BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EasyShare DX6490 Digital Camera


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Early Summers  Ni...
View photos created with this camera

The EasyShare DX6490 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 4.0 megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality prints up to 11 x 14 and beyond
  • EasyShare camera dock 6000 included for easy photo transfer and
    camera battery recharging
  • 10X Schneider-Kreuznach Variogon optical zoom lens
  • Kodak Color Science Image Processing Chip
  • Bright 2.2" (5.6 cm) LCD Display and Electronic Viewfinder

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 412 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
JD Lucido
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first camera, it was great to learn on, but after about a year I wanted more features. I'm looking at the SLR's now. But I know I'll keep this one-- the digital zoom is great, I like the video feature, and its been sturdy through weather extremes. I've taken it everywhere, across the globe in very hot and very cold weather without problems. Only complaints are: it is slow (3-4 seconds between shots, and to turn on), and you don't have much control over the shutter speeds. I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to learn about digital photography, and not have too many features to be overwhelmed. Its easy to take great shots on this!
8/25/2007 3:14:46 PM
 
Christina Kurle
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/15/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I REALLY like this camera...the qualities of a DSLR without the price. So, you can't change lenses...with such great optical zoom feature, who needs to?
3/10/2007 2:56:44 PM
 
Nadya Johnson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/19/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Although this camera has some good qualities, my primary objection is the shutter delay. It works quite well if your subject's sitting still but it's quite tricky, otherwise. I will say, it's vastly superior to the Kodak DC240-zoom( as it should be; an earlier and less expensive model) but for serious work I would recommend a better camera than either one of those.
10/25/2006 4:04:31 PM
 
Emanuel R.L Marcos
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/22/2004
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
slow very slow...bad auto focus..bad flash.. a bit out of date camera.
The only good thing is the tele-zoom.
10/3/2006 8:38:41 AM
 
Thomas A. Musson

member since: 8/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
For a simple point and shoot camera it takes great pictures and sells for a good price. But, the camera that I have is very slow to respond and the on off setting switch works hard. When you upgrade to a much faster camera you soon see how important speed can be.
9/13/2006 7:19:07 PM
 
Elizabeth J. Knerr

member since: 6/28/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
As a beginner this has been a fantastic camera. It is easy to use and even with my very limited photography skills I think it takes great pictures. I have also been very impressed by the videos it takes too. I'd say the only downside is that the camera is a little large, but that hasn't stopped me for taking it anywhere. As I learn more about photography I don't know if I will learn that this camera has some limitations, but for now it has everything I could imagine needing.
7/7/2006 5:25:41 AM
 
Amber M. Glaze
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/3/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
it's a pretty good camera my main problem with it is pictures you have zoomed in on before taken looks very pixalated and not such good quality and the camera and printer that i got with it seems to break for no reason
7/3/2006 8:41:01 AM
 
Imana L. Bilal

member since: 7/1/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Good very good
7/1/2006 8:31:57 AM
 
Jeff Miller

member since: 6/28/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A good point a shoot camera. It offers a large viewable LCD screen and 10X Optical Zoom. Great camera for the price.
7/1/2006 6:25:56 AM
 
Mary M. Fisher

member since: 6/29/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's the best camera I've ever had. It takes great pictures, and has awsome color.
6/29/2006 1:08:28 PM
 
Shelly D. Williams

member since: 6/23/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Camera is very simple to use and takes great quality pictures..simple but allows one to do many things..
6/23/2006 1:30:21 AM
 

First 10 of 412 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy EasyShare DX6490 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.