Canonet QL-17 G-III 35mm Rangefinder Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Rangefinder Cameras

Out From The  Lig...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Strannik  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 9:58:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 9:58:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 9:58:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 9:58:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 9:58:27 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera! Well loaded with usefull features, including paralax correction and shutter priority. Dedicated flush which never gives red eyes. Silent, no mirror shake. At one time I owned three of them. I have only two now. By picture quality and features I would price this camera as $200-$300 worth (at least). I bought mine ones for $10 to $15. I have Yashica FX3 and Minolta X700 SLRs but have stopped using them altogether since I have these beatiful rangefinders. It is also esthetically peasing to use them.
2/8/2005 9:58:27 AM
 
Alfonso Gautier 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:32:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:32:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:32:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:32:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 5:32:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It has that classic look, simple to use and has a great lens.
9/14/2004 5:32:34 PM
 
Edward L. Robinson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 6:42:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 6:42:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 6:42:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 6:42:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 6:42:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
own (2)QL-17's very quiet rangefinders, tack sharp F1.7 40mm lens, I shoot wedding candids (b&w)and some available light shots during the ceremony. These cameras were often called "poor man's leicas" made in the 60's & 70's, these cameras offered "quick-loading" film system, hence the QL labeling, fine optics and workmanship for a fixed lens rangefinder. These cameras have almost a "cult" following nowadays. I don't consider myself a collector because I use these cameras regularly.
12/31/2003 6:42:38 PM
 
Daniel Valdez 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2003 2:06:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2003 2:06:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2003 2:06:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2003 2:06:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2003 2:06:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is very portable and has features that are not available in ANY current camera for under $500. It has a 43mm f1.7 lens that takes good pix. Unfortunately, these cameras are about 20 years old. Good luck finding one in good condition.
12/5/2003 2:06:26 PM
 
Dan Blumenthal 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2003 8:15:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2003 8:15:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2003 8:15:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2003 8:15:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2003 8:15:53 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This Yard sale special is a terrific picture taker (within the liits of it's fixed lens) Great when the quiet and bright focus view of a rangefinder is needed (i.e. school events, etc.)
11/28/2003 8:15:53 AM
 

5 Reviews