* istD Digital SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Be Still...
View photos created with this camera

The * istD  Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • Smallest and lightest digital SLR as of April, 2003
  • 6.1 effective megapixels
  • Compatible with K, KA, KAF and KAF2 mount lenses and 645 / 67
    lenses with an adapter
  • Compatible with CompactFlash Type I/II cards and MicroDrives
  • Powered by 4 AA batteries

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


77 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Matilda K. Trawén
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/24/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:51:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:51:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:51:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:51:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:51:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful camera. It takes realy godd pictures and in spite of that I'm a beginner in the world of cameras and photos, I can easily understand the camera and are able to take realy good pictures (according to me) even if I have never had a SLR camrea befor. I'm about to learn more about this lovely camera and I hope that we (me and the camera) are able to spend many wonderful years out in the nature and capture beautiful moments and perhaps win some contests. It's a good camera for beginners like me, easy to understand and you only have to read the manual once and then you know how to do. Love this camera!
6/24/2006 3:51:02 PM
 
jim hanson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 2:41:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 2:41:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 2:41:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 2:41:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 2:41:57 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great for landscapes and portraits up to 16X20 in size.
6/23/2006 2:41:57 PM
 
Shane Shade 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 10:50:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 10:50:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 10:50:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 10:50:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 10:50:37 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Really good amateur camera. I liked that my pentax film lenses went right on this digital body.
6/11/2006 10:50:37 AM
 
Pamela R. Stone 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 5:10:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 5:10:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 5:10:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 5:10:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 5:10:03 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I just brought this Camera. It is so far very user friendly for a beginner like me.
5/22/2006 5:10:03 PM
 
Gordon A. Ward 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 8:07:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 8:07:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 8:07:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 8:07:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 8:07:08 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a new camera that I'm learning to use. I cannot rate it until I take more pictures with it.
5/12/2006 8:07:08 AM
 
Terri McMillon 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:11:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:11:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:11:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:11:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:11:30 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I actually have the istDL. A good beginner digital SLR
5/9/2006 5:11:30 PM
 
Coralea Breezley 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 6:06:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 6:06:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 6:06:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 6:06:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 6:06:54 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have owned my istD for over a year now & have had no problems with it. I like the fact that I am able to use my other lens from my 35mm Pentax with it. This was a big plus when I was looking to purchase a digital SLR camera over any other brand.
5/5/2006 6:06:54 AM
 
Joy A. Connelly 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 6:37:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 6:37:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 6:37:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 6:37:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 6:37:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Takes excellent crisp photos even in low light. Ease of programming & reading menu. Light weight, seems to have all requirements for digital photography
5/3/2006 6:37:14 PM
 
Allister Loughran 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:58:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:58:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:58:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:58:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:58:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
awesome takes great shots
4/27/2006 12:58:58 AM
 
David M. Farley 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:01:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:01:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:01:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:01:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:01:17 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Colors are extremely accurate. There are only two things I would change: 1) higher resolution and 2) a second "fire" button on the bottom for portrait shots. While adequate for most projects, I wish it were at least and 8mp or higher. Overall I highly recommend this camera. 5 stars in it's class.
4/23/2006 8:01:17 AM
 
Weston M. Carlisle 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:38:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:38:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:38:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:38:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:38:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
it has a lot of qualitys like a great zoom
4/14/2006 11:38:48 PM
 
Buf E. Moyers 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2006 6:50:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2006 6:50:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2006 6:50:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2006 6:50:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2006 6:50:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
intuitive great first slr camera.
3/26/2006 6:50:52 PM
 
Alexander Czernin-Morzin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2006
Contact Alexander
Alexander's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:08:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:08:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:08:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:08:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:08:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Works with all our old Pentax and Sigma lenses. Just enough functions so as not to get overloaded with "stuff" only press photographers need, such as 123 pictures a second. RAW mode is perfect for "specials". Light weight. One wish: Direct view on the excellent display of the live image - would be excellent for critical focusing.
3/25/2006 12:08:52 AM
 
bill sharpton
treehuggerimages.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 10:50:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 10:50:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 10:50:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 10:50:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 10:50:40 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very good resolution, easy to use
3/12/2006 10:50:40 AM
 
David M. Ryba 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 5:06:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 5:06:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 5:06:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 5:06:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2006 5:06:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Pentax istD begins where SLR film cameras left off. I can use all the lenses from my 35mm SLR cameras. I like the extra apeture openings (all the way down to f32 as opposed to f22 on most lenses.) All the auto features allow me to focus on getting that shot rather than ajusting camera settings. Auto focus, exposure, and even auto ISO settings are just to name a few. The only thing I wish it could to is shoot a ISO 100.
3/11/2006 5:06:44 AM
 
Betty I. Kramer-Quinn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 9:31:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 9:31:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 9:31:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 9:31:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 9:31:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
the best digital camera I have owned
2/22/2006 9:31:24 AM
 
Betty I. Kramer-Quinn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 9:31:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 9:31:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 9:31:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 9:31:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2006 9:31:19 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
the best digital camera I have owned
2/22/2006 9:31:19 AM
 
Trevor Batstone 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 9:52:22 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 9:52:22 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 9:52:22 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 9:52:22 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 9:52:22 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
A good all-around digital slr camera.
2/19/2006 9:52:22 AM
 
Chris A. Perkins 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:12:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:12:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:12:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:12:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:12:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Really great camera, easy to use, small and light and produces fantastically sharp images with the stok lenses
1/30/2006 8:12:53 PM
 
Tanya S. Maycock 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 11:52:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 11:52:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 11:52:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 11:52:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 11:52:05 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I shoot Pentax which is a little unusual these days. It was a sentimental choice but I have to say that the *istD is a versatile and effective tool.It is also the smallest digital SLR which makes it easy to carry and with addition of a battery grip, comfortable to use. Pentax glass is wonderful. The only thing I really quibble about is the flash synch speed is too slow 1/125. I'd like it to be atleast double.
1/15/2006 11:52:05 AM
 
Dana Ward 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 2:42:29 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 2:42:29 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 2:42:29 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 2:42:29 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 2:42:29 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Relatively compact and lightweight (for a digital SLR), low next-shot delay. Controls easy to manipulate. Minimum ISO 200, maximum 3200. Less common than some other models (Canon), therefore somewhat more difficult to find compatable extras, such as flash units.
1/13/2006 2:42:29 AM
 
Jaci Patterson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 4:23:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 4:23:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 4:23:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 4:23:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 4:23:36 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is not one that is for serious photographers. It also takes video and records sounds. It has no veiwfinder, only an LCD screen, which I do not prefer, since I would rather have an veiwfinder. I have used this camera to take self portraits using the timer and the LCD screen was helpful because you can flip it upside down the see what you are looking at.
1/9/2006 4:23:36 PM
 
Fred A. 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/29/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 2:50:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 2:50:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 2:50:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 2:50:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 2:50:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the Pentax for weddings, events, etc and I like the RD-1 for carrying around the streets.
1/2/2006 2:50:00 PM
 
John Snell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/30/2002
eyeimagein.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 5:54:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 5:54:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 5:54:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 5:54:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 5:54:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Pentax *istD, other than having a weird name, is perfect for me. Lots of control, great through the lens viewing, and small enough that I take it everywhere. The standard lens works well for many occassions and I've added a telephoto (Sigma 70-300) for other times, including macro. While I wanted an IS camera, I was not willing to deal with the larger size.
12/22/2005 5:54:27 AM
 
Teri Soares
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/2/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:29:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:29:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:29:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:29:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:29:03 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The *istD is a nice, compact, lightweight camera. The images are very colorful and the sensor seems partial to green. Reds tend to oversaturate. It has easy to learn and use menus. My rating is due to the speed of processing. I started shooting RAW exclusively about 3 months ago and that is when my frustrations began. In some cases, I have had to wait for more than a minute for the camera to write a RAW file to the card. The camera is locked up during this time so you can't take another picture or even focus for your next shot. These problems don't exist (as much) in jpeg mode. The camera will take about 5 exposures before it stops to write to the card. Overall, I like the camera, but I am saving my dollars for an upgrade.
12/13/2005 7:29:03 PM
 
Teri Soares
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/2/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:28:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:28:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:28:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:28:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:28:37 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The *istD is a nice, compact, lightweight camera. The images are very colorful and the sensor seems partial to green. Reds tend to oversaturate. It has easy to learn and use menus. My rating is due to the speed of processing. I started shooting RAW exclusively about 3 months ago and that is when my frustrations began. In some cases, I have had to wait for more than a minute for the camera to write a RAW file to the card. The camera is locked up during this time so you can't take another picture or even focus for your next shot. These problems don't exist (as much) in jpeg mode. The camera will take about 5 exposures before it stops to write to the card. Overall, I like the camera, but I am saving my dollars for an upgrade.
12/13/2005 7:28:37 PM
 
Erin E. Chambers 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 11:47:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 11:47:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 11:47:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 11:47:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 11:47:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera! it is very easy to use and it is light weight
12/1/2005 11:47:36 PM
 
Randy Bynon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 4:50:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 4:50:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 4:50:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 4:50:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 4:50:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera. Full control for manual shots, great latitude for exposure, very good resolution, and great options for lenses. Coming from a Pentax K1000, this was a great choice for a digital SLR and was not too badly proced.
10/26/2005 4:50:57 PM
 
Paul Spooner 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:19:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:19:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:19:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:19:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:19:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my first SLR camera, and I am only an amature photographer, but this camera feels good and every time I use it I seem to learn something new. So far I like everything about this camera. But the one thing that I don't like is you don't get that many shots on a standard SD memory chip. But now that I have the Compact Drive I just tranfer the photos to it and keep on going.
10/22/2005 7:19:57 PM
 
Chad D. Estes 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 6:34:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 6:34:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 6:34:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 6:34:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 6:34:53 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great little camera, but pictures come out on the 'soft' side. Replaced it with the D70.
10/21/2005 6:34:53 AM
 
Ward Hale 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:10:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:10:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:10:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:10:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:10:05 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is small... the lenses are really sharp. It is a little slow as far as speed goes and is also a little noisy at higher iso ratings.
10/19/2005 7:10:05 AM
 
Lenny F. Baker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/1/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 8:19:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 8:19:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 8:19:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 8:19:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 8:19:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like it very much. Everything about it.
10/14/2005 8:19:36 PM
 
Danny P. Hoy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:48:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:48:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:48:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:48:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:48:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good camera for the money. Does have a slight time delay before shutter reacts after you take picture.
10/3/2005 5:48:08 PM
 
Danny P. Hoy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good camera for the money. Does have a slight time delay before shutter reacts after you take picture.
10/3/2005 5:47:30 PM
 
Michael L. Dawson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/30/2005
Contact Michael
Michael's Gallery
mldawsonimages.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 8:59:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 8:59:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 8:59:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 8:59:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 8:59:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A nice lightweight digital Slr. I like the weight and size along with the solid feel. It perfoms pretty well up to 800 ISO. I would prefer it had ISO 100 as an option and of course a wider range of optics would be nice as well. 10,000+ images and no problems so it is reliable
8/31/2005 8:59:22 PM
 
David K. Pugh 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 5:06:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 5:06:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 5:06:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 5:06:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 5:06:48 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like its lightness and ease of use. However, my particular camera's autofocus doesn't work, which is fine by me as I actually prefer manual focus.
8/29/2005 5:06:48 AM
 
Jerome Rubin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 9:55:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 9:55:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 9:55:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 9:55:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 9:55:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been very happy with this camera. The ability to accept all my Pentax lenses is a big plus. Functionality and features are terrific.
8/6/2005 9:55:05 AM
 
Robert J. Wilkie
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/31/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 6:16:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 6:16:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 6:16:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 6:16:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 6:16:12 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I Love this Camera. Money well spent.
8/1/2005 6:16:12 PM
 
Christine E. Taylor 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:24:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:24:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:24:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:24:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:24:46 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Really like all the options the camera has over and above other digitals. Photos inside sometimes come out dark even with flash, but over all it is a great camera.
6/24/2005 10:24:46 AM
 
Oscar R. Arias 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 8:13:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 8:13:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 8:13:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 8:13:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 8:13:51 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It has the same sensor as the Nikon D70, Olympus 6060, some of the Fujis, all them have sony sensor. Since I have pentax lenses, this camera fits perfect for me. It has more functions than the cameras previously mentioned and I love it.
6/5/2005 8:13:51 PM
 
Glenn Perryman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 3:30:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 3:30:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 3:30:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 3:30:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 3:30:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My first DSLR and I love it!!! I can now take pictures that I see in my mind and have them come out the way I see them.!!!
6/3/2005 3:30:20 PM
 
Glenn Perryman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 3:28:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 3:28:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 3:28:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 3:28:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 3:28:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Well considering it's my first DSLR, I think it's the best camera ever. I have no complaints and love everything about it.
6/3/2005 3:28:18 PM
 
Rick Klingberg
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/22/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:46:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:46:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:46:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:46:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 5:46:34 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Pentax *istD is probably the greatest camera I have ever owned, It has every concievable feature one could one, but for someone who easily forgets to change settings, it is very forgiving and does a great job of compensating. If you are a Pentax Film user and have the lenses, I would highly recommend the *istD, as a #1 digital camera choice!
5/27/2005 5:46:34 AM
 
James H. Dahl 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 4:55:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 4:55:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 4:55:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 4:55:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 4:55:53 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Moved up from a Fuji FinePix S 602 Zoom to this. I feel like I have a real camera in my hands. Many options to learn how to use, but basic operation is intuitive.
4/26/2005 4:55:53 AM
 
David G. Kyryluk 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 2:05:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 2:05:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 2:05:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 2:05:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 2:05:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A good camera for those who wish to take pictures of stuff.
4/26/2005 2:05:34 AM
 
Lynne A. Jones 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 3:22:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 3:22:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 3:22:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 3:22:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 3:22:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Loght, easy to handle, easy to manipulate, buttons simple and straightforward. Worst part in the Pentax software for converting RAW to TIFF - it's poor compared to others.
4/23/2005 3:22:54 PM
 
Deborah K. Mayes 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 7:03:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 7:03:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 7:03:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 7:03:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 7:03:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've used this camera for a year now, and I really love it.

While it works fine in automatic mode, it really shines when using RAW and manual controls. It's sturdy. Battery life is excellent. Picture quality is terrific.

I already had a couple of Pentax film cameras, so I've been able to test it with everything from modern AF lenses to manual focus to mirror telephotos. (Heaven only knows how old some of those are.)

Sweet camera. :)

4/16/2005 7:03:56 PM
 
Gail M. Batchelder 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 1:49:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 1:49:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 1:49:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 1:49:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2005 1:49:15 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
So far, I love the camera! Easy to use, and easy to learn.
4/15/2005 1:49:15 PM
 
Steve D. Owen 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 6:24:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 6:24:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 6:24:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 6:24:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 6:24:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Light and user friendly.
4/11/2005 6:24:59 PM
 
Tanya Peterson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/29/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:09:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:09:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:09:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:09:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:09:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera!! I already had a load of Pentax lens so when I made the leap to digital, I only had to buy the body. Even though it is not my digital SLR of my dreams (Nikon D2h), it's what I can afford at this moment. I am learning so much from this website that when I did purchase my *ist D, I knew had to use it. And when I started taking photos w/it I noticed a HUGE difference in the quility and composition of my photos.
4/4/2005 6:09:52 PM
 
Thomas  Johnson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 11:26:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 11:26:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 11:26:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 11:26:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 11:26:56 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Lots of setings but no iso 100 starts at 200 othter then that i like it a lot
3/24/2005 11:26:56 AM
 
Christa Hart 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 1:56:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 1:56:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 1:56:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 1:56:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 1:56:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very clear screen, veiwer nice and big. Easy to handle, and everything easy to find. Very happy with it.
3/23/2005 1:56:32 PM
 
KC Pagano
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 12:11:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 12:11:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 12:11:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 12:11:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 12:11:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is excellent. It's light easy to use and very quick. Plus I can use all of my other pentax lens with it so there is no need to buy new lenses!
3/10/2005 12:11:14 PM
 
michael embelton 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 6:19:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 6:19:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 6:19:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 6:19:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 6:19:05 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great Camera, only bad feature is the ease of use of the dial on back
12/12/2004 6:19:05 PM
 
Jack Levisky 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:00:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:00:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:00:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:00:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:00:06 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Using it for the first time - selected this digital camera because of compatibility of several lens I already have.
12/3/2004 9:00:06 AM
 
Jennifer J. Kennedy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 4:50:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 4:50:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 4:50:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 4:50:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 4:50:22 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
So far so good
11/30/2004 4:50:22 AM
 
ASLAN OGUZ
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/1/2001
Contact ASLAN
ASLAN's Gallery
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:05:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:05:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:05:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:05:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:05:02 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I bought this camera for the sake of my Pentax lenses but I did not like the camera itself.
10/22/2004 2:05:02 AM
 
Nancy L. Nagel 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2004 4:23:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2004 4:23:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2004 4:23:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2004 4:23:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2004 4:23:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's my first digital slr. Lowest ISO is only 200. I like the size. My biggest complaint is that with the 16 -45 zoom at its widest you can't use the built in flash. So I'll have to get an external very soon.
10/15/2004 4:23:02 PM
 
Chris T. Sadler 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 8:37:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 8:37:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 8:37:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 8:37:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 8:37:34 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my first digital camera, the main reason I chose this one is because all of my cameras/lenses are pentax. I only had one problem with the camera ( card error message) which was corrected by Pentax (lengthy deliveries) but since then I've been very happy. The pictures are excellent.
10/13/2004 8:37:34 PM
 
Daniel Truax
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/9/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 7:13:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 7:13:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 7:13:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 7:13:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2004 7:13:12 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The layout and quality of the camera are excellent. Quality, color and output of the camera are in line with the competitors. Only the cost and availability of "brand name" accessories suffers a little. Pentax does not own the market like Canon.
10/13/2004 7:13:12 AM
 
Glenn Theal 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:46:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:46:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:46:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:46:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:46:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
For an initial DSLR, Pentax did well, not great, but very well indeed. The camera has some wonderful features that make it a strong performer; but, unfortunately, it also has some features that range from minor annoyances to serious concerns.

With regard to strengths, the Pentax *istD uses the same CCD sensor as that found in the Nikon D100, thus, making the camera very competitive to other brands. I have found that when set to correct white balance settings, the *istD captures highly accurate colours. Importantly, the *istD captures images with extremely low noise in ISO ranges from 200 to 400, increasing to moderately-low noise levels at 800, moderate noise levels at 1600, and finally high noise levels at 3200. I have also been pleased that Pentax has chosen to allow the users of this camera to perform their own custom sharpening of the image files that are created, leading some users to inappropriately complain that the camera produces "soft" photos.

Pentax has clearly laid out the interface for the camera, marking buttons and dials appropriately and making access to "most" functions straight forward and easy.

Another nice feature of the *istD is that it is, indeed, very small and light weight; yet, relatively rugged.

The fact that it accepts almost all Pentax' previous lenses is also an added bonus.

However, the camera does not come without faults. Some of which include the following: the CCD response curve is slightly lower than the exposure readings indicated by the camera's meter, thus, requiring an exposure compensation of +0.5 EV; the LCD display screen does not come with a protective cover, and for left-eye dominant shooters, becomes easily smeared and dirty as it is not recessed into the camera; the CF card slot makes CF cards tricky to remove; captured images do not display an overlying histogram, unless set to playback, and lastly, the battery indicator is unreliable at best.

Overall, it's a decent camera that produces high quality images.

9/8/2004 7:46:28 PM
 
Malcolm  Doig 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 5:46:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 5:46:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 5:46:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 5:46:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2004 5:46:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Pentax *istD proving to be a great camera even for a new user.

The only issue I have had is that the built in flash developed a fault after three months occasional use. The icon on the LCD panel indicated the battery was fully discharged and the flash did not work, even with new batteries. Repairs took six weeks

8/23/2004 5:46:52 AM
 
Jeannie Powers-Wood
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/8/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 10:33:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 10:33:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 10:33:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 10:33:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 10:33:12 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT
8/11/2004 10:33:12 AM
 
Joy A. Connelly 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 1:15:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 1:15:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 1:15:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 1:15:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 1:15:27 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just purchased this camera. It is lightweight and I feel easy to use. It accepts all of my existing Pentax lenses & I am eager to learn how to use it
8/10/2004 1:15:27 PM
 
Oscar R. Arias 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 9:39:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 9:39:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 9:39:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 9:39:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2004 9:39:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
the best for pentax users. Great quality, fast and not too expensive.
7/15/2004 9:39:11 PM
 
Oscar R. Arias 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 10:33:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 10:33:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 10:33:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 10:33:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 10:33:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best choice for pentax users. I am having this problem, the built in flash is not charging. I have checked the instruction guide and it does not say anything about it. If any of you knows how to fix it I would appreciate it if you let me know.
7/13/2004 10:33:49 AM
 
Amanda E. Radovic
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 4:15:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 4:15:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 4:15:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 4:15:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 4:15:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just learning the ropes but so far really impressed. My only reservation at this stage is the lowest ISO is 200 but isn't causing a problem. Would prefer a little more range here though. I have waited patiently for this and it is my dream come true.
6/25/2004 4:15:08 AM
 
Becky Dees 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2004 9:52:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2004 9:52:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2004 9:52:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2004 9:52:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2004 9:52:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I shoot mainly action shots. I have gotten great shots with the Pentax *ist digital. My only drawback is when darkness arrives, but I can change my ISO settings from 200 to 1600 if needed to compensate for the lack of light. Overall, I am highly satisfied with this camera. I will never go back to film.
5/4/2004 9:52:20 PM
 
Bill Hodges 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 12:04:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 12:04:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 12:04:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 12:04:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 12:04:38 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
excellent couldn't fault any part of it.
4/21/2004 12:04:38 AM
 
Boyd Zegers 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 8:57:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 8:57:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 8:57:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 8:57:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 8:57:18 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Pentax Ist D is an obvious take off of their film counterpart ist. The camera itself is laid out a bit differently than other digital SLR's and film cameras that I have used, but with a bit of learning it is well within the grasp of the intelligent person.

Use: Ease of use can be there with thier green settings. This will allow the user with less experience to take terriffic photos with little adjusting. But thats not why we buy this thing. It is stated to be compatible with K, KA, KAF Pentax lenses and in fact they can and do use A, FA Pentax lenses as well. A short email to Pentax USA and they will spell this out for you. Indeed they all work. The suggested "Digital" lense that the kit comes with is by far the best lense I have come across for all the Pentax products I own, and all other lenses for other cameras I have ever owned. Very Nice!

Price: I found the price to be reasonable for the product given. I found that both Cannon and Nikon have items out there similar in cost so your reason for purchasing would most likely be lense compatibility. But the price is mid range in what I found.
Quality: I found the quality of the product and the quality of the pictures taken to be exceptional. I have seen many reviews that show the CCD having not accurate representation versus film yet film between itself is not accurate. I would rate photo/image quality as extremely high.

The only downfall I could find is that the CF card slot is awkward to deal with. Replacing cards is a bit strange, but not impossible. Also, the histogram I was used to seeing before snapping the picture with the Sony DSC-F717 will not show until you are reviewing your pictures afterwards. It would be nice if that was stepped up to show at picture snap at the least.

Overall, I would rate this as 8.5 of 10. My opinion is that Pentax hit the mark for their first D-SLR, and in many ways exceeded it. I look forward to seeing what this can do, and what Pentax has up their sleeve for the next generation.

4/20/2004 8:57:18 AM
 
chrissy L. darrah 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 12:23:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 12:23:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 12:23:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 12:23:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 12:23:54 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
amazing! 6.1 megapixels.. can use my existing lenses.. w/ a battery-grip and laptop, i never need to buy film again! not as ergonomic as the z-1, but still a beast!
4/4/2004 12:23:54 PM
 
Roger A. Parks
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/13/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 5:02:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 5:02:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 5:02:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 5:02:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 5:02:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My initial reaction is one of excitment with this camera. I have had Pentax system for years so it was natural to buy this one to use the lens etc.
It has many wonder features, seems easy to operate and the results are stunning.
Roger Parks
3/31/2004 5:02:19 PM
 
Lenny F. Baker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 9:06:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 9:06:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 9:06:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 9:06:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 9:06:15 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have shot with it a little bit. Love it. All ny old lens fit and work well.
3/14/2004 9:06:15 PM
 
Lenny F. Baker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 9:05:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 9:05:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 9:05:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 9:05:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 9:05:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have shot with it a little bit. Love it. All ny old lens fit and work well.
3/14/2004 9:05:35 PM
 
Simon Williams 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 10:49:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 10:49:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 10:49:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 10:49:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 10:49:49 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The lightest camera ever. It is a superb camera, very easy to use and takes and is the best camera I have owned.
1/7/2004 10:49:49 AM
 
Glen T. Robinson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2004 9:49:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2004 9:49:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2004 9:49:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2004 9:49:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2004 9:49:05 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Solid feel, fast autofocus, nice camera body. I believe (other than software) it's the same electronics as a Nikon D100. I have Pentax lenses, so I bought the *istD
1/6/2004 9:49:05 PM
 
Joy A. Connelly 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 8:11:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 8:11:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 8:11:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 8:11:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 8:11:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
There is the Pentax iST 35 MM which is my new Auto Focus Camera. There is the iSD Digital 35 DIGITAL SLR. You have combined them as one Camera. I have the iST 35 mm Auto focus. too new to know how to use
1/5/2004 8:11:35 PM
 

77 Reviews  

Buy * istD  Digital SLR Camera  from Amazon.com