VE-CG 30U Digital Camera


Sharp

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

unknown beauty
View photos created with this camera

The VE-CG 30U Digital Camera

Features:


  • 3.3-megapixel sensor captures up to 2160 by 1440 pixels
  • 3x optical and 3x digital zoom
  • 1.5-inch high resolution CGS screen
  • Included 16 MB SD memory card
  • Connects with PCs via USB port

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


3 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Melissa D. Garcia
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/5/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 1:04:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 1:04:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 1:04:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 1:04:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 1:04:39 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a good camera but the clarity is not that great.
4/5/2005 1:04:39 PM
 
Brandon R. Bathauer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/17/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 6:34:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 6:34:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 6:34:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 6:34:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 6:34:32 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My first, really got me into photography.
1/17/2004 6:34:32 PM
 
Jason M. Kliber 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2003 4:15:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2003 4:15:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2003 4:15:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2003 4:15:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2003 4:15:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'll start off by saying that I've been very pleased with the results of the images captured from this camera. This camera has 3.2 effective megapixels, 3x optical zoom and 3x digital zoom, for a collective total of 9x. I'll even go so far as to say I'm impressed with the digital zoom, which you may or may not know actually interpolates an image and is generally not recommended if the quality of image matters to you. I compared the digital zoom of this camera to an enlargement via Lizard Tech's Genuine Fractals (a $300 Photoshop plugin that interpolates a file up to 600 percent without image degradation). The results? I actually prefered the camera's digital zoom (and that's not something you'll hear every day). If you like advanced features this camera has plenty: Auto, Program Auto Exposure, Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority, Manual Exposure Control and Scene Select Mode, which contains the modes Portrait, Snapshot, Landscape, Night View and Black&White. In addition to the modes other advanced features include metering (center and spot), white balance (auto, daylight, fluorescent and tungsten), light sensitivity ISO100, 200&400 and gamma correction (highlight, darkness and contrast). As far as camera use there is a steep learning curve, unless of course you are familiar with these features or experienced with SLR's. Needless to say (but I'll say it anyways) it pays familliarize yourself to the operation manual. Yes, you could just leave the camera in auto mode, but don't expect to capture the potentially excellent images this camera can provide. The overall construction of the camera is seems pretty solid, and the dimensions are aprox. 4.5" x 2.5" x 2.5"; a little too large to simply be stuffed into a pocket. The LCD screen has it's pros and cons: it's a 1.5" screen that can be seen remarkablly well in bright, but is easily smudged with finger prints. Also, the lens cover is a simple plastic that is akin to the type that fits over a milk jug. Over all, the price (around $200-$250) is fair and picture quality is excellent. Though not a professional camera, I believe this unit to be easy enough to use for most and enough features for the enthusiast to appreciate. And yes, I recommended it.
9/23/2003 4:15:31 PM
 

3 Reviews  

Buy VE-CG 30U Digital Camera from Amazon.com