited recording in Movie mode with sound
  • LCD monitor bright enough for use in direct sunlight

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 12 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Toni Allen

member since: 1/1/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
A great digital starter camera that was within my budget at the time. I have just upgraded to a digi slr because I am so used to the control that slr offers, but the quality of this pentax is superb and taught me so much about how digital works. The macro fascility is great but the focus side of it frustrating because it often spends so long searching for the subject.
2/14/2006 10:40:12 AM
 
Brian Spooner

member since: 1/26/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great point and shot camera.
1/26/2006 10:05:15 AM
 
Ur Bagz On Line

member since: 10/29/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
i love it and i really like the options and functions in this camera
10/29/2005 2:27:53 PM
 
Francesco Viola

member since: 9/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pleae have a look here: http://www.steves-digicams.com/2003_reviews/optio555.html
9/25/2005 5:57:59 AM
 
Valentin Sprinceana
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This review is for the Pentax Optio50 digicam, which is a very easy to use camera. It has manual controls, but my experience tought me to leave it mostly on the "Simple" mode and the internal computer will adjust it properly for you, in the most situations, especially at the parties, in low light environment. I tested it for close-ups too and it made great photos, with outstanding detail.
For the movie mode, make sure you get enough light, as there is no flash during video recording (that's the only reason it didn't get a full 5 stars).
Thinking about AA batteries, SD memory, 5 Megapixels, x3 optical zoom, with 32 to 96 mm focal length (making it fairly good for group photos in small places), possibility of - 2.0 to +2.0 manual exposure adjustment, possibility to take 3 photos in a row at 3 different EV values with only one shutter click, allowing you to choose which one you like the most(!) and you have a great value for the $200US you pay !
I am very satisfied with Optio50 and recommend it 100%.
5/17/2005 8:05:58 AM
 
Giselle C. Behrens

member since: 9/11/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
the pentax optio 555 digital camera i the best one i have used yet. it has from manual focus to auto focus, landscape pictures to super macro pictues. the colors are amazing and the quality too. the battery last up to 400 shots, which is essential to me. it has 5.0 megapixels. i recomened it 100% to those users whom enjoy taking snap happy and professional pictures.
4/13/2005 7:39:25 PM
 
William E. Long

member since: 1/20/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's a sweet little camera. Check out the website and compare it to any other camera in it's price range :o)
6/20/2004 8:37:16 AM
 
Bruce Youb

member since: 3/23/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great little camera. Takes pictures like the big boys but fits in your pocket.
4/27/2004 7:55:15 PM
 
Bruce Youb

member since: 3/23/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very cool little camera. Does all the Big cameras do but it is not an SLR. The best feature is you can take it with you all the time as it fits in your pocket.
4/27/2004 7:50:59 PM
 
Shannon M. Henry

member since: 4/23/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is virtually an easy camara to use even if you are a "beginner". It has many different ways to take pictures, which are simple. It also has many different capabilities for the Advanced photographer offering light adjustments, white balances. It is a camara that offers the best of both worlds. About the only thing I wish is the knowledge to understand all of the advanced qualities of this camara. It is small and very light which is a plus, especially for a single mother like myself who only has so much she can carry. It's wonderful to slip into my purse if need be in case a "picture oppurtunity" arises. I am extrememly happy with the quality of the photos also. It has a wonderful zoom capacity which I've never before experienced.
4/23/2004 8:23:29 AM
 
Steven Maniscalco

member since: 4/5/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
For a compact camera, I am very happy with it.
4/5/2004 10:54:51 AM
 

First 10 of 12 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Optio 555 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.