EOS Digital Rebel (300D) Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras

Purple bokeh
View photos created with this camera

The EOS Digital Rebel (300D) Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • Capture any shot the way you see it brilliantly
  • Dazzling resolution: the 6.3 megapixel CMOS sensor
  • The speed to capture the shots that won't wait
  • Perfect white balance for clear, true color
  • Comes with a 18-55MM Lens

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 1527 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Walter H. Wiesbeck
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:44 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fast and to the point.
12/14/2008 9:58:44 PM
 
Walter H. Wiesbeck
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:38 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fast and to the point.
12/14/2008 9:58:38 PM
 
Walter H. Wiesbeck
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2008 9:58:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fast and to the point.
12/14/2008 9:58:35 PM
 
ROBERT  F. CUMMINGS 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2007 9:57:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2007 9:57:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2007 9:57:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2007 9:57:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2007 9:57:04 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
THE ONLY PROBLEM I'VE HAD IS WHEN I USE MY 35MM EOS620 LENSES, THE PHOTOS COME OUT A LITTLE SOFT OR OUT OF SHARP FOCUS. WHEN I USE THE 18-55 ULTRASONIC LENSE, THE SOFT FOCUS ISSUE GOES AWAY. I FOUND THAT WITH THE 6.1 MGP, I CAN ENLARGE ALL THE WAY UP TO 16X20 WITHOUT ANY PIXLEATION PROBLEMS. THE OTHER ISSUE I HAVE IS THE BATTERY IS STARTING TO LOOSE IT'S ABILITY TO HOLD IT'S CHARGE. IT IS OK FOR A WHILE, THEN IT JUST DROPS IT'S CHARGE ALL AT ONCE. THE ONLY THING BAD ABOUT THAT IS, IT HAPPENS AT THE MOST INOPPORTUNE TIME AND A REPLACEMENT BATTERY IS $50.00. WHY CAN'T CANON LEARN TO USE ENEXPENSIVE AA BATTERIES, THOSE COME IN RECHARGEABLE AS WELL AND THEY COST A LOT LESS MONEY. SO WHAT IF 4 AA'S WOULD MAKE THE CAMERA WEIGH MORE, MOST OF THE WEIGHT IS GONE COMPARED TO A FILM CAMERA, IT WOULDN'T HURT IT TO BE HEAVIER.
7/1/2007 9:57:04 PM
 
Natasha Beccaria 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2007 7:17:44 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2007 7:17:44 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2007 7:17:44 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2007 7:17:44 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2007 7:17:44 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I like it but I found that for some reason my photos arent as sharp as I would like them. And because of my limited knowledge on cameras, I'm not sure if thats a camera or a lens thing.

If anyone has any idea, feel free to contact me.

5/10/2007 7:17:44 AM
 
Matthew S. Gustke
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/9/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2006 12:12:59 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2006 12:12:59 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2006 12:12:59 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2006 12:12:59 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2006 12:12:59 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I absolutely fell in love with this camera when I bought it almost two years ago. Recently while photographing lightning, I discovered a large flaw with the sensor. After doing some research, I learned that many people are getting hot pixels in long-exposure shots after about 10,000 pictures have been taken with the camera. I was at 9500 when I noticed the hot pixels. I guess it is a good excuse to upgrade to the XTi that just came out :)
11/12/2006 12:12:59 PM
 
Cooper Deats 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2006 3:16:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2006 3:16:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2006 3:16:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2006 3:16:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2006 3:16:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great camera when I started, and is a camera that I've grown with. It's a bit slow on the writing in RAW format. I would eventually like to upgrade to a camera with better metering fuctions as well as a higher FPS. When working around these limitations, it's an amazing camera
10/13/2006 3:16:39 PM
 
Martha A. Prieto 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2006 1:19:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2006 1:19:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2006 1:19:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2006 1:19:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2006 1:19:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
After playing with this camera for a year and a half, I have found that it has a few limitations regarding semi-low lighting and it's become a little slow (frames per second) for my taste. Still, it's a great camera and I have never had better photos with my other-nonSLRs. I plan on upgrading when I can afford it.
9/24/2006 1:19:00 PM
 
Tereasa L. Bendele 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 3:16:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 3:16:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 3:16:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 3:16:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2006 3:16:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Not half bad. The lense it came with is a bit slow focusing - but the colors are fantastic. The RAW capability is handy. I wish it could write to the card faster. I've had great luck with this camera.
9/1/2006 3:16:34 PM
 
Denise M. Powers 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2006 4:27:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2006 4:27:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2006 4:27:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2006 4:27:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2006 4:27:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am loving the Rebel, the pictures are great and I am finding a lot of ways to use the various features. Picks up shadows well making good reference photos for me since I do watercolor paintings. It also is not too sensitive to motion. I just got great lighthouse shots from a boat!!
7/26/2006 4:27:09 PM
 
Lary McCroskey 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 8:53:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 8:53:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 8:53:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 8:53:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 8:53:24 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Even a beginner, like myself, can have success taking pictures with the Canon Rebel.
7/7/2006 8:53:24 PM
 

First 10 of 1527 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy EOS Digital Rebel (300D) Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com