Stylus Epic Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Point and Shoot Film Cameras

What I look like ...
View photos created with this camera

The Stylus Epic Camera

  • Sleek, compact body has all-weather construction and fully automatic operation.
  • New 35mm F2.8 lens with precision-crafted optical glass and aspherical lens elements offers exceptional light-gathering power for available-light photography and delivers high-resolution images of unrivaled sharpness and clarity.
  • QD version allows optional recording of date on film
  • Bright 0.45x real-image viewfinder makes framing your shots easy. Because the AF system measures camera -to-subject distance in three locations, focusing is easy even when your subject isn't in the center of the frame
  • Macro close-up capability allows exploration of the exciting world of macrophotography. You can shoot from as close as 14 inches and get brilliant macro close-ups with autofocus ease.
  • Intelligent variable-power flash provides soft illumination for more natural skin tones. It also fires when your subject is backlit, and in fluorescent or other artificial light, it fires to correct color imbalances.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
SID GRAUBARD 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 5:05:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 5:05:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 5:05:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 5:05:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 5:05:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I HAVE THE STYLUS EPIC QD CHAMPAGNE COLORED CAMERA. I HAVE RECENTLY STARTED USING KODAK'S PROFESSIONAL (36 EXP) 400/*UC FILM WITH IT AND THE RESULTS ARE ASTOUNDING. I AM GETTING PRINTS THAT ARE RAZOR SHARP COMPARED TO WHAT I WAS GETTING WITH OTHER FILMS. MY 8X10 PRINTS MADE ON MY HP PHOTOSMART 1215 PRINTER ARE EXTREMELY SHARP, ON KODAK PREMIUM PAPER.

*Ultra Color

5/24/2005 5:05:35 PM
 
SID GRAUBARD 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 5:04:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 5:04:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 5:04:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 5:04:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 5:04:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I HAVE THE STYLUS EPIC QD CHAMPAGNE COLORED CAMERA. I HAVE RECENTLY STARTED USING KODAK'S PROFESSIONAL (36 EXP) 400/*UC FILM WITH IT AND THE RESULTS ARE ASTOUNDING. I AM GETTING PRINTS THAT ARE RAZOR SHARP COMPARED TO WHAT I WAS GETTING WITH OTHER FILMS. MY 8X10 PRINTS MADE ON MY HP PHOTOSMART 1215 PRINTER ARE EXTREMELY SHARP, ON KODAK PREMIUM PAPER.

*Ultra Color

5/24/2005 5:04:13 PM
 
Jan Granato 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2004 2:56:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2004 2:56:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2004 2:56:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2004 2:56:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2004 2:56:46 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great little point and shoot camera.
7/23/2004 2:56:46 PM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:53:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:53:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:53:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:53:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:53:59 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
We carry one as a back-up and for grab shots. As has been said, the lens is amazingly sharp. Remember to turn the flash off when it is not needed. Keeping it off will prolong battery life. Annoyingly, the camera defaults to flash on "when needed" when you open the cover. Rarely is it needed outdoors. I like it with 400 speed film.
7/9/2004 7:53:59 AM
 
Patti M. Erixson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 9:24:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 9:24:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 9:24:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 9:24:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 9:24:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i enjoy my camera. It takes very clear photos. I would like the benefit of night time shots, and a larger zoom. I am very happy with it.
5/17/2004 9:24:27 PM
 
Wicked Witch 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 10:09:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 10:09:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 10:09:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 10:09:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 10:09:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I think that you can get rather nice pics concidering the fact that it is point and shoot.
1/29/2004 10:09:00 PM
 
Maxim S. Pometun 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2003 11:05:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2003 11:05:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2003 11:05:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2003 11:05:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2003 11:05:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best $100 you can spend. Of course, manual controls like on Ricoh GR-1 would be nice, but for this price you can't really complain. Sharp lens, nicely built and designed.
9/10/2003 11:05:43 AM
 
John D 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2003 2:48:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2003 2:48:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2003 2:48:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2003 2:48:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2003 2:48:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i have now a OLYMPUS V(Mju) as well as
the fixed lens model in black. the V IS
ALLmetal-COST BIT MORE than Mju 2.
+ Ricoh GR1v,(the best) & NIKON N/F 65
SLR. THE "V" Mju 105-has s speed of --
1/570. + is 'clamshell' also. there is
'spot'two lines only(no dot,as Mju 2)
+11 sensors. John
4/21/2003 2:48:40 PM
 
Brandon Meredith 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2002 2:18:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2002 2:18:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2002 2:18:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2002 2:18:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2002 2:18:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I agree 100% with the above reviews. I read all the hype on this camera and figured for under $100 (I paid $79) how much can you expect. WRONG. This little guy is great. The 2.8 lens is unbeatable and takes just as sharp pictures as my $700 Nikon N80. In fact I took 2 rolls of film outside with 100 speed film and could barely tell the difference. I do agree with the flash, use fast film indoors. I LOVE this camera. And I love the fact that you don't have to zoom. Anybody who knows about cameras will tell you a zoom on a point and shoot camera is worthless because the more you zoom the grainer the photos become. It's just a feature camera companies like to push to sell more cameras. That's why the professional SLR's cameras have to have good zoom glass, you can't get that on a point and shoot. So don't believe the hype on zoom lenses for point and shoots cameras, it's a waste of money. GO OLYMPUS EPIC BABY! 5 stars.
12/31/2002 2:18:41 PM
 
Franklin D. Forsythe 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2002 12:47:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2002 12:47:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2002 12:47:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2002 12:47:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2002 12:47:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
For a low end point and shoot, you cant beat it. I went and bought the collectors edition where they claimed to only have made 20,000 of them, just because I collect things. But as far as use, I rate it excellent. I drive a truck and ride a motorcycle so it goes with me at times on these trips and it so easy to carry, use, and the picture quality is very close to nikon in my opinion. Great backup camera or one to shoot wide vista's. Oh yea, the imitation panorama setting on mine is fun also. I'm keeping this one forever.
11/24/2002 12:47:02 PM
 
JOHN WALSH 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2002 2:14:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2002 2:14:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2002 2:14:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2002 2:14:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2002 2:14:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Ihave a 'OLY Mju 2' (as in Ossieland)
WONDERFUL LENS,1000 shutter,really compact & light,FIXED =better-as b-definition & faster. use 'SPOT'a lot & so easy. Got a LOWEPRO POUCH for it,& put on belt.Safe & easy to 'get out'.
I have a Nikon f/n65-SLR,but the 'Mju' is much "easier" in every way. pic's=just as good,some better than SLR. Not as much "studying"to do,either. & most pict's come out. Have a MINI TRIPOD ALSO. WISH=it was of metal
as the 'ricohs'? (one coming out-f5.6-105mm but only 1/570.possibly soon next year.(already-OK'D in EUROPE.)
10/16/2002 2:14:43 AM
 

First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)