* istD Digital SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Sun-Kissed
View photos created with this camera

The * istD  Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • Smallest and lightest digital SLR as of April, 2003
  • 6.1 effective megapixels
  • Compatible with K, KA, KAF and KAF2 mount lenses and 645 / 67
    lenses with an adapter
  • Compatible with CompactFlash Type I/II cards and MicroDrives
  • Powered by 4 AA batteries

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 77 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Matilda K. Trawén
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/24/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:51:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:51:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:51:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:51:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:51:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful camera. It takes realy godd pictures and in spite of that I'm a beginner in the world of cameras and photos, I can easily understand the camera and are able to take realy good pictures (according to me) even if I have never had a SLR camrea befor. I'm about to learn more about this lovely camera and I hope that we (me and the camera) are able to spend many wonderful years out in the nature and capture beautiful moments and perhaps win some contests. It's a good camera for beginners like me, easy to understand and you only have to read the manual once and then you know how to do. Love this camera!
6/24/2006 3:51:02 PM
 
jim hanson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 2:41:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 2:41:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 2:41:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 2:41:57 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 2:41:57 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great for landscapes and portraits up to 16X20 in size.
6/23/2006 2:41:57 PM
 
Shane Shade 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 10:50:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 10:50:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 10:50:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 10:50:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 10:50:37 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Really good amateur camera. I liked that my pentax film lenses went right on this digital body.
6/11/2006 10:50:37 AM
 
Pamela R. Stone 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 5:10:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 5:10:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 5:10:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 5:10:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 5:10:03 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I just brought this Camera. It is so far very user friendly for a beginner like me.
5/22/2006 5:10:03 PM
 
Gordon A. Ward 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 8:07:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 8:07:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 8:07:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 8:07:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 8:07:08 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a new camera that I'm learning to use. I cannot rate it until I take more pictures with it.
5/12/2006 8:07:08 AM
 
Terri McMillon 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:11:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:11:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:11:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:11:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:11:30 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I actually have the istDL. A good beginner digital SLR
5/9/2006 5:11:30 PM
 
Coralea Breezley 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 6:06:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 6:06:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 6:06:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 6:06:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 6:06:54 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have owned my istD for over a year now & have had no problems with it. I like the fact that I am able to use my other lens from my 35mm Pentax with it. This was a big plus when I was looking to purchase a digital SLR camera over any other brand.
5/5/2006 6:06:54 AM
 
Joy A. Connelly 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 6:37:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 6:37:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 6:37:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 6:37:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 6:37:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Takes excellent crisp photos even in low light. Ease of programming & reading menu. Light weight, seems to have all requirements for digital photography
5/3/2006 6:37:14 PM
 
Allister Loughran 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:58:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:58:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:58:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:58:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:58:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
awesome takes great shots
4/27/2006 12:58:58 AM
 
David M. Farley 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:01:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:01:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:01:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:01:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:01:17 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Colors are extremely accurate. There are only two things I would change: 1) higher resolution and 2) a second "fire" button on the bottom for portrait shots. While adequate for most projects, I wish it were at least and 8mp or higher. Overall I highly recommend this camera. 5 stars in it's class.
4/23/2006 8:01:17 AM
 
Weston M. Carlisle 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:38:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:38:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:38:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:38:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:38:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
it has a lot of qualitys like a great zoom
4/14/2006 11:38:48 PM
 

First 10 of 77 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy * istD  Digital SLR Camera  from Amazon.com