Av-1 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Buddy
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Michael Dolero 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2006 7:13:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2006 7:13:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2006 7:13:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2006 7:13:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2006 7:13:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
set the aperture, focus, shoot. I love this camera so much. I don't worry about my picture cuz I know it'll be fine when it comes out form the lab. BUT most of the times I forgot to drop stops when i'm under the sun, so I get washed out images.
9/18/2006 7:13:09 PM
 
barbara lesselbaum 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 8:32:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 8:32:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 8:32:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 8:32:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 8:32:41 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Been using this camera and associated lens and filters for years --- it's my old reliable camera
5/11/2006 8:32:41 AM
 
Gregory Westford 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:39:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:39:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:39:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:39:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:39:49 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had this camera for over 30 years and it has never let me down.I have been all over the world and to many amazing places and I continue to gety reliably good pictures from this antiquated system.I plan on getting a good digital SLR someday,but I doubt I will ever give up my old rugged Canons.
10/19/2005 7:39:49 PM
 
Sonja  Gribble 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:44:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:44:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:44:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:44:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2005 8:44:56 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Its simple and easy to use
9/3/2005 8:44:56 AM
 
H. Haryati 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2005 8:29:23 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2005 8:29:23 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2005 8:29:23 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2005 8:29:23 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2005 8:29:23 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is a 25 old camera, and still in a very good condition and I don't find any difficulity to use it. It's really a classic and simple camera.
5/14/2005 8:29:23 PM
 
Marius C. Barbulescu 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 2:12:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 2:12:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 2:12:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 2:12:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 2:12:20 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera! Good built! No exposure time control... that's a minus! Owned it for 6 months! Overall, a good camera!
2/14/2005 2:12:20 PM
 
Allie D. Pruitt 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 8:28:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 8:28:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 8:28:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 8:28:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 8:28:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The camera takes wonderful pictures. I wish I had a longer zoom on it but that will come in time.
12/14/2004 8:28:44 PM
 
Paul Saunders 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 7:14:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 7:14:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 7:14:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 7:14:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 7:14:40 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Another old camera, but I like how it handles, The canon FD lenses were superb in their day, and still are. The only thing I don't like is relying on the battery, and it's not fully manual.
8/17/2004 7:14:40 AM
 
Carter S. Ammon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2004 7:12:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2004 7:12:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2004 7:12:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2004 7:12:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2004 7:12:23 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have a Canon AV-1 (backup to my A-1). The AV-1 is an excellent camera that is aperture only. Set the F-stop and let the camera do what it wants.

About 2-3 years ago, a buddy of mine totally GAVE ME his whole bag of gear, as he went fully digital! You got it.... Canon AV-1, 50mm f1.8, 28mm f2.8, and 135mm f2.8 lenses. Plus a 2X teleconverter and a Vivitar flash unit. Absolutely FREE!

The AV-1 got me started in photography. It takes wonderful photos of landscapes, scenery, and macro shots. The only downside I see with the AV-1 is you have no control over the shutter. (i.e. You can't go into full manual mode and override the shutter). But as I said, it is a wonderful camera and takes incredible photos. Set the F-stop, focus, CLICK! It's that easy! :)

6/18/2004 7:12:23 AM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2003 10:29:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2003 10:29:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2003 10:29:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2003 10:29:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2003 10:29:15 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The AV-1 is not a popular camera, and goes for $40-50 on auction sites. You set the aperture, and the camera sets the shutter. This method is what pros use. The aperture is more important, unless you need a fast shutter to stop action. There is a 1 1/2-stop backlight mode for situations in which your subject is in shadow, and you don't want the bright background to over-influnce you meter reading. Suppose you want 2 stops of overexposure, instead of a stop and a half? There's a workaround. The ASA dial is very easy to set. Change ASA 400, for example, to ASA 100. That's 2 stops. I use mine as an inexpensive back-up camera, with a wide angle pre-set to a hyperfocal 10 feet out. This set-up makes a great little street shooter.
12/15/2003 10:29:15 AM
 

10 Reviews