BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Dimage A1 Digital SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Original image be...
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage A1 Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • World's fastest AF speed among 5-megapixel SLR-type digital
    cameras (August 2003)
  • 5-megapixel sensor creates 2560 x 1950 images for prints at 13
    by 17 inches and beyond
  • 7x optical zoom lens; digital manual focus (DMF) for fine tuning
    the shot
  • Anti-shake feature for sharper images; compatible with
    CompactFlash memory cards
  • Powered by NP-400 rechargeable lithium-ion battery pack or 6 AA
    batteries; connects with Macs and PCs via USB 1.1

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


50 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Borut 

member since: 7/2/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
First "more serious" camera. Handy controls, likable pictures,...
7/2/2006 3:30:15 PM
 
Dona Corben

member since: 10/3/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
User friendly. In bright sun, I can view photos through the lense after taking them to make adjustments. I wish it had more pixels.
6/22/2006 6:23:27 AM
 
SUSAN A. O'BRIEN

member since: 6/8/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I had this camera for a long time and eventually sold it. I liked everything about it except for the shadow noise.
6/8/2006 9:25:32 AM
 
Edward Wilcox

member since: 4/27/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I love this camera. I have only had it for a little over two years an it is outdated. I now want a camera with more megapixles and changeable lenses. Since Konica-Minolta is getting out of photography I guess I will be shifting to Cannon.
4/27/2006 7:56:04 PM
 
Federico Leproux

member since: 3/13/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
compact, but still good quality and flexibility. Note it is not SRL (not real you have an electronic reflex like viewfinder)
4/18/2006 8:27:24 AM
 
Ruth Bawarshi

member since: 2/26/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very versatile camera. 4.1 pixes which is more than enough. Only problem is in low light.
2/26/2006 7:51:47 PM
 
Radovan Grkovski

member since: 1/21/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like the speed and quality of pictures.
1/22/2006 1:17:21 AM
 
Gordon R. Urquhart
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/17/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love every aspect of the camera with the exception of tho: It's not a true DSLR, and the lenses are not interchangeable... Othe than that, I am very happy with the flexibility of this piece of equipment. It can be fully automatic, or manual...
11/17/2005 7:48:08 AM
 
Gordon R. Urquhart
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/17/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love every aspect of the camera with the exception of thwo: It's not a true DSLR, and the lenses are not interchangeable... Othe than that, I am very happy with the flexibility of this piece of equipment. It can be fully automatic, or manual...
11/17/2005 7:48:01 AM
 
Kiai 

member since: 11/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's pretty fast for a digital camera. But the downside is that images tend to get noisy easily.
11/14/2005 8:25:54 AM
 
Khurram Ashraf

member since: 10/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good Feel, Good AntiShake, Good Controls and ease of use
10/24/2005 2:42:31 AM
 
Mike Why

member since: 9/18/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a major step up for me. My previous camera was a RCA CDS1400. I'm still learning what my camera can and can not do...even after owning it for a year. I'm hoping with more practice I'll actually be able to take decent photos.
9/18/2005 5:04:14 AM
 
Jan Abate

member since: 9/16/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just got the camera 6 months ago, and I'm really enjoying it. I can rely of a electronic shutter and offer ultra-fast speeds. It's got a 5 megapixel which is a plus and excellent results with noise reduction I can go on! Just love it.
9/16/2005 5:44:24 AM
 
Robert E. Gaughan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
the Minolta A1 is a great camera for the Advanced Amature Photographer. I like it due to the many optiojs of control you have over the photos you take. The Dials are easy to use and reach with your thumbs. It performs well in both outdoor and indoor applications. The only think I dislike is the noise in the higer ISO settings, in any shooting mode. But it takes great photos non the less. I would reccomend it to the new SLR shooter that wants not to spends thousands on a SLR camera, yet have the control of one.
8/18/2005 5:08:48 PM
 
Connie L. Anderson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/10/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have really enjoyed this camera! I am still learning different features that it has to offer after having over a couple of years now. I really enjoy the macro capabilities that this camera has to offer.
8/10/2005 8:53:40 PM
 
Paul P. Pepero

member since: 7/26/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Awesome camera
7/26/2005 11:34:36 AM
 
GRETA E. CREECH
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/13/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent manual control and image quality. Only knock is the noise above ISO 100.
7/6/2005 3:49:14 PM
 
Al Gonzalez

member since: 7/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Not enough f-stop, LCD too small, slow recycle, features, photos excellent.
7/6/2005 10:36:52 AM
 
Jill Odice
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Jill
Jill's Gallery

member since: 7/1/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's my first digital camera and I am enjoying using it. It's easy to use.
7/1/2005 9:14:46 PM
 
Edward Drury

member since: 6/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Im very happy with the quality of the of the images and the various functions available on the camera. The construction quality is not outstanding (occasional red line appears on images & the ccd stutters for several seconds when powered on) and its difficult to get a good images in low light. Overall the responsivnness of the camera seems to be a bit slow, even though I have nothing else to compare it to.
6/14/2005 8:30:53 PM
 
Gordon R. Urquhart

member since: 5/9/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I believe it to be one of the greatest non-SLR cameras out there to date. I am still learning about Digital photography, and the features of this camera. I have had this since February, and everyday, a new feature that I learn comes in extremely handy. Eerything is user customizable, from the Aperture, to the zoom lens. Great colour reproduction, great weight and feel (feels just like my Dad's 35mm SLR), and expansion is unlimited! Worth the $800 I dropped for it (USED +A condition)! After I learn the technical aspects of photography, I will then consider upgrading to a DiMage MAXXUM 7...
5/9/2005 8:10:41 AM
 
Jorge L. Fontanez

member since: 5/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera has so many great features, very easy to use (once you start practicing). I would like better imaging.
5/6/2005 10:18:15 PM
 
David McCollum

member since: 5/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just got the camera. Was a heavy Canon A1 user years ago and got out of photography once it was gone. So far, this has been an unbelievable camera. Complete photgraphics control and very high quality. As with all digital cameras, there are some minor (and may I repeat MINOR)disadvantages but as far as the prosumer SLR type cameras, this one has to be at the top of the list.
5/5/2005 5:34:39 PM
 
Les Bell

member since: 8/31/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have used this camera for about a year now and have found it to be excellent.

It is easy to use, feels very well made with an all metal body and is capable of great results.

I use the fold out screen a lot for low level pictures - good for pet pics and just getting a different viewpoint - with an SLR you need to lie flat out to get these shots. One of the main reasons I bought it in fact.

It has a few points that aren't perfect though:

Manual focus is not easy and manual exposure settings are fiddly. I use it in aperture or shutter priority modes with auto focus on most of the time.

Vignetting is a problem at wide angle settings when using a screw-on polarizer. I overcame this by using a Cokin A series filter holder and circular polarizer - no vigenetting at all.

Overall I have been very happy with it.

5/2/2005 10:29:27 AM
 
Carlos A. Cruz

member since: 4/24/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A good mid level camel, best feature was it's pivot LCD worst feature was it was slower to boot up and take a picture.
4/24/2005 8:41:59 PM
 
John More

member since: 3/22/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, especially now I have the battery grip fitted with an extra battery.... battery life seems to last for ever.... manaul focus is good... menus and settings take a bit of getting used to.. over all its a joy to use
3/24/2005 3:25:17 PM
 
Thad J. Berkebile

member since: 10/9/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes beautiful pictures. Only gripe is the camera heats up after taking a lot of pictures.
10/22/2004 9:11:55 PM
 
Jeff Cullman

member since: 3/20/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Complicated menu system, good battery life, excellent photo quality.
9/7/2004 5:38:30 PM
 
Arthur A. Glazer

member since: 8/29/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the best digital camera I have owned to date - also the most expensive. I love the clarity of the shots. All the settings available make it so versitile. Very comfortable grip. The fact it has a manual zoom is a plus for me. It will focus well and quickly on a moving object in low light without a flash. The power button is on the grip which I hit inadvertantly at times just picking up the camera. Aside from that, there reall is nothing about it I don't like.Although the A2 has 3 more megapixels, I think the A1's 5 will suffice for me.
8/29/2004 3:13:10 PM
 
Bryan Walker

member since: 6/1/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I do like the camera it is easy to use and takes good pictures. There is quite a bit of noise with the zoom.
8/16/2004 5:53:52 PM
 
Emily C. Barker

member since: 7/29/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. There are a ton of bells and whistles and I am having fun playing with all the different capabilities.
7/29/2004 12:55:37 PM
 
Gus D. Thomas

member since: 6/28/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Since I was new to this type of camera it took a while to get used to. The book that comes along with it is poor. Aside from that it takes great photos and I amvery happy with it.
6/30/2004 5:51:53 PM
 
Tom Svensson

member since: 6/17/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Super outdoor camera
6/17/2004 1:40:57 AM
 
Kimberley Broyles

member since: 3/12/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I was spoiled by my Olympus C-2100uz's 10x, image-stabilized zoom. The A1 with its anti-shake technology was the closest I could get to IS lens with a great zoom without spending $1000 for a camera body and buying IS lenses. I miss the extra zoom from my Olympus, but since I can now crop fairly heavily with 5mp images, my images are usually satisfactory. I love the many manual settings possible with the A1, especially the custom white balance mode. The dials took a little getting used to, but I *love* having them all available on the camera body rather than buried in menus. The continuous focus has been fun to use while shooting my dogs and other moving subjects; it's also come in handy when macro shooting flowers nodding in a breeze. If it just had the 28-380mm equivalent of the Olympus C-2100, the A1 would just about walk on water. My husband uses the Olympus now - we're keeping it!
5/25/2004 9:19:13 PM
 
Robert F. Flowers

member since: 5/3/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
GREAT VALUE FOR THE MONEY HAS SOME ISSUES WITH LOW LIGHT FOCUS OTHER THAN THAT IT TAKES GREAT SHOTS.
5/3/2004 1:11:19 PM
 
Gerie Jones

member since: 8/17/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's ok just brought it getting use to it
4/20/2004 9:26:44 PM
 
Gerie Jones

member since: 8/17/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have just recently purchased the (Dimage A1) so far the only problem I have is that it is slow to focus in low light and regular light, images do not look sharpe through the view finder and the card door does not lock
4/3/2004 9:29:03 PM
 
Torrie Nicholas

member since: 3/8/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
So far this camera is Great! I am just a beginner but all of the options seem to be wonderful, I just need to learn all the lingo, and how to use them all. I love the size, it's a perfect fit for me. I also really like that you're able to attach a couple of different lenses to it, that I did not realize at first. The only thing so far that I do not like is that the LCD monitor and looking through the view finder the picture does not look very sharp until you view the photo after taking it. So it seems to be a little deceiving while taking the photo. But all in all, two thumbs up!!
3/8/2004 9:50:13 PM
 
Sam Branch

member since: 1/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Surprisingly better than I thought it would be.
3/5/2004 3:45:15 PM
 
Tom Lamb

member since: 2/16/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had this camera for several months now. Before purchasing I did extensive research on the web, as well as using my brothers Sony 717. This is an slr styled camera that is loaded with features as well as a great zoom(28-200 35mm equivilent). Along with the presets, there are many user defined settings. The image stabilization is a godsend when taking shots in low light with no tripod available. I have shot as low as 1/15 of a second with great results. This function, however should not be left on at all times as it heats up and will shut the camera down if it overheats. There is a button on the back to easily turn it on and off, and it is not in a location that will be mistakenly hit. Images have been great. Battery life is excellent (though the proprietary batteries are a bit pricey). This camera is an excellent choice for those who want the functionality of an slr but either don't NEED to have one or cannot afford it. TJL
2/16/2004 1:28:59 PM
 
Wing Wong
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/8/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Somewhat more detailed review:

The zoom ring on the A1 is rubberized and has a smooth action to it. The lens on the A1 is very nice and produces images with no chromatic aberration(purple/blue fringing). Using the camera feels quite natural and is very convenient to have the EVF and the LCD display. (I had the same with the Olympus C2100: EVF/LCD).

I like the fact that the camera has a PC Sync port(standard) as well as a hotshoe. This offers more options of external flash options which I sorely missed when using Olympus digital cameras due to their custom PC sync ports.

Peeves about the camera include:
- off-center screw mount at base of camera.
- door to CF card slot is not latched or otherwise restrained.
- noise and heat issues with camera
- camera control software doesn't work for Mac OSX

Overall, this is a great camera for someone who wants to progress onto the pro level DSLRs, but don't know if they will get the hang of the manual zoom rings and focus rings. Or for someone who wants the rings, but didn't want to deal with sensor dust from changing the lens.

I paid a good $750(after tax/shipping) for mine, but you can probably pick one up for between $600-$800 these days.

As with any digital camera, go with a good brand of compact flash. I use Kingston CF with mine and it works great. I rarely wait for images to flush out of the system. If I take continous photos with 3MP mode, I can take pictures until the chip is full.

The movie mode on the camera writes directly to the card and can go up to 15 minutes.

I have been using mine with close-up lenses from +1 to +10 for some macro shots. The camera handles well while taking pictures at various locations and feels solid to the touch.

The CCD stabilizer is motor based and isn't as good as a true optical stabilizer system, but it can be turned on/off at will, so no issues there.

Overall, a good camera at a good pricepoint. My only real solid complaint is the noise issue with the sensor once the camera warms up too much.

2/9/2004 12:15:36 PM
 
Wing Wong
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/8/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Overall, good handling. Placement of buttons are okay. The anti-shake system is okay, but not as good as a true optical stabilizer. The system also heats up too quickly, causing an increase in sensor noise. I shoot primarily at ISO100 with this camera and try to keep my exposures below 5 seconds to avoid noise issues. I use NeatImage to remove noice which appears in normal shots. The battery(NP400) provides very good battery life and with a 512MB CF card, you are good to go for a good half day. On one trip through a musuem, I only had to download the card to a digital wallet twice. During the same time, the battery ran low. So you will want at least one spare battery and at least 2 512MB cards, depending on your shooting. During the trip, I shot aproximately 300 photos.
2/8/2004 9:33:49 PM
 
Lucas C. Macedo

member since: 2/5/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent semi-pro digital camera, full of manually selectable features ( mostly through radio and push buttons which is a lot better than menus ), fantastic AS ( Anti Shake ) feature which compensates for small canera movements, superbly sharp and distortion/CA free 28-200mm (35mm equiv.) zoom lens with manual ring control. I already had the Dimage 7Hi, and bought the A1 due to the AS, better ergonomics and better battery.
2/6/2004 9:46:35 AM
 
Brandon R. Bathauer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/17/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Perfect
1/17/2004 6:33:53 PM
 
Howard Sandler

member since: 11/29/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have A1 sample shots at: http://www.pbase.com/hsandler/a1 I chose it for the high res EVF, good manual focus, good zoom range (especially wider angle than most) and anti-shake for available light portraits and telephoto. Replaces my broken Canon S30. After a few days of shooting test shots I have the following observations: -Anti-shake does really help. I got some good handheld shots of my kids at 1/20 of a second. -EVF is nice, as I prefer holding a camera to my eye, SLR style. It's good enough resolution to manual focus with the 2X magnified view; however see minor ergonomic complaint below. -Flash exposures very well done. My earlier cameras tended to overexpose faces in flash shots in dark rooms. The A1 gave me a good exposure. -Colour rendition is excellent for skin tones; howver see complaint of sky blue below -The A1 has excellent grip and feel, nice finish to the body (rubberized grib, matte black finish) solid build quality. Only exception is the zoom lens barrel, which is plastic and feels flimsier and less smooth in operation than metal SLR lenses. Problems -Camera froze while I was adjusting settings once, and I needed to remove the battery to reset it. Can't reproduce the problem again. -Manual focus after autofocus is a great feature, but to get a magnified view to make this useful, you have to reach over with your thumb to press the magnifier button while your shutter finger has already half-pressed the shutter. It would be much better if there was a setup option to automatically magnifiy the view 2X as soon as the focus ring is moved while the shutter is half-pressed. -Shooting in a dim pub, the autofocus did miss the right sharpness point on one or two shots out of about 20; however, I could see this in the EVF and could have corrected by manual focus if I had wanted to. -Blue seems to be rendered darker and more purplish than other cameras, at least shooting in sRGB mode. This is apparent in my blue sky samples, and I also see it in comparisons in dpreview against the Canon G5. I can easily alter the shade and saturation of blue in post-processing, however, using levels sliders on the individual colour channels. -Digital noise is there, even at ISO 100. It is more apparent if the image is at all underexposed. However, it is arguably about the same level as any 5 MP camera with a small sensor. There's really no alternative except a DSLR. The noise will not be apparent in many shots, except low light or very smooth backgrounds, e.g. sky or walls. Some initial attempts at noise reduction using the Noise Ninja software are posted in the samples and look very encouraging to me.
1/7/2004 8:45:12 PM
 
Carol A. Tingley

member since: 11/19/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE this camera. Very user-friendly for a long-time SLR film user.
1/7/2004 5:16:27 PM
 
Vicki L. Horn

member since: 4/18/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I bought the Minolta as an upgrade from my Olympus D-460Z, but haven't had a lot of time to really get used to it. So far I am mostly pleased with it - any problems I have been experiencing are most likely due to the photographer. :)
1/7/2004 2:19:44 PM
 
Robin L. Williamson

member since: 12/16/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm really enjoying this camera. While I have been able to observe the 'noise' problems that others have mentioned about the Minolta A1. I've only noticed on longer night shots. And the noise can be cleaned up in post processing. Otherwise, I've found this camera to be very responsive with a great set of features.
1/4/2004 9:20:57 PM
 
Fred W. Happy

member since: 4/26/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
There are may features on the camera that I am not familiar with. I am still trying to sort out some problems with the software package. I hope that this course will help me make full use of all the features offered by this camera.
10/18/2003 7:23:37 PM
 
Neal D. Haines
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/7/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Too new to rate, but so far it is excellent
10/14/2003 6:28:26 PM
 

50 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Dimage A1 Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.