Dynax 500i SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

sleep
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Alex F.R. Templet
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/16/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 10:42:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 10:42:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 10:42:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 10:42:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 10:42:36 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I owned the 500si for many years and it has been a great choice. Only recently it started to experience some problem, like "help"on the display after every shot, meant that I had to remove and re-instal the battery..very enoying, particularly once it started to be often...
5/19/2006 10:42:36 AM
 
Bevan J. Walsh 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2005 6:22:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2005 6:22:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2005 6:22:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2005 6:22:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2005 6:22:05 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought a Minolta Dynax 500si second hand a few months ago and have put probably 10 rolls of film through it now. I have two lenses: the standard Minolta 35-70mm f3.5-4.5 AF zoom, and a Sigma 28mm F1.8 AF lens.
I have developed strong opinions about this gear since shooting all these photos and seeing how they turned out, too:

The camera design is superb. It is very, very ergonomic and the controls are perfectly layed out. I especially like the continuously rotateable dial at the front which my index finger falls right onto. The external LCD display is very well laid out too, and very very clear. Not backlit but most aren't, I believe. The internal LCD display is vertical which I'm not so keen about, as all the numbers are one above the other! But it too is otherwise clear and shows all the info you could want - shutter speed & aperture in use, guidance when in manual mode, flash recommendation and AF success.

The body is also quite light.

These are the good points about the body. The only thing I particularly dislike about it is that the AF is noisy and hunts a LOT. This is really annoying. It is ok with people though. With many subjects it focuses easier if you turn it vertically. The AF motor is NOISY!! The AF speed is fairly ok. It would also be nice if it had a Depth of Field preview and a remote release socket. Some of these 500si's aparently have that socket, and some do not.

At least it can be focuses manually. This brings me to the lenses.

I suggest not bothering with the standard Minolta 35-70 zoom unless you're a bit broke at the time. It is a plastic thing, and none of the photos I've taken with it exactly jump out at you. They're a bit disappointing. If that's not enough, the manual focussing ring at the very front is not wide enough really and really seems to be an afterthought. With the subject Dynax SLR's mediocre AF, I find the lovely wide, knurled focusing ring on my Sigma lens a real saviour. Which brings me to that lens.

What an incredible lens this Sigma 28 mm lens is. I bought it second hand on eBay recently for about $US85. It's not the latest of this spec lens from Sigma but the second latest. I am so happy with my purchase of this lens and since the seller usually has lots of lens for sale on eBay I'll tell you who he is! user ID ginotokojapanusa. He described this lens as very sharp and if he describes one you want like that, you should end up as happy as I am. The photos I've taken with it are invariably BEAUTIFUL with ESQUISITE texture showing in the subject, and it is a very fast lens at f1.8. Rubber on bottom always wears away on this model though as its diameter extends past the camera bottom.

5/21/2005 6:22:05 PM
 
mansor sapari 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 2:20:03 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 2:20:03 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 2:20:03 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 2:20:03 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 2:20:03 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
very good. i like it
3/4/2005 2:20:03 AM
 
Eric de Jong
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/14/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 5:44:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 5:44:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 5:44:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 5:44:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 5:44:22 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had this camera since about 1997 or 1998 (don't even remember anymore). I bought the camera on my first trip to San Fransisco (I'm from the Netherlands and live in the US since October 2003). I bought because my camera back then (a Practica BC3) was due for replacement. I'd been reading about it and was impressed with the reviews. Ever since then it has been my main camera of choice and I've enjoyed it very much.
12/14/2004 5:44:22 AM
 
Elizabeth G. Patesel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 11:03:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 11:03:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 11:03:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 11:03:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 11:03:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the first good camera I have ever had the pleasure of owning. This camera goes everywhere I go. I can't take enough pictures especially when it comes to my grandchildren.
3/29/2004 11:03:54 AM
 
Vicki  Dean 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 12:54:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 12:54:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 12:54:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 12:54:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 12:54:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I Love my camera. I have had it for nearly 10 years now and have never actually gone in and set my own apertures until very recently. The photos I have taken during those 10 years I have been really pleased with as we have travelled extensively and taken many a great shot just using the programmed settings. I look forward now to setting my own aperture and experimenting more.
3/5/2004 12:54:35 PM
 
Arina Jouk 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 4:49:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 4:49:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 4:49:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 4:49:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 4:49:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i'm just a beginner in photography, i really enjoy taking pictures and i like my camera. maybe in the future i will need smth more complicated but now i love it.
10/21/2003 4:49:13 AM
 
Arina Jouk 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 4:41:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 4:41:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 4:41:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 4:41:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 4:41:18 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i've just started to take pictures, so my camera is enough for me at the moment, i like it. maybe in the future i will need something more complicated.
10/21/2003 4:41:18 AM
 

8 Reviews