M3 35mm Rangefinder Camera


Leica

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Rangefinder Cameras

Crawfish Nibblies...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Daniel M. Kays 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 4:37:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 4:37:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 4:37:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 4:37:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 4:37:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recently inherited my father-in-law's Leica M3. He let me look at it once, but never let me touch it before he passed away. I was welcome to use any other camera he owned. But he made payments on it shortly after he was married, every week, until it was his. It was his dream camera, and I am honored and awed that he left it to me. It is a 1957 vintage, with original box, manual, and a fairly complete set of accessories including the light meter, and two lenses, several filters and the original manual. It is a collector's dream camera. I will use it for special occasions where I can control what happen to it. Otherwise, It will stay safely put away. I may let my sons look at it but not touch. So far I have shot two rolls of film through it. The photographs were very sharp. Thank you Pappy. I will love it like you did. If there are any negatives I can think of about this camera is they are as follows. first you have to remove the entire bottom and take out the takeup real to load the camera. And second, because of it's age it is fragil. There are parts that used organic glue that can break down over time. So you have to treat the camera delicately. On the other hand, If anything did happen to the camera, there are people with the knowledge and equipment needed, to fix most problems that occur with this vintage of camera. I see many years of beautiful photos left for her to shoot.
6/29/2006 4:37:10 AM
 
Joel Benguigui 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 5:21:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 5:21:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 5:21:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 5:21:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 5:21:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best leica ever made, and the best rangefinder! clear view, light weight and tough making are the main assets of this leica.
4/4/2006 5:21:05 AM
 
Jairo Betancourt Álvarez 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:22:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:22:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:22:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:22:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 6:22:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is a lovable Camera.
11/23/2005 6:22:15 AM
 
Kenny  Allyn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 3:34:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 3:34:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 3:34:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 3:34:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 3:34:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A "classic"
3/7/2005 3:34:13 PM
 
Zoran Z. Berdjan 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:10:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:10:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:10:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:10:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:10:14 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I inherit this old camera but I think that it is not in a good condition. I barely used it so I can not tell much about it.
9/15/2004 12:10:14 PM
 
Patrick J. Carosone 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 5:35:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 5:35:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 5:35:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 5:35:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 5:35:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
What can I say!
3/21/2004 5:35:27 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 8:09:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 8:09:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 8:09:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 8:09:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 8:09:57 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought my Leica M3 in 1960 and don't believe I'll ever part with it. Its design is now a little dated but its build quality is superb. I have collected a small number of lenses over the years and have found their sharpness and resolution beyond compare.
11/15/2003 8:09:57 PM
 

7 Reviews