Maxxum 3xi 35mm SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Teddy Bear
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 18 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Carlee Hettrick 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2006 7:29:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2006 7:29:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2006 7:29:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2006 7:29:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2006 7:29:36 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have owned the Minolta Maxxum 3xi since 1994. It has been the only SLR camera I have ever owned. I have been very happy with it. I take all kinds of scenic, close up and concert pictures with it and it is easy to point and shoot. The auto focus is great. I only had one problem with it in late 1999-early 2000 where it shut down on me so I took it in to a camera place and it cost $125 to fix. I have never had a problem with it since. The battery lasts a whole year taking lots of pictures. I have been using kodak 800 ISO film and the pictures come out fantastic. It's a great camera.
8/20/2006 7:29:36 AM
 
Laura J. Campbell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:19:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:19:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:19:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:19:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:19:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought this camera mainly because I needed a camera with a flash, and I couldn't find one for my other camera. It takes great pictures outside and inside. The lens has a f-stop upto 22. Camera also has a lock feature to save on the battery. I like the fact that it has a timer which is handy for self portraits. Also has a hot shoe, so that I can use different flashes. Automatic film rewind and nice grip.
2/27/2006 1:19:20 PM
 
Jennifer M. Prentice 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 8:31:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 8:31:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 8:31:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 8:31:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 8:31:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great zoom, clear image, takes pics in any conditions
2/3/2006 8:31:43 AM
 
Shobin George
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 10:25:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 10:25:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 10:25:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 10:25:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 10:25:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A very good SLR camera very easy to use and best for the beginners.
10/30/2005 10:25:37 PM
 
Julie J. Workman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/14/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 10:00:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 10:00:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 10:00:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 10:00:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 10:00:42 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the range of pre-set options I have for shooting. Having the ability to auto vs. manual focus is nice as well. I wish that I had the option for manual exposure settings.
10/14/2005 10:00:42 AM
 
Chele 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/19/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 12:05:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 12:05:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 12:05:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 12:05:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 12:05:14 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had this camera for 13 years and it has never disappointed me. I bought it for $450 when I was 16 years old. Never had a problem. Great point and shoot.
2/19/2005 12:05:14 PM
 
Kenneth R. Jackson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 9:47:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 9:47:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 9:47:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 9:47:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 9:47:46 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good Camera, but a little slow on the capture...
2/7/2005 9:47:46 AM
 
Ken R. Edwards 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 5:45:06 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 5:45:06 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 5:45:06 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 5:45:06 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 5:45:06 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Like it. Strange flash.
9/1/2004 5:45:06 PM
 
Candy Daughton 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 5:41:40 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 5:41:40 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 5:41:40 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 5:41:40 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 5:41:40 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
it was a gift. it has not been the most reliable .... shutter stuck ... today it's not rewinding the film properly. very touchy little thing. would not buy another one. plan to go to canon eos system.
7/18/2004 5:41:40 PM
 
Chuck Freeman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 12:52:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 12:52:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 12:52:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 12:52:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2004 12:52:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
One of the finest little almost completely manual Cameraas that anyone could own. Purchased for $150 without lens in 1978 and shot over 800 rolls of film w/out any trouble. Sold to a friend whom still has it, not sure if it has survived his kids. But great camera...
7/18/2004 12:52:33 PM
 
Kristi Martin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:57:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:57:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:57:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:57:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:57:23 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the first camera that I ever purchased and I love it. I have had it for about 10 years. It takes wonderful pictures and is easy to use. Of course the older I get the more I don't like to learn new things, but I have purchased another Minolta as a back up to this one due to the age of the 3xi.
7/13/2004 9:57:23 AM
 

First 10 of 18 Reviews  (see all user reviews)