BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


FS-1 SLR Camera


Konica

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

A Place To Call H...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


9 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Thomas E. Loughlin Jr

member since: 1/31/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The first time I picked up the FS 1 Konica, I knew I had a tool in my paws that I could use to make money..by making good photos. No tool is worth a hoot if it doesn't feel like part of you when you start using it. This thing does. It is beefy and rugged bur I guess some of the early Jap era plastic thingies were for the birds..like the X28 battery compartment in the strobe, and the battery compartment in the camera..but all you have to do is not force things, and change batteries like a pro does. The lenses are outstanding..and they are mild..(oops..wrong tesitmonial).. ONe must be very careful to ascertain that the film is hooked on and winding properly because I have messed up some importan thtings by not being doubly certain. Leave the winder handle up to watch it turn.... My FS 1 came to me broken..and I had it fixed, and I am so glad I did..
I like it better than my FT 1 ergonomically..and , of course, my main test is if I think that I can knock an attacker out cold by swinging a particular camera around my head on the neck strap a few times to get up a good head of steam and BONK!..This FS 1 will do the job, but for a really thick headed opponent, one needs a Contaflex Super or a Nikon F2. Pity I sold mine. But..back to Konica. These items are prone to having the motor drive stop working and creating heat in the camera from standing still and straining against the drive. Some say that this can be cured relatively simply..so get on the Konica SLR usergroup..KONICASLR and find out. Great piece...dirt cheap if you can get one running ...on ebay..you can trust SSEARSS for correct evaulation on these...and some others.
If you want a piece for danger duty where you want great photos but may not come back with the piece..this is the killer cheapo of all time...and it feels great to use. One fix is ususally good for a lifetime.
Tom Loughlin Jr.
1/31/2007 11:08:27 AM
 
Chris A. Perkins

member since: 12/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, very robust and easy to use.
1/30/2006 8:10:14 PM
 
Christopher R. 

member since: 9/17/2005
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
Although, I recieved a Konica FS-1 for a gift, I had to replace it. Although it had never been used. In the view finder there is a depth of field/aperature meter, which I personally do not like. I prefer the light meter needle. On the first week of use the self timer button broke and the light never turned off, which depletes the batteries faster. I do not suggest anyone gets this camera. Stick with an Olympus Om-1 or a Pentax K-1000
9/17/2005 1:52:26 PM
 
Luke A. Bain

member since: 1/23/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love konica lenses. Some of the best colors i've ever captured. The fs1 is great, auto advance unlike the preceding konica slr cameras, and the remote "bulb" is great too, if you can find one. If you own one look for the secondary shutter trigger for the remote spot.
1/23/2005 7:51:02 AM
 
Jim Catanzaro

member since: 12/23/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very nice camera ( Serial number over 500k) Works well in all sort of weather so far :)
12/23/2004 12:30:50 PM
 
John C. Schwentner
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/24/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Had this since 83 when it was new. Used it exclusively till I bought the digital. I still like it and use it. Have tons of accessories and lenses, so I cant ignore it! Its great for snapping sequences because of its fast autowind.
9/20/2004 8:33:39 PM
 
Bill Houghton
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Bill
Bill's Gallery

member since: 4/9/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
A really good film camera.
8/3/2004 3:04:52 PM
 
Bumsick Kim

member since: 7/24/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
nice camera, i've got some nice pictures from it. downside is, there's no aperature prority shooting.
7/24/2004 6:52:07 AM
 
Hollie M. Bradford

member since: 11/22/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's an awesome camera. All I use. It has lasted through 2 years of me, and that says a lot for anything.
11/22/2003 1:48:24 PM
 

9 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.