BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Stylus Epic Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Point and Shoot Film Cameras

What I look like ...
View photos created with this camera

The Stylus Epic Camera

  • Sleek, compact body has all-weather construction and fully automatic operation.
  • New 35mm F2.8 lens with precision-crafted optical glass and aspherical lens elements offers exceptional light-gathering power for available-light photography and delivers high-resolution images of unrivaled sharpness and clarity.
  • QD version allows optional recording of date on film
  • Bright 0.45x real-image viewfinder makes framing your shots easy. Because the AF system measures camera -to-subject distance in three locations, focusing is easy even when your subject isn't in the center of the frame
  • Macro close-up capability allows exploration of the exciting world of macrophotography. You can shoot from as close as 14 inches and get brilliant macro close-ups with autofocus ease.
  • Intelligent variable-power flash provides soft illumination for more natural skin tones. It also fires when your subject is backlit, and in fluorescent or other artificial light, it fires to correct color imbalances.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


15 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
SID GRAUBARD

member since: 1/2/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I HAVE THE STYLUS EPIC QD CHAMPAGNE COLORED CAMERA. I HAVE RECENTLY STARTED USING KODAK'S PROFESSIONAL (36 EXP) 400/*UC FILM WITH IT AND THE RESULTS ARE ASTOUNDING. I AM GETTING PRINTS THAT ARE RAZOR SHARP COMPARED TO WHAT I WAS GETTING WITH OTHER FILMS. MY 8X10 PRINTS MADE ON MY HP PHOTOSMART 1215 PRINTER ARE EXTREMELY SHARP, ON KODAK PREMIUM PAPER.

*Ultra Color

5/24/2005 5:05:35 PM
 
SID GRAUBARD

member since: 1/2/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I HAVE THE STYLUS EPIC QD CHAMPAGNE COLORED CAMERA. I HAVE RECENTLY STARTED USING KODAK'S PROFESSIONAL (36 EXP) 400/*UC FILM WITH IT AND THE RESULTS ARE ASTOUNDING. I AM GETTING PRINTS THAT ARE RAZOR SHARP COMPARED TO WHAT I WAS GETTING WITH OTHER FILMS. MY 8X10 PRINTS MADE ON MY HP PHOTOSMART 1215 PRINTER ARE EXTREMELY SHARP, ON KODAK PREMIUM PAPER.

*Ultra Color

5/24/2005 5:04:13 PM
 
Jan Granato

member since: 7/23/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great little point and shoot camera.
7/23/2004 2:56:46 PM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com

member since: 6/14/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
We carry one as a back-up and for grab shots. As has been said, the lens is amazingly sharp. Remember to turn the flash off when it is not needed. Keeping it off will prolong battery life. Annoyingly, the camera defaults to flash on "when needed" when you open the cover. Rarely is it needed outdoors. I like it with 400 speed film.
7/9/2004 7:53:59 AM
 
Patti M. Erixson

member since: 5/17/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
i enjoy my camera. It takes very clear photos. I would like the benefit of night time shots, and a larger zoom. I am very happy with it.
5/17/2004 9:24:27 PM
 
Wicked Witch

member since: 1/29/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I think that you can get rather nice pics concidering the fact that it is point and shoot.
1/29/2004 10:09:00 PM
 
Maxim S. Pometun

member since: 5/10/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best $100 you can spend. Of course, manual controls like on Ricoh GR-1 would be nice, but for this price you can't really complain. Sharp lens, nicely built and designed.
9/10/2003 11:05:43 AM
 
John D

member since: 4/21/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
i have now a OLYMPUS V(Mju) as well as
the fixed lens model in black. the V IS
ALLmetal-COST BIT MORE than Mju 2.
+ Ricoh GR1v,(the best) & NIKON N/F 65
SLR. THE "V" Mju 105-has s speed of --
1/570. + is 'clamshell' also. there is
'spot'two lines only(no dot,as Mju 2)
+11 sensors. John
4/21/2003 2:48:40 PM
 
Brandon Meredith

member since: 9/9/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I agree 100% with the above reviews. I read all the hype on this camera and figured for under $100 (I paid $79) how much can you expect. WRONG. This little guy is great. The 2.8 lens is unbeatable and takes just as sharp pictures as my $700 Nikon N80. In fact I took 2 rolls of film outside with 100 speed film and could barely tell the difference. I do agree with the flash, use fast film indoors. I LOVE this camera. And I love the fact that you don't have to zoom. Anybody who knows about cameras will tell you a zoom on a point and shoot camera is worthless because the more you zoom the grainer the photos become. It's just a feature camera companies like to push to sell more cameras. That's why the professional SLR's cameras have to have good zoom glass, you can't get that on a point and shoot. So don't believe the hype on zoom lenses for point and shoots cameras, it's a waste of money. GO OLYMPUS EPIC BABY! 5 stars.
12/31/2002 2:18:41 PM
 
Franklin D. Forsythe

member since: 11/23/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
For a low end point and shoot, you cant beat it. I went and bought the collectors edition where they claimed to only have made 20,000 of them, just because I collect things. But as far as use, I rate it excellent. I drive a truck and ride a motorcycle so it goes with me at times on these trips and it so easy to carry, use, and the picture quality is very close to nikon in my opinion. Great backup camera or one to shoot wide vista's. Oh yea, the imitation panorama setting on mine is fun also. I'm keeping this one forever.
11/24/2002 12:47:02 PM
 
JOHN WALSH

member since: 5/22/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Ihave a 'OLY Mju 2' (as in Ossieland)
WONDERFUL LENS,1000 shutter,really compact & light,FIXED =better-as b-definition & faster. use 'SPOT'a lot & so easy. Got a LOWEPRO POUCH for it,& put on belt.Safe & easy to 'get out'.
I have a Nikon f/n65-SLR,but the 'Mju' is much "easier" in every way. pic's=just as good,some better than SLR. Not as much "studying"to do,either. & most pict's come out. Have a MINI TRIPOD ALSO. WISH=it was of metal
as the 'ricohs'? (one coming out-f5.6-105mm but only 1/570.possibly soon next year.(already-OK'D in EUROPE.)
10/16/2002 2:14:43 AM
 
JOHN 

member since: 7/3/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I only think the lens could be f/1.3 or something near that! I
8/27/2002 4:42:49 PM
 
Scott M. Wuerch

member since: 10/27/2000
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This one is my point and shoot and I love it. Small, extremely lightweight, and ready as soon as you open it up. I have used it on backpacking trips, travel trips, tossed it in my carry-on for short trips, etc. I have never been let down by the picture quality. Only downside is I wish the 35mm f/2.8 was a zoom AND f/2.8 as I occasionally wish I could get closer without having to walk there. A pretty impressive camera and I really don't think you'll find better quality, build or picture, in any other sub-$100 camera.
10/31/2000
 
Jeffrey Long

member since: 11/25/2000
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera, called the mju-II in Europe, is essentially a sharp 2.8 Olympus AF lens attached a tiny computer to a 35mm film in a waterproof case. The whole package is minute! If you relax and hold it still, it will deliver sharper shots than many a cheap SLR zoom, and in worse light. It has spot metering and focus, and the lock for those. It fits into the shirt pocket of the most petite. I carry one all the time. You get twice the resolution of APS film in the same size package and at half the cost. And the next possibility, the great Ricoh GR-1, is several times more expensive. There are zoom versions of the mju-II - the 70 or the 80 - but you pay for that with the f numbers. The advantage of a fixed lens is always sharpness and speed.

The flash is too bright close-up but great using the well-judged fill-in facility. The red-eye pre-flash is dreadful - white, bright and long - it startles your subjects. Correct these two things, Olympus, and I am first in the queue for it.

On my wish list is this camera with a fixed f1.7 24mm lens (about a 28 on an SLR) and an infinity focus button on the left hand side. The second item is this camera with a fixed 70mm (about 100 on an SLR) f.3.5 or so lens.

People say Olympus have never made a duff camera. (My SLRs are Pentax, by the way, also very compact.) Well, this is a gem. Forget all your P &S zooms, and that low-res digital consumer rubbish, take one of these on holiday with some Fuji Sensia II or Superia 400 if you must have prints- you'll be delighted.

 
Gilbert Chatillon

member since: 5/5/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I give it a 9 considering that it is a p/s and therefore intended for quick snapshots and travel pictures.

The flash leaves something to be desired. It's harsh and gives red eyes even in moderate shadows. A tip is to use film speed 400 or more with this camera so the flash doesn't have to blast too much.

The lens is something else. I believe it to be the very best in any p/s under $1000. My photo album contains pictures taken with this camera and pictures taken with Nikkor prime lens and you would be hard-pressed to tell which is which.

 

15 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.