F65 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

The Silent Moth
View photos created with this camera

The F65 35mm SLR Camera

Features:

  • Easy operation with exposure mode select dial and command dial with large top deck LCD panel
  • [AUTO] mode for fully automatic control
  • Cross-ranged, five-area AF system
  • Choice of Dynamic AF and Closest-subject-priority Dynamic AF
  • Focus Tracking with Lock-On™
  • Built-in AF-Assist Illuminator
  • 3D Matrix Metering (with D-/G-type Nikkor lens)
  • Center-Weighted Metering (in [M] mode)
  • Four exposure modes ([P], [S], [A], [M])







Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 24 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ken  G. Helferich 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 10:31:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 10:31:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 10:31:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 10:31:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 10:31:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Earlier this year when I retired I decided to get back into photography. At the time I had two Canon T70's (which I love) and a small Kodak point and shoot digital. I went on Amazon.com and searched for "NEW" 35mm slr's. That search took me to a site that had a brand new F65d (overseas model) that came with the battery grip a soft case and a Tamron 28-110mm AF lens for $199.00. Upon further searching I found a Tamron 105-300mm zoom for another $100.00. Everything was brand new and in the original boxes for a total of just over $300.00. It's a great little camera with multiple program and manual controls.
10/15/2010 10:31:59 PM
 
Israel Freitas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/29/2007
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 2:45:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 2:45:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 2:45:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 2:45:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 2:45:55 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I think it's a great camera when you use all resorces. I've done some good photos with that.

Israel de Freitas

1/4/2008 2:45:55 PM
 
rathan  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 5:04:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 5:04:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 5:04:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 5:04:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 5:04:22 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
good.
8/28/2006 5:04:22 AM
 
rathan  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:58:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:58:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:58:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:58:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:58:09 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
very good if u use all functions.
8/28/2006 4:58:09 AM
 
Willard Andre Hutt 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:03:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:03:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:03:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:03:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:03:53 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good starter camer but needs more features. Works great with my supertelephoto lenses and Black and White Film.
5/25/2006 8:03:53 AM
 
Babul Siddique 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 4:42:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 4:42:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 4:42:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 4:42:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 4:42:56 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
so about nikon F65 is good also. i done several wedding contract by this camera and lense 28-80mm f3.5-f5.6 and 70-300mm f4.5... the quality i got is much better than i expected. easy use, strong little bit, if any one use high performance lences with this Niokn F65 he/she will get great result
5/1/2006 4:42:56 AM
 
Alison  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 10:00:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 10:00:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 10:00:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 10:00:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 10:00:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
An excellent beginning SLR camera. A little heavy when compared to a point-and-shoot but the pictures are worth it.

It has TONS of features, in my opinion. I bought it four years ago and still use it regularly.

1/2/2006 10:00:16 PM
 
Richard Sanderson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 5:58:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 5:58:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 5:58:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 5:58:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 5:58:46 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is excellent. I have read that it doesn't have many "features", but what features do you need over and above the ones it has. It has a nice range of presets, aperture and shutter priority and full manual, allows full TTL flash (I use a Vivitar and it works a treat), depth of field preview. Yeah, it could have a better fps rating, but hey, frame your shot! It could have a faster flash sync speed, but overall, this is an excellent camera. Features don't make for good photographs
8/15/2005 5:58:46 AM
 
Suman Chatterjee 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:25:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:25:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:25:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:25:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:25:02 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
May be it does not contain many advanced features,but it meets just what I need.
6/24/2005 10:25:02 AM
 
Tom Walderman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 5:03:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 5:03:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 5:03:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 5:03:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 5:03:11 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This has been my first ever, slr camera. Easy to use, produces great pictures and doesnt cost a bomb to purchase brand new.
6/13/2005 5:03:11 AM
 
Estelle S. VanderHeide
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 9:25:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 9:25:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 9:25:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 9:25:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 9:25:23 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am fairly new to SLR cameras so I can't really say anything negative about this one. I do wish someone would have told me I would grow out of it fast though. I would definitely like a camera with more options.
1/24/2005 9:25:23 AM
 

First 10 of 24 Reviews  (see all user reviews)