V4000 35mm SLR Camera


Vivitar

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras


View photos created with this camera

The V4000 35mm SLR Camera

Features:


  • Easy-to-use manual single-lens reflex camera--ideal for
    fledgling photographers
  • Complete with 35-70mm, f3.5 to f4.8, close-focusing zoom lens
  • Bright viewfinder with split-image focusing and 3-LED display
  • Hot shoe with X contact for flash photography
  • Accurate, center-weighted, through-the-lens metering
    system

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Greg D. Leeah
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 12:03:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 12:03:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 12:03:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 12:03:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 12:03:59 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great beginner camera, easy to use, lightweight, nice pictures
3/15/2006 12:03:59 AM
 
Bob Travaglione 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 8:54:06 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 8:54:06 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 8:54:06 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 8:54:06 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 8:54:06 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
TREO 650 Camera Phone. This is an awful camera, but sometimes it gets the job done on the run!
2/5/2006 8:54:06 AM
 
Mark C. Mulder 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 5:32:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 5:32:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 5:32:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 5:32:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 5:32:33 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
a durable manual SLR. handed down by my father.
5/1/2005 5:32:33 AM
 
Raquel N. Valdez 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2004 10:08:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2004 10:08:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2004 10:08:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2004 10:08:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2004 10:08:21 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like my camera i have to just work with it more.
12/15/2004 10:08:21 AM
 
Job  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 7:09:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 7:09:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 7:09:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 7:09:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 7:09:29 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
very good
8/5/2004 7:09:29 AM
 
Claudio  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 7:56:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 7:56:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 7:56:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 7:56:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 7:56:46 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
All right, this thing isn't a display of wonderful features, but you can't ask for more on a camera this cheap. I feel that the OEM 35/70 is THE bad thing in the kit, so I bought 50/1.7 and 135/2.5 Pentax SMC used lenses and... surprise!!! Suddenly muy V4000S turned into a pro image quality ultralightweight photo machine. Besides, all manual is my way to go and learn. Some day when I'll got the resources to buy a premium digital SLR I might consider the change. But until then, this is my advice: add some top quality lenses and enjoy simplicity.
6/27/2004 7:56:46 AM
 
Jeremy G. Slome 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 2:35:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 2:35:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 2:35:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 2:35:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 2:35:49 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The camera is very light weight and extremely managable. It is easy to control the functions of the camera for each shot.
2/29/2004 2:35:49 PM
 
Christian A. Carollo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 6:39:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 6:39:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 6:39:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 6:39:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 6:39:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Decent camera to start out with. Not real high tech, but all manual so that's a big plus. Very quality camera if you are looking for something cheap and decent.
2/28/2004 6:39:30 PM
 
Benjamin Howell 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 12:35:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 12:35:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 12:35:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 12:35:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 12:35:28 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good Starter for the learner
2/17/2004 12:35:28 PM
 
Veronika Rejzkova 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 12:05:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 12:05:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 12:05:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 12:05:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 12:05:51 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
As a amateur I like this camera very much because it is all manual, and it makes really nice pictures. Another great feature is that it is very light.The only thing I don't like about this camera is that it has limited aperture and shutter speed settings. Most of the modern cameras that are on the market nowadays have shutter speed up to 4000, this camera has only up to 2000.
10/29/2003 12:05:51 PM
 
Rachel Knutson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2003 7:35:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2003 7:35:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2003 7:35:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2003 7:35:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2003 7:35:55 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. It is extermely durable, (it has been dropped in the "elements" numerous times). My parents bought it for me when I was 14 and it has never needed a repair yet, (I'm 20 now)! I love the fact that it is fully manual. I am in total control.
9/21/2003 7:35:55 PM
 

First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy V4000 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com