6 Medium Format SLR Camera


Kowa

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

Lady in Himachal
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


4 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Gabriel D. Brown
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/31/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 6:46:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 6:46:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 6:46:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 6:46:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 6:46:09 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a rather unique camera that I crossed paths with just after entering college. It's a 6x6 that can be loaded with either 120 or 220 film. It's a very sturdy camera, has a minimum focal length of about 2 ft. and it takes crystal clear photos, but unlike it's more popular counterparts(Hasselblad, Mamiya), it doesn't have a removable film back, and since it has been out of production for so long, finding capable lenses is a challenge.
1/31/2006 6:46:09 PM
 
Nick R. Sevastian 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 6:01:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 6:01:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 6:01:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 6:01:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 6:01:49 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent results in all areas. I would love to have some programs and features for sports and kids pictures.
12/28/2005 6:01:49 AM
 
Edward L. Robinson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 7:13:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 7:13:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 7:13:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 7:13:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 7:13:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm a Kowa "fanatic" these were Japanese SLR med.format cameras made late 60's and discontinued mid 70's. there were three bodie styles: Kowa66(w/interchangeable film backs)Kowa6 & Kowa6mm(w/mirror lock-up & double exposure capability)all bodies take 120 or 220 film. I have the 6mm & the 6. I've owned these for approx.7yrs. Initially purchased these cameras for the price; and was utterly suprised at the quality of their lenses. I have the black lenses; 150mm F3.5; 85mm F2.8 & 55mm 3.5. I have used these cameras for weddings; but mostly for studio work. The Kowa Company of Japan were/are renown for their optical manufacturing specializing in medical optics and "high-end" microscopes. The Kowas have gained a resurgence in the photo arena due to the fact that someone entering into med.format can put together a really complete system for around 900 - 1200 USD. Again, the quality of the lenses are spectacular, and I don't intend to ever part with these "Kowas"
12/31/2003 7:13:23 PM
 
Michael Daily 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 10:47:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 10:47:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 10:47:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 10:47:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 10:47:16 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
built like a tank this 6X6 medium format relic, can produce great pics. Has a seiko lense, that is the real story here. Limited number of fixed lenses and this camera is no longer being produced. Fun to shoot and experment with!
10/8/2003 10:47:16 AM
 

4 Reviews