XG-A SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Jamaica
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jeff  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2006 7:38:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2006 7:38:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2006 7:38:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2006 7:38:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2006 7:38:03 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
While I have some sentimental value attached to my XG-A (my wife bought it new for birthday 25 years ago) it sat on a shelf mostly unused while we used point & shoots. While I also own both an X-700 & two Maxxums I put a roll of film into the XG-A and using the stock MD 50mm 1.7 normal lens took some beautiful photos. It's easy to use and feels nice in the hands being lightweight but not heavy/awkward. I like the ability to control depth-of-field via Aperture Priority mode. Yet, it's not a complicated camera to use and the viewfinder/prism is bright & precise. Get on Ebay & spend $50 for a mint condition XG-A with a lens or two & a user manual. You won't regret it.
7/31/2006 7:38:03 AM
 
Peggy E. Hogsett 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 2:13:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 2:13:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 2:13:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 2:13:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 2:13:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my canmera because it is vintage, a 1971, it is in great condition and was purchased off of E-Bay.
8/20/2005 2:13:02 PM
 
Hanna M. Brolander 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:30:26 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:30:26 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:30:26 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:30:26 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:30:26 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
It's REALLY old and not at all a good camera for anyone other than a beginner.
7/24/2005 5:30:26 PM
 
James R. Kyle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:37:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:37:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:37:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:37:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:37:49 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Having this camera as My Second choice when working with 35mm, the Motor-Drive is handy when photographing sports and wild life. It is my "Stand-By", next to the Minolta-101. They share the same compartment in the carry-box on shoots everywhere I go. - JK
10/1/2004 3:37:49 AM
 
Fred Mannerino 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2003 7:51:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2003 7:51:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2003 7:51:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2003 7:51:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2003 7:51:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A good camera that gave me good service. I won't part with it even though I am now into digital.
10/5/2003 7:51:44 PM
 

5 Reviews