F-501 (N2020) 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Broken Hill Sculp...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Tom R. Walker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/7/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 2:49:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 2:49:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 2:49:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 2:49:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 2:49:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
AF is pretty slow, but with a manual focus Nikkor, it's one of the best cameras I've ever used.
2/18/2006 2:49:42 PM
 
Michele R. Boone 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 2:41:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 2:41:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 2:41:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 2:41:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 2:41:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera!!!! I got a great deal, it came with a 200mm zoom lens for a total of $86.oo amazing. The photos I have taken with this camera are BEAUTIFUL. I have sold one of my photos, and have been told I should submit them for publishing. I can't say a bad thing about this camera. My only downfall is that I need to invest in some different len's.
1/14/2006 2:41:30 PM
 
Spike Dodds
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/10/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2005 1:41:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2005 1:41:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2005 1:41:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2005 1:41:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2005 1:41:27 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I owned a F-501 for over 10 years...What can I say that hasnt allready been said. I too loved it. NEVER let me down.
6/12/2005 1:41:27 AM
 
Fels 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/7/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 5:27:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 5:27:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 5:27:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 5:27:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 5:27:44 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, reliable, sturdy and user friendly.
5/4/2005 5:27:44 PM
 
Dawn D. Klose 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 8:09:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 8:09:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 8:09:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 8:09:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 8:09:16 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Worked with this camera for 15 plus years. Always reliable, great pictures
2/7/2005 8:09:16 PM
 
Dawn Klose 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:11:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:11:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:11:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:11:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:11:05 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My favorite camera. Purchased in 1986 this camera has never been in for repairs and continues to take exceptional pictures. Added zoom, tint lenses and no better way to spend a day than with my Nikon
2/7/2005 12:11:05 PM
 
Ellie M. Maier 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 3:00:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 3:00:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 3:00:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 3:00:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 3:00:55 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Nikon F 301 was a great starter camera for me it allowed me to experiment with many different situations. More times than not the photos were better than I thought they would be. The problems were the weight of the camera, I couldn't hold it for very long or still if I was trying to get in on something close. Had to switch lens for different shots. But it was a great starter camera.
10/12/2004 3:00:55 PM
 
John Connolly
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/28/2003
Contact John
John's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 2:44:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 2:44:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 2:44:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 2:44:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 2:44:57 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I bought this pre owned and loved camera, not knowing it was nearing the end of its use by date. Nikon gave the Camera a 10 year life. I have had the camera for 12 years and it is still in exellent working condition. Obviously the technology is not cutting edge, the auto focus is at snail pace and once in focus it tends to keep hunting for a sharper picture, but I will keep using it and its 28 to 300mm zoom lens. There is also a weight factor with this camera and lens, compared to my digital camera. As I mature, a camera porter looks good, even essential. A great camera in its day.
4/18/2004 2:44:57 PM
 

8 Reviews