Photosmart 945 Digital Camera


HP (Hewlett-Packard)

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Garnet Dahlia
View photos created with this camera

The Photosmart 945 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5.3 megapixel sensor captures enough image information to make photo-quality 11x17-inch prints
  • 8x optical zoom and 7x digital zoom
  • Large 2-inch LCD screen; Direct photo printing allows you to attach directly to an HP Photosmart printer or select HP all-in-one to print photos
  • Store images on Secure Digital (SD) memory card (32 MB card included)
  • Powered by 4 AA batteries (alkalines included, NiMH or photo-lithium recommended)

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 78 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Annie 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/20/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 10:28:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 10:28:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 10:28:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 10:28:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 10:28:57 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A wonderful camera for beginners. This was my first camera. It is very easy to use, and takes amazing pictures. There are no confusing settings or buttons.
8/3/2007 10:28:57 AM
 
H. William Lewis 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2007 6:38:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2007 6:38:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2007 6:38:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2007 6:38:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2007 6:38:38 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This review is after shooting around 4000 photos with the 945 since 2/2005. The first one had a problem after 6 months and HP replaced it with no questions asked. The replacement camera has now close to 3000 shots on it and is working like a champ. Besides buying the adapter to use my Coken P filters, I have made an adapter to use my 20 foot air cable release. (email me for information) The only problem so far is that I found out my slave triggers for off camera flash don't fire fast enough to be used. I am working on that problem. At the time for the $325 I paid for it, I couldn't have done better.
4/15/2007 6:38:38 AM
 
Linda D. Brown 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 2:41:51 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 2:41:51 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 2:41:51 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 2:41:51 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 2:41:51 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Ihave gone throug 5 cameras in less than 3 years and they now refuse to repace this one. Work great for 500 - 750 pictures then start clicking inside and colour goes crazy - don't wste your money - service and reliability are horrid!!
7/24/2006 2:41:51 PM
 
Stephen W. Anderson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:23:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:23:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:23:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:23:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:23:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
for the money i love the options .I am never disapointed with it for the experance i have in this aria
6/26/2006 8:23:38 PM
 
Janni Pedersen 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:23:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:23:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:23:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:23:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:23:51 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The camera is okay for a beginner. And I was really happy about it when I got it. But now I want a camera that can do more. But for the price, this is a good camera for a beginner.
6/20/2006 11:23:51 AM
 
Leigh A. Cossano 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 10:12:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 10:12:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 10:12:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 10:12:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 10:12:20 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It takes beautiful color photos. The Bust mode is not that fast. Tha 8x optical zoom is really nice for close up photos.
6/10/2006 10:12:20 AM
 
George Reimonn 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 3:08:03 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 3:08:03 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 3:08:03 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 3:08:03 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 3:08:03 AM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
The camera broke twice-- the sensor died after 3 months. On the replacement camera, the zoom control jammed after a year. Certain types of lighting create strange horizontal lines on the image. Like most EVFs of that time, the camera can be very slow to focus, even in bright light. I have to use my old film SLR to take action photos of my kids.
5/9/2006 3:08:03 AM
 
Todd B. Watson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:41:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:41:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:41:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:41:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:41:50 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It was a present....it gets the job done, although they do apear to be fragile...considering this is my second one
4/26/2006 7:41:50 PM
 
Malissia L. Baun 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 11:01:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 11:01:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 11:01:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 11:01:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 11:01:16 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my newest camera , have had it for two weeks not and geting good control of it with out a manual.... I just love the macro on it so cool. this camera has it's little qurks. trying to focus is a pain, shutter clicks twice for some reason. and the red light is bothersum. still learning it, though , lissa
4/22/2006 11:01:16 PM
 
William A. Turner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 7:26:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 7:26:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 7:26:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 7:26:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 7:26:55 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Our first experience with a digital camera from a medium-format Mamiya. The HP945 is an amazing, simple, capable camera with an Excellent lens, fantastic capabilities, and ability to capture correct colors. From our experience with Kodak Portra and Fuji Velvia films, we were shocked at how decently the HP could represent in such an inexpensive unit. For our first foray into the "toy" market, we were hooked!
4/20/2006 7:26:55 PM
 
Tania S. Taekema
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 11:45:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 11:45:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 11:45:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 11:45:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 11:45:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. Of course, it is my first 'real' camera, and you know what they say about first loves. It is easy to use, never talks back, and as long as I use it properly, delivers beautiful pictures.
2/16/2006 11:45:06 AM
 

First 10 of 78 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Photosmart 945 Digital Camera from Amazon.com