TL Electro 35mm SLR Camera


Yashica

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Whatcha Looking A...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Michael  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2011 4:19:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2011 4:19:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2011 4:19:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2011 4:19:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2011 4:19:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Sweet like bear-meat!

Try to take a bad photo with this camera. You can't. It's perfect. Perfect lens, perfect shutter, perfect ergonomics. This camera forces you to think about composition and aperture. You become a better photographer from using this camera.

It's super sharp lens benefits from using higher speed films for general photography. At 1.7 it's a little soft, bot too bad, but stop that baby down and get some crazy detail. Yashica / Tomioka knew how to design a lens.

2/23/2011 4:19:45 PM
 
Christopher R. Cote 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 8:20:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 8:20:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 8:20:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 8:20:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 8:20:13 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My Yashica SLR is older than I am, but it's still going strong. The light meter broke long before I knew how to use the darn camera, but everything else is still pretty good. It's heavier than any camera I've ever used, but it's built like a tank. I have dropped this thing countless times (including once right on the prism housing) and it has continued to work.
3/24/2006 8:20:13 PM
 
Ernesto E. Cedeno 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 11:04:08 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 11:04:08 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 11:04:08 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 11:04:08 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 11:04:08 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Very old camera +25 yrs old. It'build to last!!
7/29/2005 11:04:08 AM
 
Michael P. Mayfield 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 4:39:30 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 4:39:30 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 4:39:30 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 4:39:30 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 4:39:30 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
For an amatuer, it was a very good camera. Although it was a rangefinder, and not a true slr, it did have a double parrelex system that worked extremly well. In darklness, just put it in automatic, and it worked well.
6/25/2005 4:39:30 PM
 
Noni Panayotov
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/7/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 9:39:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 9:39:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 9:39:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 9:39:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 9:39:43 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Well, my good old Yashica is one of just a handful of cameras I've used and all of my "better photos" are made with it. It's rather easy to use, especially for a complete amateur like me, but it sure lacks a lot of options the more recent cameras have, not to mention the digital ones...
5/11/2005 9:39:43 PM
 
Brandon M. Marchek 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 12:28:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 12:28:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 12:28:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 12:28:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 12:28:17 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It was an old camera that my father used while he was in high school. I found it while digging through a closet. It took beautiful pictures. Unfortunately, it now has some light leaks, and hasn't worked right since.
6/17/2004 12:28:17 PM
 
Timothy J. Weatherwax 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 6:36:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 6:36:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 6:36:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 6:36:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 6:36:50 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Nice Camera and does a great job
11/29/2003 6:36:50 PM
 
Benjamin Baron 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 12:09:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 12:09:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 12:09:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 12:09:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 12:09:51 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good for a beginner
11/6/2003 12:09:51 PM
 

8 Reviews