F 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Winter farm scene
View photos created with this camera

The F 35mm SLR Camera


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


24 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Randy J. Sprout
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/5/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2007 11:22:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2007 11:22:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2007 11:22:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2007 11:22:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2007 11:22:36 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have carried this camera through the freezing snows of the Korean DMZ, the tropics of Amazon, under the seas in Mexico, and the top of Calfornia's 4 highest mountians. Never had a malfunction ever! Fabulous lenses! Nothing sharper than the Micro Nikor 55mm, has ever been made. It's heavy, it's old but NOTHING BEATS IT!
2/15/2007 11:22:36 AM
 
Amanda M. Townsell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 7:35:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 7:35:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 7:35:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 7:35:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 7:35:56 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a good camera. It has traveled with me to Thailand and Mexico. I would like to upgrade at some point in the next few years but I will be hanging on to this one for a long time.
5/10/2006 7:35:56 AM
 
Stephen Streicher 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 11:44:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 11:44:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 11:44:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 11:44:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 11:44:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i point it at something... then click the button and it takes a picture... simple
4/13/2006 11:44:50 AM
 
Christopher R. Cote 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 8:22:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 8:22:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 8:22:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 8:22:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 8:22:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Oldie, but a goodie.
3/24/2006 8:22:17 PM
 
Richard S. Moseley 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 12:22:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 12:22:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 12:22:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 12:22:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 12:22:05 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first serious SLR purchased in Japan in 1968. A wonderful camera that traveled with me all over the world.
1/23/2006 12:22:05 PM
 
John R. Keistler 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:46:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:46:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:46:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:46:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:46:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The original F is the SLR equivalent of an M3. Construction of the basic body, derived from their superlative RF's, was the transformation of photography in the early 60's. Unlike the contemporary Pentax, it came on the market as a system camera, complete with motor drive. The extreme modularity of the F system enabled each photog to adapt it to his/her needs. Not only that, unlike the Contarex, it was actually affordable, if not inexpensive. Perfect? No. Biggest irritation for so many, including me, was the removable back, making it harder to reload film. This was revised on the F2. I was in junior high in the 60's when a Dutch kid moved in next door and he had an F when I was struggling with an Argus C3. Talk about jealousy! I couldn't afford an F until I was in college, bought an FTn used and shot many thousands of photos on it. Heavy, heavy, heavy. Those wide woven straps popular then were perfect for hauling it. The lenses back then were also much heavier than now, so if you had a few and a body or two in a bag you really had a load. I traded mine in on an F2AS when the meter prism died. Wish now I had it back! There are still an amazing number of these around, I'd suggest buying by body condition even if the finder is dead. Shoot meterless and enjoy the feel. Incidentally, carry one of these around and you'll attract comments like a magnet!
12/13/2005 7:46:37 PM
 
Claudio E. Luna
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/14/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 10:27:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 10:27:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 10:27:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 10:27:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 10:27:48 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
one of the best 35mm cameras.
9/19/2005 10:27:48 AM
 
Ronald Broome 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 3:08:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 3:08:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 3:08:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 3:08:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 3:08:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's the standard. I can't remember how many cameras I've gone through while this one just keeps going.
9/16/2005 3:08:30 PM
 
Matt Baguss 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 2:23:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 2:23:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 2:23:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 2:23:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 2:23:58 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's just a great camera. It's solid, dependable and there isn't any picture I can't take with it.
8/9/2005 2:23:58 PM
 
Lisa M. Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/6/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 1:13:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 1:13:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 1:13:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 1:13:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 1:13:39 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great old camera. Works great
4/12/2005 1:13:39 PM
 
Vanessa  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 8:26:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 8:26:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 8:26:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 8:26:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 8:26:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is very heavy, which I don't like. I like the image quality and it is very dependable.
4/7/2005 8:26:45 PM
 
Paul Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/31/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 2:22:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 2:22:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 2:22:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 2:22:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 2:22:11 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Nikon F was a rugged professional tool with excellent lenses.
2/17/2005 2:22:11 AM
 
Stephan A. Steele 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 4:09:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 4:09:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 4:09:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 4:09:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 4:09:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very durrable camera, I would choose this camera over any new plastic unit.
11/4/2004 4:09:37 PM
 
Swami Gurupremananda
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2004
Contact Swami
Swami's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 1:36:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 1:36:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 1:36:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 1:36:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 1:36:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A work horse, still works!
8/17/2004 1:36:58 PM
 
Ronald A. Zincone
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/27/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:08:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:08:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:08:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:08:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:08:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A legendary camera! Great for astrophotography. Fully manual and mechanical except a little on the heavy side. Quiet mechanism. Highly recommend, but like Olympus OM-1 much better.
7/29/2004 12:08:24 PM
 
Jim Anderson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 9:50:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 9:50:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 9:50:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 9:50:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 9:50:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's built like a tank. I've used it for 25 years and it hasn't failed me.
7/24/2004 9:50:22 PM
 
Giuseppe Ciccia 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 1:10:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 1:10:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 1:10:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 1:10:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 1:10:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nikon F-301 a very good camera with an excellent exposure meter
6/17/2004 1:10:55 AM
 
Ronald Broome 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 6:57:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 6:57:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 6:57:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 6:57:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 6:57:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The meter gave up, the strap lugs wore through but on a tripod with an external meter (or a guess at exposure after 40 years of experience) it beats everything.
4/8/2004 6:57:45 PM
 
Darin  A  Carminati 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 5:14:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 5:14:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 5:14:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 5:14:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 5:14:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i love it i have had it for awhile i had a connon eos elan II before it and i wanted to go manual fully manual no need for auto. It is the person that makes the pictures not the camera. Its just a strong camera period.
2/16/2004 5:14:18 PM
 
Christopher R. Hudson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 12:03:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 12:03:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 12:03:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 12:03:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 12:03:16 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I recently found my Nikon F packed in storage. I am not sure of the camera's background but I beleive it belonged to my mother's late husband. I had to do some minor repair's and cleaning but I got it working and all speeds are correct. I am still running my first roll of film through it so I will have to wait to see how good the pictures turn out.
1/25/2004 12:03:16 AM
 
Norman Fortin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 9:30:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 9:30:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 9:30:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 9:30:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 9:30:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I find that these old Nikon F's are fantasic for the intermediate to advanced photographer.Built to last.
1/1/2004 9:30:48 PM
 
Kristina L. Collins 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 8:03:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 8:03:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 8:03:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 8:03:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 8:03:00 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i really like it i can capture what i want when i push the botten and it dosent take for ever to take the picture
12/30/2003 8:03:00 AM
 
Nora Kaitis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 8:59:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 8:59:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 8:59:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 8:59:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 8:59:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera can make any picture look good! I definitely recommend it.
12/29/2003 8:59:15 AM
 
Franz Kinkhorst 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:46:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:46:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:46:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:46:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:46:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
An old work horse that is still going strong and taking great pictures. I own 2. It was my first professional camera.
9/29/2003 10:46:23 PM
 

24 Reviews