BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


FinePix S3000 Digital Camera


Fuji

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

b/w daffodils
View photos created with this camera

The FinePix S3000 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 3.2 million pixels
  • 1.8-inches amorphous silicon TFT LCD monitor (62,000 pixels)
  • 1/2.7-inch CCD Sensor (Number of Total Pixels: 3.34 million
    pixels)
  • Storage media expandable from a standard 16MB(included) to 512MB
  • 6x optical zoom

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


32 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Johanna S. Billings
BetterPhoto Member
jsbillingsphoto.com

member since: 7/16/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I think this is a really good all-around camera, especially as a starter camera. It is very versatile, takes good quality photos -- especially good with details -- and is lightweight and easy to carry. It has a macro setting, which I have used with great results. Drawbacks -- it's not particularly fast, so it's best for shooting still life, rather than action. It can be tricky in low light but does very well. You just have to hold it very steady and take a lot of shots. I have gotten many great, highly-focused and detailed shots when the light meter told me I would need a flash. I've just been patient and try to brace my body against something when I shoot to hold still. It also has an optical zoom, as opposed to a digital zoom, so you get good detail when shooting from far away. It's not the most powerful zoom, though, so you have to be creative and use your brain to compensate for what the equipment can't do. In a way I like that because I have learned a lot.

I want to get a DSLR. But for now, I am doing really well with this little camera.

8/1/2007 9:46:22 AM
 
D. E. Kincade
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/28/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My Fuji is my entry digital camera...I am quite pleased with the quality work I get out of it. I intend to purchase a "high end" digital soon.
10/28/2005 10:42:30 PM
 
Roger phaneuf

member since: 7/28/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
the iso is not good when i shoot at nite
7/28/2005 10:07:56 AM
 
 

member since: 7/12/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's a good camera if you know how to be creative with it and use some tricks with focusing ,like choose the same distace object to focus on and then keep it locked till you shoot the object you want ..the only bad thing is that you can't do that in a dark area.
7/12/2005 9:19:36 AM
 
Julia a. Dixon
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/12/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
my camera is real slow when i take pics...i want faster... because my kids move too much... this camera wont let me using it faster when i see the smile or person who move around and camera will move more then a sec... as u know the baby is hard to catch the smile. so u have to hurry up to take chance to try to catch it but my camera dont do that...this camera is not good enough to wait for it ready to click i have to wait until it is ready to able to take pictures. but my other camera with film is faster enough to able to click faster not to have to wait until the camera is ready to take pictures more than a sec but i want digital camera plus the click wont let me take pictures. i have to push so hard to take pictures.. plus i have to remember to open the flash. if i don't then the picture are blur when i am taking pic of kids or anything. but if i just put camera down then i dont need some flash if it a enough light. this camera fujifilm sometime dont get best color sometime it too bright or too dark when i am inside the house.. when i go outside it make it so bright.. but as less i have camera for a little while until i get the best one... my camera is might be worn out bec i take pics over 500 hundred and up everyday or other day... take alot of pic of my girls and other things and places. i take camera everywhere i go. i can't live without it.. or i go crazy.. so the camera is okay for now.
7/12/2005 4:28:16 AM
 
Chris Ryan Seto

member since: 6/27/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Barely a three, I loved this camera when it was purchased. However, a few months into using it, i became annoyed with a few of its features. It has a very slow start up speed, shoots very poorly in low light situations, and the auto focus seems to only works in the perfectly lit situations. But, it did what it needed to do, and im pleased that i have moved on past that camera.
6/27/2005 11:28:46 AM
 
Judy Williams
earmarkphotography.com

member since: 4/24/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I sometimes can't get the photos in focus as easily as I could with my old Nikon Cool Pix 800.
6/25/2005 10:15:14 AM
 
Fara 

member since: 6/11/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
As an amauture I really don't have too much expereince. :)
6/11/2005 6:54:26 PM
 
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my first Digital Camera. I'm not very familiar with Digtals, so i can't compare it to others. It has a high zoom, which helps when taking pictures of small subjects with macro-mode. I like that the flash can be adjusted as needed, or set to auto. While at the same time, the camera computes what it thinks is best, when my opinion may differ. Overall, i suggest this as a first Digital camera for begginers, and would like to stick with the Fujifilm company.
6/8/2005 11:36:29 PM
 
William L. Woods

member since: 5/29/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Not the camera I want for ever, but for the money it is nice. Needs more lense that can be added!
5/29/2005 7:31:16 AM
 
Teresa L. Girdner

member since: 5/22/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
this is my first digital. i love to see the pictuers right then.
5/22/2005 6:56:00 PM
 
Ann S. Trik

member since: 5/1/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is awsome. There are many different things i can play with when i am using this camera. The night vision is very good, moreover, it has a really good option of making the eyes not appear red when pictures are taken inside the building.
5/1/2005 1:04:39 PM
 
Frank mcmenimen

member since: 4/27/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Fun camera for a first time digital. Hard to adjust for quick change of conditions.
4/27/2005 6:29:05 AM
 
David R. Beth

member since: 4/16/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good for photos I take.
4/16/2005 5:07:42 PM
 
Christian Lobo

member since: 1/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Color Quality I dislike how it sometimes can't focus in darkness but I guess that's normal
1/24/2005 4:36:19 PM
 
Debbie S. Shaffer

member since: 1/21/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. It has alot of different settings to use in different situations. It's great for action shots ( like hummingbirds). With the 10x optical zoom you can getup close and personal.
1/21/2005 7:57:05 AM
 
Hina Mistry

member since: 10/18/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera at low price!
10/18/2004 3:54:15 PM
 
Kathryn  Craddock

member since: 10/17/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
can't stand the delay when snapping shot.
10/17/2004 4:19:08 PM
 
Riley Reese

member since: 10/11/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love the camera! It is easy to use and maintain. The zoom is a 10x and not the best but works well enough. It works great for taking pictures of the kids and anything else we decide to photograph.
10/11/2004 2:52:42 PM
 
Enis Mahmutovic

member since: 10/10/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good camera for everyday use. Using a tripod helps in preventing blury images. Needs to shoot from closer distance nights and a us of a tripod. Not good for sports. Very simple camera with great auto option. Need to read manuals throughly if you want to take great images.
10/10/2004 8:47:27 AM
 
Kathryn A. Craddock

member since: 7/26/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I think this camera is a fine piece of equipment - But I quickly out grew it with the need for a faster sport scene (taking a consecutive # of pics per block of sec) and their is a delay in capturing the photo - What I see in my viewfinder when I click is not exactly what I get. Just have to work with the handicap until I upgrade.
7/26/2004 2:11:30 PM
 
Mary H. Lindsey

member since: 6/30/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is good quailty digital camera with the max of 3MG. It was affordable (less than $300) and can receive both tele phots and wide angle lens (despite what some sales people may tell you). Unless you need to capture more than 3 MG's of info - this is a suitable choice. I found the wording in the LCD screen was larger and easier to read than other makes, which made changing the setting much easier. It uses the xD Picture Card - if you have other memory cards - check the size of your reader for compatability. Draw back: It has an interior flash but NO HOT SHOE - which makes getting a slave flash mounted difficult (or impossible - have not solved this problem yet). The wide angle lens exceeds the diameter of the mounting fitting and will cast a shadow when you use your interior flash - but you can use it despite the manual saying you can not.
6/30/2004 4:24:09 PM
 
Diana Porter

member since: 6/19/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera, it does everything I need for just starting out. Plus it takes great pics.
6/19/2004 11:31:27 AM
 
Maurice D. Welsh

member since: 5/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
love this little camera. sharp pictures.
5/16/2004 12:57:52 PM
 
Jessica  L. Bishop

member since: 4/24/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Overall I like this camera; I think it takes really nice, clear pictures. I don't like the LCD screen. It's really hard to see your pictures so you can't be certain of the quality of the shot until uploaded to the PC. I wish I could get better close-up's, but it doesn't seem to do good with that even using Macro.
4/24/2004 8:12:31 AM
 
George Sladic

member since: 4/12/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first Digital Camera. I received it for Christmas, and like it. Has lots of features and settings, but lacks a Hot Shoe.
4/12/2004 2:05:33 PM
 
Stan M. Juchno

member since: 3/2/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very hard to take "action" pictures because of blurs
3/2/2004 6:16:28 AM
 
Suzi McCanna

member since: 1/21/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fuji 3000 is an excellent digital camera. Fits nicely into your hand for better control. Pics are easy to take with good options. The 6x's zoom works nicely for distance shots, and the overall camera is a delight to use.,
1/21/2004 8:20:11 PM
 
Hank W. Miller

member since: 12/5/2001
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Have not had the camera long, so I am just trying to learn how to work it.
12/29/2003 3:58:05 PM
 
carolyn D. green

member since: 2/22/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
JUST RECIEVED CAMERA A LITTLE OVER A MONTH AGO. NOT SURE EXACTLY OF MY OPINON YET.
12/26/2003 8:15:42 PM
 
Angela W. Smith

member since: 11/21/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes excellent quality pictures, do not like the fact that you have to use the speed setting in order to get a good shot at night. Still learning more about camera and working with it, overall very good camera though.
11/22/2003 12:07:19 AM
 
Emily Malsam

member since: 11/9/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera, but I don't like the fact that the videos have no sound. Also, I'm not sure if the 3000 is the same as the s3000 so I'm just guessing.
11/9/2003 1:21:44 PM
 

32 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy FinePix S3000 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.