F65 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

The Silent Moth
View photos created with this camera

The F65 35mm SLR Camera

Features:

  • Easy operation with exposure mode select dial and command dial with large top deck LCD panel
  • [AUTO] mode for fully automatic control
  • Cross-ranged, five-area AF system
  • Choice of Dynamic AF and Closest-subject-priority Dynamic AF
  • Focus Tracking with Lock-On™
  • Built-in AF-Assist Illuminator
  • 3D Matrix Metering (with D-/G-type Nikkor lens)
  • Center-Weighted Metering (in [M] mode)
  • Four exposure modes ([P], [S], [A], [M])







Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


24 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ken  G. Helferich 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 10:31:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 10:31:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 10:31:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 10:31:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 10:31:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Earlier this year when I retired I decided to get back into photography. At the time I had two Canon T70's (which I love) and a small Kodak point and shoot digital. I went on Amazon.com and searched for "NEW" 35mm slr's. That search took me to a site that had a brand new F65d (overseas model) that came with the battery grip a soft case and a Tamron 28-110mm AF lens for $199.00. Upon further searching I found a Tamron 105-300mm zoom for another $100.00. Everything was brand new and in the original boxes for a total of just over $300.00. It's a great little camera with multiple program and manual controls.
10/15/2010 10:31:59 PM
 
Israel Freitas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/29/2007
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 2:45:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 2:45:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 2:45:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 2:45:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 2:45:55 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I think it's a great camera when you use all resorces. I've done some good photos with that.

Israel de Freitas

1/4/2008 2:45:55 PM
 
rathan  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 5:04:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 5:04:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 5:04:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 5:04:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 5:04:22 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
good.
8/28/2006 5:04:22 AM
 
rathan  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:58:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:58:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:58:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:58:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:58:09 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
very good if u use all functions.
8/28/2006 4:58:09 AM
 
Willard Andre Hutt 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:03:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:03:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:03:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:03:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:03:53 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good starter camer but needs more features. Works great with my supertelephoto lenses and Black and White Film.
5/25/2006 8:03:53 AM
 
Babul Siddique 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 4:42:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 4:42:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 4:42:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 4:42:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 4:42:56 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
so about nikon F65 is good also. i done several wedding contract by this camera and lense 28-80mm f3.5-f5.6 and 70-300mm f4.5... the quality i got is much better than i expected. easy use, strong little bit, if any one use high performance lences with this Niokn F65 he/she will get great result
5/1/2006 4:42:56 AM
 
Alison  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 10:00:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 10:00:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 10:00:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 10:00:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 10:00:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
An excellent beginning SLR camera. A little heavy when compared to a point-and-shoot but the pictures are worth it.

It has TONS of features, in my opinion. I bought it four years ago and still use it regularly.

1/2/2006 10:00:16 PM
 
Richard Sanderson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 5:58:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 5:58:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 5:58:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 5:58:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 5:58:46 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is excellent. I have read that it doesn't have many "features", but what features do you need over and above the ones it has. It has a nice range of presets, aperture and shutter priority and full manual, allows full TTL flash (I use a Vivitar and it works a treat), depth of field preview. Yeah, it could have a better fps rating, but hey, frame your shot! It could have a faster flash sync speed, but overall, this is an excellent camera. Features don't make for good photographs
8/15/2005 5:58:46 AM
 
Suman Chatterjee 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:25:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:25:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:25:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:25:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:25:02 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
May be it does not contain many advanced features,but it meets just what I need.
6/24/2005 10:25:02 AM
 
Tom Walderman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 5:03:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 5:03:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 5:03:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 5:03:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 5:03:11 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This has been my first ever, slr camera. Easy to use, produces great pictures and doesnt cost a bomb to purchase brand new.
6/13/2005 5:03:11 AM
 
Estelle S. VanderHeide
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 9:25:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 9:25:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 9:25:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 9:25:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 9:25:23 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am fairly new to SLR cameras so I can't really say anything negative about this one. I do wish someone would have told me I would grow out of it fast though. I would definitely like a camera with more options.
1/24/2005 9:25:23 AM
 
Marisa I. Miles 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2005 7:15:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2005 7:15:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2005 7:15:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2005 7:15:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2005 7:15:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
easy to use, LCD screen is easy to understand and read. Needs an alternative sync for flash besides a hot shoe and a connection for a sync cord for the shutter.
1/6/2005 7:15:03 AM
 
Michelle Ms Abbott 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 3:24:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 3:24:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 3:24:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 3:24:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 3:24:33 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great multi purpose starter camera
7/6/2004 3:24:33 PM
 
kelly pot
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/13/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 9:52:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 9:52:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 9:52:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 9:52:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 9:52:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great for Amatuer photography and just starting out.
6/22/2004 9:52:20 PM
 
Malcolm  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 6:47:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 6:47:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 6:47:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 6:47:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 6:47:13 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to use features and consistant results. Also, not too expensive.
5/23/2004 6:47:13 PM
 
Mitesh Desai 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2004 10:56:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2004 10:56:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2004 10:56:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2004 10:56:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2004 10:56:12 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent SLR for beginners. Have been using it for 3 years. Even if I move to Digital Nikon D70, I will keep this traditional film Nikon F65 through out my life.
5/15/2004 10:56:12 AM
 
Lynda Kuit 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 9:02:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 9:02:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 9:02:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 9:02:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 9:02:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great so far - still discovering all the assets of the camera.
3/25/2004 9:02:42 PM
 
Peter M. Wheatley 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 8:45:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 8:45:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 8:45:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 8:45:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2004 8:45:05 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The F65 is a very light, versatile and relatively compact SLR. It's very easy operation and predictable balanced metering make it an excellent entry-level SLR for someone like me who is in the early experintation stage of photography. Very few photographs I have taken with this camera have not turned out as expected or hoped. Some noticeable drawbacks of this particular camera are that it doesn't capture fast action as well as I had hoped. While technique has much to do with successful action photography, I find the 2.5 fps to be somewhat limiting at times. Focussing quickly on a moving target can sometimes be a challenge. However, for most other photographic applications, this equipment is more than satisfactory - especially for the price. I purchased this camera to have access to my Father's lens collection - many of which I would not have been able to justify the purchase of this early in my amateur photographic carreer. I found he was also able to provide a great deal of valuable guidance, already knowing the features and potential limitations of the equipment. When I purchased the camera, I had originally purchased an f 55. I quickly upgraded to the f 65 upon learning the f 55 would not operate an automatic TTL Nikon flash. The upgrade meant a more durable metal lens ring, which, after a few outings changing lenses repeatedly, turned out to be another good reason for the switch. On a scale of overall versatility, I rate the camera at a 7 out of 10. However, on the value scale, it's more like a 9.
1/28/2004 8:45:05 PM
 
Buddy Purugganan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 5:49:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 5:49:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 5:49:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 5:49:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 5:49:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have nothing but praise for this amazing lightweight camera! I hope it will not be "PHASED OUT" like the earlier Nikon auto-focus 35mm SLR cameras ( N60,N70 now turning into fossils!!!). Please inform NIKONUSA not to treat these new breed ( Nikon N65,N75 and others )like another "vehicle" about to be crushed in the "CAMERA JUNKPILES"! They are among the best available in the 35mm entry-level followers.
1/1/2004 5:49:45 PM
 
Steven Dudley 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 2:00:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 2:00:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 2:00:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 2:00:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 2:00:54 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very easy to use, expansive features and superior quality photos - using the 3D matrix metering feature.
1/1/2004 2:00:54 AM
 
Dean hurley 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 4:47:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 4:47:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 4:47:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 4:47:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 4:47:26 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
needs a cable release
12/23/2003 4:47:26 PM
 
Dean hurley 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 4:44:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 4:44:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 4:44:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 4:44:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 4:44:38 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
good camera but needs a cable release
12/23/2003 4:44:38 PM
 
pix & pixels 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 1:01:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 1:01:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 1:01:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 1:01:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 1:01:44 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Our very first purchase,and I think it is the best deal ever,NIKON F65 35MM was recommended to us by our tutor who taught us the basics of photography. Photography was unaware of our interest before we bought our very first camera.
12/21/2003 1:01:44 AM
 
Benoit Livernoche 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 9:43:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 9:43:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 9:43:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 9:43:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 9:43:42 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I think there are all of what I need as a beginner. What I've been told before, is exactly what I got, so I don't think I could have been more informed. If I would have had more money, I would have bought someting more solid (like the F-80).
12/17/2003 9:43:42 PM
 

24 Reviews