BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PDR-M700 Digital Camera


Toshiba

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Wild bee
View photos created with this camera

The PDR-M700 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 3-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create 2,048 x
    1,536 images for medium-quality prints up to 11 x 14
  • 10x optical zoom and 4x digital zoom for 40 x total
  • Continuous shooting mode at 4 frames per second; 2.5-inch LCD;
    full array of manual controls
  • Compatible with SD and MMC memory cards
  • Includes 4 AA alkaline batteries (rechargeables recommended);
    connects with PCs and Macs compatible with USB 1.1

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


9 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
kristen sellers

member since: 3/31/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera takes wonderful picture of almost every kind. It allows user of all ages to capture those get shots that you wouldn't get with just any camera. It is easy to use and understand.
3/26/2006 7:47:27 PM
 
Jim P.J. Lake

member since: 5/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
this is my first digital camera i lke the 10x opt zoom i really have no negative comments about the camera
5/8/2005 5:49:37 PM
 
LILIANA VLAD

member since: 4/5/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like the zoom of this digital camera. The manual control is good enough. The lens is good too. The bad think is that sometimes, apparently in bad weather conditions, the shooting button gets stucked. Other way, it is a good and affordable camera for amateurs photographers, of course...
4/26/2005 1:38:47 PM
 
Nihar Desai

member since: 3/8/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Its a pretty good camera if you get it cheaply else go for something with a anti-shake system. It has really good features and offers much for the learners. Good zoom, silent lens, zoom while in movie mode feature is great. Cons are slow lens, pathetic autofocus
3/8/2005 10:10:42 PM
 
Ian P. Stanley

member since: 2/23/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Update on this camera. I find it is a fair step up from the pdrm5 I was mainly using before. One problem I have found is with the pdrm5 photos were still sharp even with the digital zoom in use where as with the pdrm700 I find the digital zoom may as well have been left out for the most part. Still I will keep trying things with this camera and let you know if I have any other troubles or any highlights.
3/4/2004 7:24:09 PM
 
Ian P. Stanley

member since: 2/23/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Rating may change as I get more familiar with it.
2/23/2004 2:47:36 PM
 
James E. Van Dyk

member since: 2/7/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I found this camera to have everything I could want in a pixel camera.It has both auto focus and manual focus,Movie and still pictures standard AA batteries as well as recharable AA batteries. It is a 3.2 pixel camera and that is all I want it goes up to an 8 x 11 photo with the best quality possible.It has a 40X zoom that is the best I've seen. The best is the price you can get it on web for under 300.00 dollars With case an 16MB SD card
2/7/2004 10:30:20 PM
 
Lem Metro

member since: 8/15/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
An updated review of the Toshiba PDR-M700 digital SLR camera.

Toshiba has entered the digital SLR (like) wars with a fine budget priced, 3.2MP, 10X optical, full manual, EVF compact zoom.

What I like-Is the low price, Canon 10X optical zoom lens (.equiv. to 37-370MM), included adapter for 52MM filters & lens, soft carrying case & remote control, monsterous 2.5" LCD, no red eye, super fast 3.7 FPS high speed mode, good macro, a huge set of features including full manual control & a wonderfully simple & effective menu system.

What I don't like-No stabilization, no focus assist beam, no TIFF support, cheap plastic doors for media, battery & hook-ups, choppy LCD display, EVF in low light, noise levels above ISO 70, SD flash memory with no support for MMC!

Conclusion-Toshiba has a winner here. It compares well in picture quality & feature set with the competition, at a much lower price point. Using Canon glass was a great choice. This incredible lens has an f-stop of 3.1 at 370MM focal length! The LCD is so huge that even at 117K pixels, it can't quite deliver unchoppy video. It works well, other than that. The extensive feature set includes the fastest high speed mode I've seen, auto bracketing @ 3 or 5 frames, 15 FPR movies/sound, 2 manual white balance settings, histogram display in shooting mode, a unique overlay menu system & versatile AP/SP modes in addition to full manual control. If you have been looking for a big zoom SLR type camera, the Toshiba PDR-M700 might just be your cup of tea.

10/17/2003 12:42:05 PM
 
Lem Metro

member since: 8/15/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just bought it today. Toshiba's new 3.2MP compact ultra zoom, the PDR-M700 boasts Canon 10X optical glass, full manual controls, a camcorder sized 2.5" LCD, EVF, it comes with a soft case & a lens adaptor for 52MM filters, all at a 350 price point, out the door. I wanted to buy the Olympus C-740 or C-750 to compliment my Oly C-5050, but after reading all the reviews & comparing prices, I opted for the Toshiba. I can't wait to use it for nature & sports. A further review will be upcoming, once I have had a chance to check out all the camera's capabilitites. So far, it is exactly what I wanted.
10/11/2003 1:11:50 PM
 

9 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.