Ixus 400 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control





After the Rain
View photos created with this camera

The Ixus 400 Digital Camera

Features:




  • Fully-featured, beautifully styled
  • Super Hard Cerabrite Finish
  • 4.0 Megapixel CCD
  • Approx. 11x combined optical and digital zoom
  • Movie mode with sound
  • High performance DIGIC processor
  • 9 point AiAF
  • iSAPS technology
  • Direct Print
Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


16 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
BoB  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:15:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:15:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:15:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:15:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:15:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Takes the best picture. I really don't think you will find any other that takes as good of picture as this camera does
9/11/2008 7:15:05 AM
 
Jo Watson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 6:02:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 6:02:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 6:02:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 6:02:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 6:02:48 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I'm afraid I'm just a beginner and I don't really have any comparison. It does everything I want at the moment until I get some more experience. Then I'll think about getting something a little flasher.
6/29/2006 6:02:48 PM
 
Laura Jean Nicholson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 9:01:06 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 9:01:06 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 9:01:06 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 9:01:06 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 9:01:06 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My camera does its job and that is what's important. The quality of the photos however could be improved and the quality of the composition is sometimes lost due to the camera.
6/26/2006 9:01:06 AM
 
Christopher eric Cabahug 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 4:04:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 4:04:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 4:04:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 4:04:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 4:04:36 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i like that it's very user-friendly. would like a bigger lcd monitor, though, and more settings options for speed options, focusing, etc.
5/11/2006 4:04:36 AM
 
Christopher eric Cabahug 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 3:57:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 3:57:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 3:57:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 3:57:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 3:57:24 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i like that it's very user-friendly. but i'd like a bigger lcd monitor and more setting options.
5/11/2006 3:57:24 AM
 
Dondy Dona 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 10:39:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 10:39:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 10:39:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 10:39:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 10:39:43 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
no comment
8/14/2005 10:39:43 PM
 
Andreas Larsson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 9:03:43 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 9:03:43 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 9:03:43 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 9:03:43 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 9:03:43 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Like the small size and the good picture quality. The few manual settings where something i really liked in the beginning. One major drawback is that it feels very limited after a while. After using this camera for a year I really want something tha is more flexible. Still a very good first digital camera. If having a moderat interest it will do. But be aware...you might end up frustrated and dreaming of spending more money on a more advanced camera!
1/3/2005 9:03:43 AM
 
mary wilford 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 1:29:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 1:29:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 1:29:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 1:29:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 1:29:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
small and easy to take in the pocket while on travel
9/10/2004 1:29:30 PM
 
mary wilford 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 12:59:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 12:59:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 12:59:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 12:59:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2004 12:59:38 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
small
9/10/2004 12:59:38 PM
 
Azmir Ahmad Azman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2004 8:41:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2004 8:41:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2004 8:41:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2004 8:41:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2004 8:41:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
very sharp and clear photo
6/13/2004 8:41:50 PM
 
Jim Collier
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/4/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 7:54:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 7:54:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 7:54:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 7:54:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 7:54:38 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Actually the S300 2MP, which wasn't on the list. Great for it's size.
6/4/2004 7:54:38 AM
 
Feanne H. Mauricio 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 3:46:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 3:46:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 3:46:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 3:46:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 3:46:08 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I don't know about professionals (since I am not one), but I like this camera. It is convenient, with its reasonable size, so I can usually bring it with me anywhere. It is functional, with zoom capability and such. It is particularly easy to tweak things such as exposure, image resolution, etc. The LCD screen presents a clearn and accurate view of how the photo really looks like. I was able to setup its software on my computer, and am able to transfer camera images directly to Adobe Photoshop 7. The only thing I don't like about it is that I can't adjust the shutter speed enough to take nice clear images of moving subjects (such as bands performing!). And I want more megapixels :) although the images it produces are nice enough for 8x10 sized prints.
3/15/2004 3:46:08 AM
 
Mark Jones 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 3:03:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 3:03:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 3:03:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 3:03:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 3:03:04 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Just wanted to let you know I produce Large Format Photographic Prints from any medium: Digital, Printed Photos, and Negatives.

I use only HP Photographic Paper, including Gloss, Matte, Embossed, and Artist Studio Canvas. I also produce Backlit Signs on Clear Film for my Commercial Clients.

I use Dye-Based Inks Only, not pigment based inks. Pigment-based inks will fade after ten years or so...but not the Dye-Based.

You can visit my web-site for pricing:

www.letsbeprogressive.com

There are Customer Comments posted as well...under the "Quick Links" menu at the top right of every page.

Any questions, you can e-mail me at:

sales@letsbeprogressive.com

2/18/2004 3:03:04 PM
 
Ramoncito R. Bucud 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2004 7:35:14 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2004 7:35:14 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2004 7:35:14 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2004 7:35:14 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2004 7:35:14 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like this camera on trips when I do not want to lug around heavy equipment. Although I must confess I am still figuring out how to make it focus where I want it to go. It has difficulty taking pictures that are behind a fence or a grid. It focuses on the fence and not the subject. Otherwise, it is light and can take good photos. While it has a manual setting, it is not a real manual setting and can be frustrating for someone who wants more control.
2/3/2004 7:35:14 PM
 
Patrik Ps Svensson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 12:51:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 12:51:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 12:51:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 12:51:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 12:51:49 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
moze I bolje
1/25/2004 12:51:49 PM
 
Nadja Berberovic 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 4:35:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 4:35:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 4:35:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 4:35:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 4:35:59 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Almost perfect!
1/7/2004 4:35:59 AM
 

16 Reviews