F55 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Break a wing
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


34 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Vamsi A. Krishna 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2007 10:10:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2007 10:10:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2007 10:10:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2007 10:10:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2007 10:10:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the first ever camera I owned. I've been using it for the past six months and am still learning to use it to the maximum. Every time I stretch the possibility of getting a good shot, the camera seems to exceed the limit and gives me a great shot instead! Great one for beginners; suitable for experimenting!
5/16/2007 10:10:54 PM
 
Janine Van Der Linden 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 1:59:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 1:59:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 1:59:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 1:59:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 1:59:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first real camera and I love it. It has givim me great photos and is a lot of fun. The only down side is the manual was just in french and I had to look for it online. Other than that I love my camera
6/27/2006 1:59:57 PM
 
Michael G. Owens 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 7:20:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 7:20:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 7:20:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 7:20:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 7:20:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It isn't digital, and a wide-angle lens would cost more than some cars I've driven, but I tell ya... nothing beats a Nikkon!
1/30/2006 7:20:31 PM
 
Qasim Nagori
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/15/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:43:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:43:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:43:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:43:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 11:43:51 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Best for learners.
12/15/2005 11:43:51 PM
 
Ellayna R. Hamilton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:25:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:25:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:25:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:25:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:25:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera. I just need to learn to use it properly.
12/13/2005 7:25:18 PM
 
Amanda Bullock 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:45:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:45:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:45:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:45:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:45:17 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my camera could have a better scope for depth of field but everything pretty much does the job
12/8/2005 5:45:17 AM
 
Amanda Bullock 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 12:37:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 12:37:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 12:37:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 12:37:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 12:37:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my camera as it has many multi purpose functions on which is easy for me to understand.
12/7/2005 12:37:18 PM
 
Andre R. Conn 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 1:19:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 1:19:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 1:19:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 1:19:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 1:19:50 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Does most of what I need and wasn't too expensive. The main drawback is its lack of a depth of field preview function.
9/24/2005 1:19:50 PM
 
Dondy Dona 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 12:29:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 12:29:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 12:29:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 12:29:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2005 12:29:03 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i often use this, because i have no choice...
8/14/2005 12:29:03 AM
 
Janet K. Hueglin Hartwick 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 5:45:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 5:45:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 5:45:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 5:45:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 5:45:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am very happy with the camera.
8/10/2005 5:45:37 AM
 
Murat Seven
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/8/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 2:47:17 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 2:47:17 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 2:47:17 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 2:47:17 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 2:47:17 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Nikon F55 is my old camera. It's not yet.
8/8/2005 2:47:17 AM
 
algan nustekin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 2:25:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 2:25:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 2:25:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 2:25:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 2:25:18 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
it is best for people who are new to slr photography. autofocus, matrix metering, manual option is enough for me. handling grip is very nice. i would prefer extra winding motor accessory was possible.
6/21/2005 2:25:18 AM
 
Sujith Gopinath
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/26/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 12:10:48 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 12:10:48 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 12:10:48 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 12:10:48 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 12:10:48 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
The Nikon F55 has got both auto and manual focus and exposure modes. In addition to this, I like the multiple exposure and light weight. What I don'tlike are the plastic lens-mount, lack of depth-of-field preview, lack of cable release, slow flash synchronisation (1/90 sec), non-TTL flash, film prewinding and non-compatibility of VR lens and other accessories. The build quality is also not very sturdy, but being the cheapest option, I don't complain.
6/7/2005 12:10:48 AM
 
Amy E. Snider 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 8:38:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 8:38:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 8:38:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 8:38:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 8:38:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It takes fantastic pcitures that are clear and great colour. I dislike that I don't have the instant gratification of knowing my picture turned out.
5/25/2005 8:38:22 PM
 
Dirk Hertmans 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 1:19:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 1:19:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 1:19:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 1:19:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 1:19:15 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it's a great simple basic camera and very cheap compared to others, simple but gets the job done, film sometimes slips when loading also better not use the automatic settings (specially auto focus usually does not give you what you expect, viewer not so great in darker cicumstances
5/22/2005 1:19:15 PM
 
Moeen Ud Din 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:41:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:41:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:41:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:41:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:41:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy, accurate and durable
4/28/2005 2:41:37 AM
 
Babu Thomas 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 11:48:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 11:48:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 11:48:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 11:48:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 11:48:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Even though not very easy to use, gives good results.
3/15/2005 11:48:44 AM
 
Nadia Shakil
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/30/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 12:37:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 12:37:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 12:37:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 12:37:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 12:37:29 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
its cool
3/2/2005 12:37:29 AM
 
Nadia Shakil
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/30/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 12:36:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 12:36:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 12:36:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 12:36:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 12:36:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
camera is v good...its easy n has many functions that help us to shoot many things in dif ways n easily.
3/2/2005 12:36:05 AM
 
Sujith Gopinath 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:40:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:40:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:40:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:40:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:40:32 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I purchased the F55 out of my financial constraints.
The slow flash-synchronisation speed of 1/90, lack of depth-of-field preview, lack of cable-release socket and plastic lens-mount are causes of concern.
I am particularly worried about the plastic mount because I may have to use a heavy lens in the future. Further, I really miss the aperture ring of the lens, because the camera comes coupled with a G-lens. Also, the command-dial is not very fast in responding (while changing shutter-speed and aperture).
2/11/2005 8:40:32 AM
 
Sujith Gopinath 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:40:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:40:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:40:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:40:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:40:00 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I purchased the F55 out of my financial constraints.
The slow flash-synchronisation speed of 1/90, lack of depth-of-field preview, lack of cable-release socket and plastic lens-mount are causes of concern.
I am particularly worried about the plastic mount because I may have to use a heavy lens in the future. Further, I really miss the aperture ring of the lens, because the camera comes coupled with a G-lens. Also, the command-dial is not very fast in responding (while changing shutter-speed and aperture).
2/11/2005 8:40:00 AM
 
Sujith Gopinath 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:39:07 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:39:07 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:39:07 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:39:07 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:39:07 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I purchased the F55 out of my financial constraints.
The slow flash-synchronisation speed of 1/90, lack of depth-of-field preview, lack of cable-release socket and plastic lens-mount are causes of concern.
I am particularly worried about the plastic mount because I may have to use a heavy lens in the future. Further, I really miss the aperture ring of the lens, because the camera comes coupled with a G-lens. Also, the command-dial is not very fast in responding (while changing shutter-speed and aperture).
2/11/2005 8:39:07 AM
 
Sujith Gopinath 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:31:15 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:31:15 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:31:15 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:31:15 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 8:31:15 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I purchased the F55 out of my financial constraints.
The flash synchronisation speed of 1/90 sec, lack of Depth-of-Field preview, lack of manual ISO setting, Plastic lens-mount and lack of a cable-release socket are my greatest concerns.
I am particularly concerned about the plastic mount since I may have to use heavy lenses in the future. Further, I miss the aperture-ring greatly because the camera is supplied with a G-lens and the aperture-button-command dial combination is not very fast in responding (ie, changing the aperture and shutter-speed).
2/11/2005 8:31:15 AM
 
Karina R. Schutt 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 1:55:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 1:55:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 1:55:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 1:55:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 1:55:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I havint had much experiances with other cameras but I have had no problems with this camera, its simple and really easy to use. The one thing I dont like about it is I wish it were all black , other then that I love it
2/1/2005 1:55:15 PM
 
Arup Bhattacharjee 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:24:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:24:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:24:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:24:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:24:32 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Serves my purpose.
11/9/2004 4:24:32 AM
 
Arup Bhattacharjee 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:23:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:23:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:23:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:23:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:23:52 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Serves my purpose
11/9/2004 4:23:52 AM
 
Richard Strasbourg
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/1/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2004 7:56:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2004 7:56:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2004 7:56:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2004 7:56:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2004 7:56:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera, even if I'm still learning about it's features after over a year. I love it. Plain and simple.
11/1/2004 7:56:15 PM
 
Doug  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 10:01:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 10:01:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 10:01:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 10:01:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 10:01:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have purchased two N55's used on Ebay for my photo class taught teenage daughters. Of course I had to test them to be sure they worked okay. They have the basic 28-80 zoom, and I picked up two used 50mm f1.8 lenses also. They (me too) love them.

They like the flexiblity, light-weight, size, ease of use, etc. They think the N55 is Nikons "Mack Truck" in a "Ferrari Body".

They are state-of-the art intermediate level cameras.

6/24/2004 10:01:24 AM
 
Neerja Chauhan 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 4:03:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 4:03:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 4:03:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 4:03:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 4:03:18 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is a very good camera for ameture to learn good photography
6/7/2004 4:03:18 AM
 
Joey Shannon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:46:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:46:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:46:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:46:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:46:59 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, for a low price.
5/6/2004 8:46:59 AM
 
Joey Shannon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:42:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:42:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:42:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:42:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:42:47 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a great camera for beginners, great quality for a great price (369.99$ CDN). Great crisp pictures.
5/6/2004 8:42:47 AM
 
Rich Furman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 5:21:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 5:21:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 5:21:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 5:21:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 5:21:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera,I love it. I have always used ISO of 100 and the D100's minimum is 200 but so far it has not caused any concern with the many macros I have made.
2/10/2004 5:21:06 AM
 
Lelan Yong
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/14/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 5:52:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 5:52:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 5:52:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 5:52:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 5:52:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
F55 is a very good camera especially for those who just start and for beginners. This camera is very light and easily be carry around especially when travelling. It could be a fully manual operated or fully automatic camera. I love it.
1/9/2004 5:52:42 AM
 
Willie Chua 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 3:44:07 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 3:44:07 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 3:44:07 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 3:44:07 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 3:44:07 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I choose this camera because it is recommended by my lecturer who teach me photography .Moreover,Nikon is a famous brand which is recognised by the professional photograpers in the world ,this built up my confident to own it as a part of my life.As a beginner in photography,i try to learn the way to control shutter speed,aperture ,flashlight,play with double-exposed button,all this function can be found in Nikon F55,i think it is suitable for a new learner .But I hope to upgrade my camera in future.
10/18/2003 3:44:07 PM
 

34 Reviews