PowerShot A80 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Spider Flower
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot A80 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 4 megapixel sensor creates 2,272 x 1,704 images for
    photo-quality prints at 11 x 14 and beyond
  • 3x optical plus 3.6x digital zoom (for 11x total)
  • Twisting LCD for shots at any angle; up to 3-minute videos with
    sound; 9-point AiAF
  • Compatible with Type I CompactFlash memory cards; includes 32 MB
    card
  • Powered by 4 AA batteries (alkalines included, rechargeables
    recommended); connects to PCs and Macs via USB 1.1

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


118 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jovie Naval 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2007 6:58:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2007 6:58:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2007 6:58:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2007 6:58:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2007 6:58:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Total Customer Satisfaction with Canon A80.... Superb Point & Shoot Camera and the Vari-Angle LCD is the Plus Factor for my Creative Shootings! ;-)

the first taste of winning in a photo contest through this simple & trusted point & shoot dgcam!

4/24/2007 6:58:28 PM
 
Sathiya Narayanan Kalyanasundaram 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:51:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:51:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:51:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:51:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 12:51:49 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first Digital Camera and it's the best, I've seen. You can take all the pictures in Auto mode and it will give you the best.
6/19/2006 12:51:49 AM
 
Brandi Cofer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/18/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 9:50:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 9:50:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 9:50:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 9:50:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 9:50:01 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Although my camera is a couple of years old and a bit outdated, its one of those cameras that you just can't get rid of and you keep going back to because it takes great pictures. The lens is great and my shots are crystal clear. I've used many other cameras but this little one has impressed me the most. The only draw back I have with it is its size. Compared to the newer model cameras, its a little bulky.
6/18/2006 9:50:01 AM
 
Kathy Scigliano
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/4/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 1:39:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 1:39:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 1:39:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 1:39:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 1:39:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
this camera is very easy to use, and fast takes great pictures
6/15/2006 1:39:19 PM
 
Marlon Marcano
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 9:44:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 9:44:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 9:44:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 9:44:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 9:44:21 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. Excellent quality. Can be used both on auto or fully manual. Not the best in night shots but crisp colour shots otherwise.
6/12/2006 9:44:21 AM
 
Sandy L. Roberts 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 2:19:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 2:19:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 2:19:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 2:19:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 2:19:34 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It takes great point and shoot shots(3x5). Picture quality on larger pictures are not clear and crisp. I like that is has a video that does quick little videos. Not bad on landscapes either I did get some sunset pictures that looked pretty good. If you are looking for a camera with these quailities it is a good camera.
5/17/2006 2:19:34 PM
 
Elizabeth Sraw
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/30/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 3:44:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 3:44:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 3:44:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 3:44:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 3:44:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent all Around Camera. Great build quality. I have even dropped it a couple times (oops), on concrete, and it works like a charm. Miss zoom, of course, but love the ease of operation, and features in this point & shoot. Gives me great results consistently.
4/30/2006 3:44:33 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 6:28:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 6:28:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 6:28:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 6:28:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 6:28:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the Canon Powershot A80 because it has a lot of features that I can use.I hope to upgrade someday to the newer Professional model.I often use the Macro Mode & the Video mode as well.All around it's a nice little camera.
4/9/2006 6:28:39 PM
 
SHERRON DENICE BRIDGES 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:11:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:11:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:11:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:11:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 8:11:52 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I REALY LOVE THIS CAMRA CANNON CAMRAS ARE REALY GREAT FOR ALL MY NEEDS OF PHOTOGRAPHEY. THERE EASY TO LEARN AND TEACH MY KIDS TO USE.THE PHOTOS COME OUT CLEAR.
3/14/2006 8:11:52 AM
 
Cindy Stiles 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 5:47:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 5:47:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 5:47:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 5:47:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 5:47:54 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Best for me as I'm not a pro photographer - love that you have a choice of photo rather than having to wait for prints.
2/21/2006 5:47:54 AM
 
Jessica M. Petersen 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 6:05:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 6:05:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 6:05:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 6:05:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 6:05:23 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I enjoy this camera to carry around. It isn't too pricy, so it's easy to take with you to concerts, shows, and anywhere.
2/20/2006 6:05:23 AM
 
Oscar Pinto
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/11/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 6:34:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 6:34:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 6:34:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 6:34:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 6:34:55 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Canon A 80 is very creative
2/11/2006 6:34:55 PM
 
James Heinrich 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 5:17:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 5:17:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 5:17:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 5:17:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 5:17:18 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good: * swivel LCD is tremendously useful * batteries last through at least 600 shots Bad: * slow startup / shutdown time (~1.7 sec) * sometimes very slow autofocus in low light * ISO "auto" doesn't work, always picks "50" * mode selector wheel too easily changed accidentally
1/29/2006 5:17:18 AM
 
Timothy J. Rollins 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 11:48:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 11:48:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 11:48:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 11:48:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 11:48:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Versatile, with full manual settings, twist LCD screen, control over flash output, manual focus and many other features. Hard to control DOF.
1/14/2006 11:48:09 AM
 
Kathryn Nolan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 6:47:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 6:47:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 6:47:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 6:47:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 6:47:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great little camera to lug just about anywhere. Can go manual to automatic and has a generous amount of settings for a 4mp. Only complaint is in the sports mode it still is not fast enough (for those of us who don't know about manual settings - yet- and are trying to photograph a fast moving subject like a sports game or toddler). Picture quality is beautiful and wish it was a higher mp range so I could do large scale prints w/out graininess!
1/6/2006 6:47:27 PM
 
M D. Marfil
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:10:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:10:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:10:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:10:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:10:31 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Without any additional components (i.e. lens, polarizing filters, etc), this camera suffices for basic amateur photography. Best for practice.
12/28/2005 11:10:31 PM
 
Ak A. Araga
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/24/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 1:23:36 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 1:23:36 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 1:23:36 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 1:23:36 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 1:23:36 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
nice camera for beginners and pros
12/24/2005 1:23:36 PM
 
C A. Jordan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:09:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:09:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:09:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:09:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:09:12 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
LOVED THIS CAMERA! The fully rotational LCD screen made it possible take pics in otherwise awkward positions. Nice warm colors, compact, easy-to-handle, 2 Custom Settings, easy setting changes. I used the Fast Shutter setting the most, day & night, all kinds of lighting, weather. Rechargeable batteries lasted long even when keeping the camera on for hours, using LCD AND zooming in/out often (I highly recommend Ray-o-vac 15 minute). EXCELLENT!
12/12/2005 9:09:12 PM
 
Jim Gilchrist 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 5:22:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 5:22:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 5:22:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 5:22:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 5:22:42 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good point and shoot for a novice. The swing out display sacrifices too much real estate on the LCD. But I bought with AMEX rewards points so I can't complain.
11/24/2005 5:22:42 PM
 
Madhavan Prakasam 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:56:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:56:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:56:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:56:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:56:17 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the Good optics. sharp pictures.swivel LCD I don't like the menu system, difficulty in focusing
11/13/2005 5:56:17 AM
 
Madhavan Prakasam 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:54:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:54:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:54:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:54:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:54:32 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the Good optics. sharp pictures.swivel LCD I don't like the menu system, difficulty in focusing
11/13/2005 5:54:32 AM
 
Karthik Veeramani
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/11/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 8:43:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 8:43:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 8:43:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 8:43:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 8:43:17 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good: Decent manual controls, rotating display panel feature, decent resolution. Bad: 3x zoom; very hard to take photos in the dark
11/11/2005 8:43:17 PM
 
Melanie R  Reynolds 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 1:33:09 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 1:33:09 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 1:33:09 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 1:33:09 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 1:33:09 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Canon Powershot A-80 is an excellent camera for a beginner to learn on, but does not have the quality and capabilities that you will need to continue to grow as a photographer.
10/30/2005 1:33:09 AM
 
Bill A. Guinn 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 2:41:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 2:41:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 2:41:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 2:41:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 2:41:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great camera for first time users. Great options, easy to use, easy to hold.
10/25/2005 2:41:28 PM
 
Elaine Brinckerhoff 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 6:48:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 6:48:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 6:48:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 6:48:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 6:48:04 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it, its great for what I'm doing though I wish I had more megapixels and such. Someday I'll get a more professional until then this is probably the best of its category (its even surviving my two little sisters!)
10/10/2005 6:48:04 PM
 
Cheryl L. Naccarato 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 3:36:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 3:36:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 3:36:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 3:36:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 3:36:37 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's my first digital, so I have nothing to compare it to.
10/2/2005 3:36:37 PM
 
Milly MY Leung
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/21/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 9:12:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 9:12:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 9:12:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 9:12:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 9:12:46 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
not very bad very a beginner
9/21/2005 9:12:46 AM
 
David K. Drouillard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/27/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 6:05:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 6:05:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 6:05:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 6:05:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 6:05:25 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like this camera very much. It's not top of the line, but it's a good camera for the money. I wish it could go to a higher ASA than 400. Most of the time, the auto setting does a decent job.
8/27/2005 6:05:25 AM
 
Ozlem Pazvant 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 9:07:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 9:07:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 9:07:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 9:07:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 9:07:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am still discovering different functions. Sometimes I have difficulty with focusing it properly, especially if I am shooting flowers.
8/23/2005 9:07:51 PM
 
Molly A. Pulda 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 6:25:05 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 6:25:05 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 6:25:05 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 6:25:05 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 6:25:05 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like my camera, it works good and I like the quality of the pictures. It's easy to use. I would like a camera with more Mega Pixels and a better zoom.
8/20/2005 6:25:05 PM
 
Ronni W 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 5:26:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 5:26:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 5:26:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 5:26:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 5:26:10 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good pocket camera, with manual setting
7/18/2005 5:26:10 PM
 
Josh Froese 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 8:55:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 8:55:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 8:55:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 8:55:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 8:55:45 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Its the only digital camera I've ever owned. I love it
7/16/2005 8:55:45 PM
 
François Piolino
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/13/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 9:11:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 9:11:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 9:11:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 9:11:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2005 9:11:45 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Parctical on all occasions ; very good for macro and close-up of wathces and watch movement or details of antiques
7/13/2005 9:11:45 AM
 
Laura Tracey 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 9:34:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 9:34:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 9:34:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 9:34:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 9:34:54 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Overall, a good camera, but recently using the manual mode has not been as easy as I would like. Maybe I will change my mind after more practice. I am shopping for a new camera, looking at the Canon EOS D20.
7/12/2005 9:34:54 AM
 
Danielle Hobson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/23/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 5:32:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 5:32:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 5:32:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 5:32:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 5:32:00 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great for point & shoot, or when my SLR is not practical. Auto functions are great.
6/27/2005 5:32:00 AM
 
Katie  Barnes 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 11:11:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 11:11:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 11:11:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 11:11:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 11:11:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera was amazing! Photos had excellent resolution, were clear and sharp with great color balance. The flip out and twist screen was great, along with the design of all buttons. Macro capability was awesome! So much more to tell... but it has been discontinued. If anyone else is interested, please send me an email and I'll be happy to splurge!
6/14/2005 11:11:54 PM
 
asdf asd 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 1:53:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 1:53:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 1:53:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 1:53:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 1:53:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very Good Camera
6/7/2005 1:53:28 PM
 
Laura R. Clay
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/30/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 3:10:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 3:10:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 3:10:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 3:10:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 3:10:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera! It has awesome features. It can do almost anything. It is the best camera that I have ever owned.
5/30/2005 3:10:07 PM
 
Bernard Bosmans 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 10:37:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 10:37:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 10:37:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 10:37:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2005 10:37:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great camera for a beginner and the more advanced photographer.Small enough to carry in your pocket. Accurate colours a little on the warm side.The flip out LCD helps in taking shots at difficult angles. It would have been nice if the lens was a bit wider and the zoom somewhat longer. It's a joy taking pictures, now I'm gone over to digital imaging.
5/28/2005 10:37:19 PM
 
Austin Brodfuhrer 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 10:52:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 10:52:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 10:52:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 10:52:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 10:52:53 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it.
5/12/2005 10:52:53 PM
 
Gregory  Evans 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:37:20 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:37:20 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:37:20 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:37:20 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:37:20 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Inside pictures are terribly sensitive to any movement, and focal plan has difficulties stabilizing... a difficult combination of weaknesses for my wife, who is not an experienced photographer. It takes great bright-light outdoor photos, though.
4/17/2005 12:37:20 AM
 
Gregory  Evans 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Inside pictures are terribly sensitive to any movement, and focal plan has difficulties stabilizing. Takes great bright-light outdoor photos, though.
4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM
 
Gregory  Evans 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Inside pictures are terribly sensitive to any movement, and focal plan has difficulties stabilizing. Takes great bright-light outdoor photos, though.
4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM
 
Gregory  Evans 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Inside pictures are terribly sensitive to any movement, and focal plan has difficulties stabilizing. Takes great bright-light outdoor photos, though.
4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM
 
Gregory  Evans 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Inside pictures are terribly sensitive to any movement, and focal plan has difficulties stabilizing. Takes great bright-light outdoor photos, though.
4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM
 
Gregory  Evans 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Inside pictures are terribly sensitive to any movement, and focal plan has difficulties stabilizing. Takes great bright-light outdoor photos, though.
4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM
 
Gregory  Evans 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Inside pictures are terribly sensitive to any movement, and focal plan has difficulties stabilizing. Takes great bright-light outdoor photos, though.
4/17/2005 12:34:49 AM
 
Arlene Mobley 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 3:49:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 3:49:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 3:49:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 3:49:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 3:49:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera and use the macro setting alot
4/4/2005 3:49:19 PM
 
Sherron Denice Bridges 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 5:33:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 5:33:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 5:33:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 5:33:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 5:33:24 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camra,i like that i can make my photo's sepia color with out takeing the photo to a lab. I like that i don't have to buy film again.I injoy haveing 128 photo's at 1 time,it make it easer for traveling.I like the zoom cause i take hundreds of photo's of my kids nearly every day. The weight is good not too heavey. The camra is easy to use,i'm teaching my kids how to take good photo's.There good...
4/2/2005 5:33:24 AM
 
Germán Vázquez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/29/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 10:10:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 10:10:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 10:10:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 10:10:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 10:10:40 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I found that the Canon A80 gives "with limitations" all the features of a "High-End" camera: Converters, filters, 100% manual controls, etc, in a compact and cheap body, if you want to play with this features but have low budget Canon A9X series are the best option.
3/29/2005 10:10:40 AM
 
Debbie Williams 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 12:24:16 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 12:24:16 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 12:24:16 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 12:24:16 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2005 12:24:16 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Love the rotating screen and size. Don't like the shutter speed - too slow. Not bad for not being an SLR
3/13/2005 12:24:16 PM
 
Jo Florence Cordell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 6:10:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 6:10:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 6:10:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 6:10:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 6:10:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera
3/9/2005 6:10:00 AM
 
Ling Hea Ting 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 7:38:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 7:38:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 7:38:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 7:38:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 7:38:39 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the manual function of it. There is nothing I don't really like about it. But of course I will be getting better camera in terms of the Mega Pixies and the zooming.
2/26/2005 7:38:39 AM
 
robert burks
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/23/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2005 6:08:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2005 6:08:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2005 6:08:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2005 6:08:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2005 6:08:47 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
nice camera for a point and shoot, I like the swivel lcd, that lets you take angles
2/25/2005 6:08:47 AM
 
Eric K. Hafner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 4:14:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 4:14:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 4:14:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 4:14:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 4:14:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I dont really know much about this camera. I just bought it recently. My first two pictures that I post will not be taken with this camera, But all future pictures will be.
2/23/2005 4:14:03 AM
 
Jim Verville 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 7:57:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 7:57:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 7:57:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 7:57:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 7:57:51 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Generally a nice camera. Can create great photos on auto mode also. A bit heavy due to the use of 4 AA batteries. The electronics seem to be somewhat slow in capturing the picture and writing to the storage media.
1/29/2005 7:57:51 AM
 
Zahara I. Khan 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2005 9:20:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2005 9:20:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2005 9:20:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2005 9:20:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2005 9:20:37 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My first few tries. Still need to explore it. I'm a newbie so the rating is just my safe estimate.
1/14/2005 9:20:37 PM
 
Linda Campanile 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 5:13:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 5:13:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 5:13:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 5:13:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 5:13:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great , sharp pictures, but not a great zoom.
1/10/2005 5:13:35 PM
 
Karen Low 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 4:55:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 4:55:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 4:55:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 4:55:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 4:55:04 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent quality for a 4 megapixel camera. I love having a screen that swivels out- very convenient. My only wish is for a better zoom.
1/9/2005 4:55:04 PM
 
Joshua L. Brown 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 6:46:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 6:46:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 6:46:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 6:46:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2004 6:46:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera. Moveable view finder lets me get those angles other can't without a ladder or kneepads. Fast continuous shooting, 2.8fps. Great manual features.
12/30/2004 6:46:16 PM
 
Lucas Estrella 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:31:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:31:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:31:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:31:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:31:48 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my first digital camera, I wanted to try the digital cameras because I always shot with a film camera, both 35mm and medium formats. I really like this canon powershot, although I feel that I can be more creative with the non-digital. It may be that I just love to shoot photos with the ones that I started out with. What I most like about the canon powershot is that it is so much easier and faster to see my prints without having to wait for them to get back from the lab.
12/28/2004 8:31:48 AM
 
Donna J. Hamilton 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2004 4:24:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2004 4:24:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2004 4:24:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2004 4:24:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2004 4:24:12 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a very nice camera, but I think it was overpriced.
12/6/2004 4:24:12 PM
 
Geoffrey H. Woodcox 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2004 8:31:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2004 8:31:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2004 8:31:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2004 8:31:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2004 8:31:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very Good camera!
12/2/2004 8:31:37 PM
 
Stephanie Carnahan 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:24:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:24:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:24:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:24:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:24:40 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I now wish I had purchased a camera with higher optical zoom capabilities, but for my first digital it does the trick.
11/19/2004 11:24:40 AM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 10:44:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 10:44:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 10:44:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 10:44:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 10:44:51 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera does everything I need it to do for my digital work. The quality is as good as a camera 3 times the money. Only complant I wish I hade smaller apertures. Best buy in my mind
11/18/2004 10:44:51 AM
 
Anne Tiffany
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 5:25:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 5:25:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 5:25:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 5:25:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 5:25:44 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
LOVE the moveable viewing screen. Can use same add-ons from A40 (telephoto, closeup lenses).
11/4/2004 5:25:44 AM
 
Carlos R. Escobar 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 2:19:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 2:19:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 2:19:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 2:19:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 2:19:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
1st digi-cam I've bought. Great colors, however I don't like the inconsistency in exposure as well as the small LCD screen. The mechanical zoom is a bit slow; other than that, it has performed great and captured some good moments. Another plus is good features and manual settings.
10/12/2004 2:19:59 PM
 
Twain Barnes 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 12:19:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 12:19:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 12:19:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 12:19:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 12:19:56 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my A80 for several reasons. Quality photos and tough. Very user friendly and takes super macros combined with outstanding battery life. The flip out screen is a major plus. Could be better if it had more optical zoom but I can live with the 3X. Major dislike is th flash. It doesn't have enough controll to keep from washing out the shot especially macro shots.
10/7/2004 12:19:56 AM
 
Nicholas J. Place 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 9:10:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 9:10:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 9:10:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 9:10:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 9:10:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've not used many other cameras before; I'm far from even a semi-profesional photographer. I'm in college and interested in the arts, so I think I have an eye for good shots. This camera has far too many techinal "things" for me to get the full use of, but it was a gift, so I can't complain. It has worked beautifully for me so far.
9/24/2004 9:10:01 AM
 
Vincent Faraci 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 7:29:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 7:29:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 7:29:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 7:29:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 7:29:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera to take on action sports trips. Small enough to fit in a pocket but has enough features to make it very functional. Good sequence shhoting at 2.4 FPS.
9/14/2004 7:29:05 AM
 
Gerhardi Odendaal 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 5:22:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 5:22:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 5:22:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 5:22:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 5:22:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
All is excellent except that the screen could have been a bit bigger.
9/13/2004 5:22:43 AM
 
Cheryl Parker
Contact Cheryl
Cheryl's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2004 7:46:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2004 7:46:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2004 7:46:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2004 7:46:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2004 7:46:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My Canon Powershot A80 is absolutely the best camera I have ever owned. The quality is wonderful! what I love so about digital is that you can take your card out and develop one picture and then put your card back in and your ready to take more. No need in having to take all pictures and then develop. I just want to learn more about how to crop and print. I want to also know what is the best photo printer to buy. thanks, cheryl parker
9/9/2004 7:46:48 AM
 
Yeo Hwee Ching Adeline 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 1:50:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 1:50:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 1:50:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 1:50:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 1:50:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good, clear, 4 mega pixels
9/8/2004 1:50:05 AM
 
Diana C. Kraus 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 9:48:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 9:48:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 9:48:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 9:48:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 9:48:38 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Canon Powershot A80, is a very nice camera. It's very easy to use, and get used to. Anybody can use it if they try. It comes with many functions, and picture settings like black and white, sephia, vivid etc..although i wish it came with more. Its also very good because once you take a picture, the moment is captured. There's no delay, and it rarley gets blurry.
9/5/2004 9:48:38 AM
 
margaux reed 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 6:47:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 6:47:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 6:47:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 6:47:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2004 6:47:19 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very cool camera for someone like me who is a keen photographer, but dont have the money to buy a really professional camera. but this one does offer a wide variety of features and can be very good once you've got all your rechargable batteries, bigger memory card and maybe a few lenses.
9/2/2004 6:47:19 AM
 
Brenda A. Meister 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:18:58 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:18:58 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:18:58 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:18:58 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:18:58 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love the quality of my camera. Although I would like the more zoom and better pixels, it works great for my needs.
8/30/2004 3:18:58 PM
 
Dedy Irvan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 10:00:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 10:00:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 10:00:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 10:00:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 10:00:53 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
this is a good camera.. u can take seriuos pictures with it..
8/16/2004 10:00:53 AM
 
Brian Pickart 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 2:10:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 2:10:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 2:10:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 2:10:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 2:10:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first digital camera and, so far, I'm quite happy with it. Good camera for the price.
8/11/2004 2:10:44 PM
 
John Snider
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/5/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 7:36:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 7:36:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 7:36:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 7:36:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 7:36:04 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The A80 was my first digital camera, and it was what hooked me on photography. It is a great point and shoot with enough manual control to really get you involved in the process of being creative. I really liked the flip out LCD and when I upgraded to a DSLR, I really missed that little feature.
8/6/2004 7:36:04 AM
 
Thomas F. Devlin 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 4:55:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 4:55:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 4:55:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 4:55:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 4:55:20 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excellant camera for the beginner.
8/5/2004 4:55:20 PM
 
Don Williams
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/6/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 8:42:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 8:42:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 8:42:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 8:42:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 8:42:30 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A fun, feature loaded camera. I have most enjoyed using the macro function for pictures of flowers at the central Oregon coast. The biggest drawbacks (like most digitals) are the delay and the lack of true eye piece focusing.
7/26/2004 8:42:30 AM
 
Raquel N. Hathaway 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 8:00:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 8:00:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 8:00:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 8:00:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 8:00:24 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really enjoy my camera because of the numerous amount of options it holds. Changing the background on a picture, or changing the color of a picture. I also enjoy being able to download to my computer or zoom in on pictures from the camera itself.
7/21/2004 8:00:24 PM
 
Kok Wei Loong 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 10:56:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 10:56:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 10:56:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 10:56:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 10:56:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
One thing I like about this camera is the swivel LCD. It gives me the flexibility to compose my picture without much difficulty.
7/19/2004 10:56:24 PM
 
Rick Chiero 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 8:19:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 8:19:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 8:19:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 8:19:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 8:19:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I recently purchased this camera and it really is a great camera. I am amazed that all the things that it does.I beleive I will be happy with its function.
7/6/2004 8:19:33 PM
 
Azfin Donna 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 7:18:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 7:18:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 7:18:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 7:18:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 7:18:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
pros: Cheap, sleek, nice colour, best picture (to me, a lot of feature. cons: litle bit heavy due to the batteries :)
7/3/2004 7:18:43 AM
 
Azfin Donna 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 7:16:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 7:16:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 7:16:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 7:16:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 7:16:23 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
pros: Cheap, sleek, nice colour, best picture (to me, a lot of feature. cons: litle bit heavy due to the batteries :)
7/3/2004 7:16:23 AM
 
Suki Woodward 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 8:17:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 8:17:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 8:17:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 8:17:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 8:17:10 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use, lightweight, a good choice for beginner to intermediate photographers
7/1/2004 8:17:10 PM
 
Suki Woodward 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 8:14:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 8:14:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 8:14:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 8:14:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 8:14:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy, lightweight & takes great photos. Perfect for newbee photographers
7/1/2004 8:14:46 PM
 
Catalin Morof 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 6:54:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 6:54:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 6:54:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 6:54:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 6:54:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Canon A80 has all the settings a digital camera needs considering that it is not a SLR. I like it a lot. I think that it has a good price considering what she can do. If you want to buy accessories for it you have where to chose from as Canon has taken care of that. ;) and with 4.1 megapixels, 11xzoom(3x-lenses), shutter time 15sec-1/2000 you have all you need. It's great !
6/30/2004 6:54:52 AM
 
Thad G. Stammen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 1:10:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 1:10:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 1:10:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 1:10:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 1:10:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fantastic little digital camera. We take it everywhere with us, just drop it in the bag and we're good to go. The pictures turn out great, perfect for e-mailing kid photos to the grandparents. My only problem with it is the occasional delay with the shutter & flash that results in too many "closed eye" shots. However, with the instant image preview, I simply delete the image and try again! Otherwise, it's compact, takes great photos, the auto setting is easy for everyone, while it still has completely customizable features. Decent zoom. Money well spent. I would also recommend the purchase of a larger memory card when purchasing the camera. We get 300+ images on our 256mb card. We've yet to run out of space when shooting!
6/11/2004 1:10:45 PM
 
Don Disney 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 7:34:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 7:34:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 7:34:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 7:34:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 7:34:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera it's been great for me to start leaning
6/10/2004 7:34:45 PM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 2:09:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 2:09:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 2:09:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 2:09:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 2:09:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first digital camera, so i don't have much to compare with, but what i like about it is the many options you have to make the picture you like. I made a series of pictures of firejugglers and i could direct the amount of light perfectly,i was much surprised about the effect. i am still learning a lot about the use of my camera, but untill now, i was able to achieve what i wanted. The only thing i like less is the delay with the pictures. The camera was a gift, so i don't have much to complain at all. ( i hope my English is allright, because i am Dutch)
6/7/2004 2:09:28 PM
 
Bea Shumey 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 5:10:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 5:10:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 5:10:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 5:10:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 5:10:57 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera, purchased in November of 2003, has served my purposes well, mainly being light and very portable and giving great pictures in Auto mode and amazing macro pics in the Macro-focus mode. All reports seemed to say that the four double A batteries were a downside to it, but I have found that using NIMH 2200, fully charged will take you through a 256 MB card with mostly flash photos, taking about 350. Two sets of batteries and 2 256 MB cards and I was all set for either a wedding, or a trip to Mexico for a week. I would recommend it to anyone who isn't quite a professional, but desires great photos.
5/30/2004 5:10:57 PM
 
Amir Abbas A. Mooman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2004 4:11:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2004 4:11:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2004 4:11:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2004 4:11:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2004 4:11:41 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the best thing
5/26/2004 4:11:41 AM
 
Debbie Capizano
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 9:57:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 9:57:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 9:57:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 9:57:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 9:57:30 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My first digital camera. I love it! So far hasn't let me down. I have yet to learn all the functions but enjoying learning the technical stuff. Fully auto and fully manual. Built in flash works great. Only downfall is plastic tripod mount, and rubberized input covers.
5/24/2004 9:57:30 PM
 
Margaret A. Landon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 6:55:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 6:55:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 6:55:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 6:55:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 6:55:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have only had the camera for about 2 weeks and so far I love it. It is easy to use, gets great results with auto settings yet has the flexibility to let me try manual settings also.
5/14/2004 6:55:08 AM
 
ROBERT  GONZALEZ 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2004 6:16:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2004 6:16:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2004 6:16:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2004 6:16:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2004 6:16:13 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
GOOD CAMERA
5/9/2004 6:16:13 AM
 
ROBERT GONZALEZ 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 6:03:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 6:03:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 6:03:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 6:03:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2004 6:03:40 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great camera. For the photographer on a budget. This has everything.
5/8/2004 6:03:40 AM
 
Wilson Tsoi 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2004 2:58:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2004 2:58:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2004 2:58:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2004 2:58:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2004 2:58:54 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Best compromise for light travel camera. PRO: 1. Size: Small enough to fit in jacket pocket, but still large enough to hold in one hand with confidence. 2. AA Batteries: Easy and economical to replace (use NiMH rechargeables.) 3. Flip-Out LCD Screen: Although small, serves the purpose of different angle/orientation of shooting. 4. Manual Exposure Overide: For flexibility and total control. 5. Available 52mm Adapter: For further flexibility with polarizer or other 52mm front attachment. 6. Available Under-Water Housing: Great for occasional under water work or in adverse environment. 7. 4 Megapixels & Larger Sensor: Better than the A60, A70, and A75's 2 and 3 megapixel model with cleaner images. CON: 1. No True Wide Angle Focal Length: Wish it has 28mm setting. 2. Only f2.8 at Widest Aperture: Wish it's at least a f2. Also, wish it's not f4.9 at the telephoto end (should at least be f3.5.) 3. LCD Screen Should Be Larger: Wish it's at least a 1.8" screen. 4. Noise At Anything Other Than ISO 50: Wish it's clean all the way to ISO 400. CONCLUSION: The most versatile little shooting machine I have ever come across.
5/5/2004 2:58:54 PM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 5:43:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 5:43:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 5:43:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 5:43:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 5:43:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. I am still figuring it out. But just leaving it on auto, it takes fantastic pictures.
5/3/2004 5:43:07 PM
 
Richard Walker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:32:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:32:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:32:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:32:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:32:25 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great little camera. Does most of what I need, but like others, I have the LCD screen a little small.Plenty of auto setting capabilities, with a good scope for manual control.
4/11/2004 4:32:25 AM
 
Richard Walker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:28:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:28:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:28:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:28:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 4:28:32 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great little camera. Does most of what I need, but like others, I have the LCD screen a little small.Plenty of auto setting capabilities, with a good scope for manual control.
4/11/2004 4:28:32 AM
 
Sue L. Canonico 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 7:49:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 7:49:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 7:49:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 7:49:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2004 7:49:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Slow shutter speed. Hard to get action shots because the subject's moved before the shot can be completed. Otherwise great camera.
4/7/2004 7:49:21 PM
 
Dan Adams 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 7:09:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 7:09:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 7:09:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 7:09:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 7:09:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
For a point & shoot camera I couldn't have asked for anymore. I honestly don't know how I lived without the swiveling/tilting LCD screen on my old digital camera. I wanted a point & shoot camera with manual controls to learn a little more about photography and this camera offered everything I needed.
4/4/2004 7:09:20 PM
 
Pearl Foo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 1:10:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 1:10:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 1:10:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 1:10:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 1:10:04 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
What I like about it - feature-packed and includes manual-mode for a small size - user-friendly for amateur like me - uses AA-sized batteries, a requisite for me What I do not like - No battery indicator to show current energy level
3/29/2004 1:10:04 AM
 
Rachelle Morvant 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 7:17:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 7:17:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 7:17:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 7:17:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 7:17:31 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have only used it functionally as a way to digitize my prints. I take pictures of my pictures with A80 since i don't have a scanner. The camera is great. I get available light with this thing that i couldn't dream of w/ my manual (at least not w/out a tripod and three minute exposure time.)
3/27/2004 7:17:31 AM
 
Susanne Wendlandt 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 7:45:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 7:45:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 7:45:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 7:45:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 7:45:55 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good,clean picts. zoom lens great!!
3/25/2004 7:45:55 PM
 
Michelle L. Paul 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 6:17:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 6:17:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 6:17:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 6:17:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 6:17:05 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera takes double A batteries and seems to go through them very fast. I purchased an add on battery pack that fits into the tripod stand. Good zoom and lots of options. Still having a hard time with closeups.
3/23/2004 6:17:05 AM
 
Larry Crystal 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:00:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:00:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:00:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:00:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:00:26 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excellent little compact camera with wonderful color satuation
3/21/2004 7:00:26 PM
 
SHANNON M. GUILDFORD 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 2:43:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 2:43:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 2:43:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 2:43:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 2:43:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I LOVE THIS CAMERA. IT HAS 11X ZOOM FEATURE AND A FLIP LCD SCREEN THAT IS SO NEAT. THE ONLY THING I DO NOT LIKE ABOUT THIS CAMERA IS THE SLOW SHOOTING.
2/18/2004 2:43:31 PM
 
Wing Wong
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/8/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 12:02:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 12:02:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 12:02:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 12:02:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 12:02:33 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Bought the A80 for my girlfriend, but had a chance to "test drive" it before changing hands. :)

The A80 is nice as most pictures taken with it will turn out looking the way you xpected it to. The swivel LCD display comes in handy when you want to take a self portrait or a group self-shot. It also makes getting over crowds real easy.

The 3x optical is nice for most close shots, but can feel a bit confining. But that might just be because I like using telephotos more. :) In either case, the lens is sharp and the 4MP sensor provides more than enough detail to produce good pictures.

The write speed to the CF card is highly dependant on what CF chips you buy. I went with a couple of Kingston 256MB CF chips and that lasted my GF a good solid week of shooting in Florida. The Kingston CF are rated at about 1.2-2.0 MB/sec write, so they can keep the shots going. When I was taking pics with the camera, I didn't find myself waiting too long.

The doors for the batteries and memory chip are a bit "iffy", but then again, this is a digicam and not a pro camera, so it is on par with what is out there.

I personally really liked the camera and had I not decided on another camera already, I would have gotten one for myself as well. ^_^

Notes: Get 2000mAH NIMH batteries. They will last a good day or two of solid use. If you must get low cost CF cards, make sure they can do at least 1.2MB/second. Otherwise known as 12X or faster. Otherwise, you might find you are waiting for the images to write while you miss a shot!

2/9/2004 12:02:33 PM
 
Jessica M. Trimmer 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 1:57:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 1:57:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 1:57:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 1:57:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 1:57:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the ease of options. I wanted something with manual settings and "point and shoot" settings. I am enjoying having a digital camera for many reasons. I can view the pics right after I take them and delete if I don't like them- I don't worry about wasting film. I can take vivid color, black and white or sepia tone all on the same "roll." I haven't added a tripod to my arsenal yet, but when I do... boy howdy. Look out world!
1/19/2004 1:57:41 PM
 
Anne Vineyard 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 6:47:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 6:47:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 6:47:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 6:47:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 6:47:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
it's new, so haven't found much that i don't like about it. for a novice to digital photography, this is perfect.
1/18/2004 6:47:16 AM
 
Melissa B. Helms 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:09:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:09:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:09:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:09:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:09:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I never thought I'd go digital, but my husband bought this for me as a Christmas present this year and I already love it. It's a very nice little camera and has all kinds of features which I'm still getting used to. It's very versatile and takes great pictures. I just love the whole concept of being able to review pictures immediately and then being able to keep and delete them at my own leisure. The viewing screen is wonderful because I can hide it away when not in use so it doesn't become scratched or dirty. Overall, a highly recommended camera!
1/5/2004 9:09:48 AM
 
Ben R 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:52:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:52:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:52:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:52:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:52:44 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
ShutterSpeed has lag other wise it is great!
1/3/2004 7:52:44 AM
 
Ben R 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 2:03:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 2:03:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 2:03:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 2:03:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 2:03:55 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good
12/23/2003 2:03:55 PM
 
Kelly K. Whittlesey 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 8:52:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 8:52:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 8:52:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 8:52:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 8:52:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am an amateur digital photogropher and I love this camera so far but it really sucks up the batteries so make sure and get a charger. Also not happy with the red eye reduction feature. It could possibly be the person taking the pics!
12/16/2003 8:52:01 PM
 
Keith W. Boone 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 7:34:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 7:34:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 7:34:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 7:34:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 7:34:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If not for the fact that the door to the memory card is a little cheap, this camera would be perfect. You have to put your hands on this baby, and then take a photo. The A80 is a reason for Canon to consider them selves' the best and the A80 is proof.
10/31/2003 7:34:40 PM
 

118 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot A80 Digital Camera from Amazon.com