EOS Rebel II (1000N; 1000S) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

St. Louis Courtho...
View photos created with this camera

Improved version of EOS 1000; new features include quieter film transport, increased autofocus performance, top shutter speed increased to 1/2000 second, AF in-focus beeper can be turned off, built-in soft-focus mode and musical self-timer countdown Quartz Date version available

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


25 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Stacey A. Hurley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/5/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:33:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:33:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:33:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:33:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:33:52 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera has been very reliable in photo quality and ease of use.
4/5/2006 5:33:52 PM
 
Amy M. Krauss 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 1:40:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 1:40:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 1:40:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 1:40:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 1:40:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm not sure exactly what kind it is except it's not digital. I know it's a Canon EOS Rebel. I've had it for about 7 or 8 years. When you are facing the lens (like you are the subject) there is the Roman numeral for 2 in the lower right corner. I got it at a pawn shop so I can't be sure of the exact age. Don't even know if the flash is the right one. It says 'SPEEDLITE 300EZ' on the back with a sticker saying PASSED JCII right above it. I would like to know more about it.
3/2/2006 1:40:12 PM
 
Joyce Dorsch 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 4:16:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 4:16:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 4:16:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 4:16:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 4:16:56 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A good all around film SLR. Slow on focus, but otherwise performs well.
2/27/2006 4:16:56 PM
 
Amy T. Jerrell 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 12:56:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 12:56:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 12:56:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 12:56:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 12:56:08 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
First camera I bought on my own. I love Canon products. It is older so it has your typical problems an older camera has. Lately it has been eating through batteries.
1/4/2006 12:56:08 PM
 
Susie Q. Belford 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 7:40:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 7:40:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 7:40:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 7:40:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 7:40:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The best thing about my camera is the ability to use either auto focus or manual focus. Another thing I like about my camera is using stop action. This has been helpful lately as I have had wrist problems in both hands. The ability to stop action reassures me that any camera shake I may have do to my wrist problems will be minimized. One of the things I dislike is that at times I have to fight the auto focus. In those times I get as close as auto focus will let me and then I switch over to manual. My overall rating for this non-digital camera is between a 3 and a 4 - leaning closer to the 4.
10/30/2005 7:40:00 PM
 
William L. Null 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2005 2:50:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2005 2:50:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2005 2:50:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2005 2:50:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2005 2:50:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
for someone new to taking photo's i think this is the trick. I love all the extra stuff you can do with it. best bang for the buck i could find.
9/7/2005 2:50:42 PM
 
Carla Dahl 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 3:23:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 3:23:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 3:23:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 3:23:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 3:23:15 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Have not taken shots with this yet. Just got it.
5/30/2005 3:23:15 AM
 
Tara L. Gullett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/8/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 11:05:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 11:05:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 11:05:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 11:05:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 11:05:12 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Works great for slide shots and then printing slides out on polaroid 669 film for image transfer.
11/24/2004 11:05:12 PM
 
Tara L. Gullett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/8/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 3:16:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 3:16:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 3:16:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 3:16:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 3:16:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Mine is used but still works great. It would be even better if I had a telephoto. I'm saving for my big digital purchase.
11/10/2004 3:16:40 PM
 
ZISHAN ASAD ALI 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 11:29:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 11:29:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 11:29:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 11:29:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 11:29:37 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it works great and ocassionally impresses me very much
9/16/2004 11:29:37 AM
 
Deian  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 3:44:38 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 3:44:38 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 3:44:38 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 3:44:38 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 3:44:38 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a nice and (now) cheap camera. It has all of the standard EOS functions, and in continuous mode takes 1fps.
6/1/2004 3:44:38 AM
 
Ronnie Yeatts 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 12:40:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 12:40:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 12:40:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 12:40:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 12:40:18 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes nice pictures. Easy to use. We bought it because it was cheaper than most and could easily add different lenses.
5/13/2004 12:40:18 PM
 
Ed J. Alt 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 5:59:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 5:59:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 5:59:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 5:59:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 5:59:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like the versatility of the camera
5/2/2004 5:59:15 PM
 
Krysti M. Orella 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 9:50:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 9:50:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 9:50:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 9:50:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 9:50:46 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it, easy to learn on, lightweight, takes great pictures, I just need to learn more about it!
3/23/2004 9:50:46 AM
 
Cathy Nelson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 7:07:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 7:07:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 7:07:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 7:07:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 7:07:19 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have had my Canon EOS Rebel II camera for approximately 17 years now and I love it. I really like the different mode settings for portrait, action, landscape, and close-up. I use the auto focus and auto set-up exclusively and love it as I can capture photos quicker without having to try to set the focal point, depth of field etc (which I don't really understand anyway). What I don't like about the camera is that it does not have a place for a cable shoot hookup and I have problems using the autofocus at night or in the house. I find using the manual focus difficult due to my astigmatism. When I purchased the camera, I wish the features would have been explained better and the types of filters and lenses available for the camera.
3/17/2004 7:07:19 PM
 
ANTHONY CAROLINA 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 6:28:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 6:28:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 6:28:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 6:28:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 6:28:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
GREAT CAMERA AUTO SETTINGS FOR MY WIFE WHO KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT PHOTOGRAPHY. NO MORE OUT OF FOCUS PICTURES FROM HER. MANUEL SETTTINGS FOR ME WHO LIKES TO SPEND ALL DAY EXPERIMENTING ON ONE SUBJECT.
2/17/2004 6:28:22 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 10:35:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 10:35:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 10:35:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 10:35:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 10:35:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i like the way the shots are easy to achieve and it has all the settings for manual takes also.
1/27/2004 10:35:13 AM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:49:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:49:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:49:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:49:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:49:03 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Seems like a great camera. Still trying to figure out all the functions available.
1/5/2004 9:49:03 PM
 
Abraham Legaspi 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2003 8:21:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2003 8:21:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2003 8:21:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2003 8:21:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2003 8:21:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Has been a very nice camera for several years now. I have many special memories recorded thanks to this camera. I would definately suggest Canon cameras.
12/2/2003 8:21:19 PM
 
John D. Olson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2003 3:56:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2003 3:56:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2003 3:56:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2003 3:56:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2003 3:56:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Bought it used. Works quite well. Only problem, which actually is mine, is a touchy shutter button.
11/24/2003 3:56:28 PM
 
Becky L. Pagnotta 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 5:36:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 5:36:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 5:36:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 5:36:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 5:36:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like my canon rebel g-it works really wellfor what I like to shoot, wildlife,weddings, rodeos,all sports,senior pictures, well pretty much everything. What I don't like about it is the auto focus sometimes exspecially when I'm shooting action or wild life.
11/5/2003 5:36:20 PM
 
Carmen C. Miller 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 6:34:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 6:34:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 6:34:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 6:34:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 6:34:39 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first SLR camera and I found it easy to use. Nice choice of settings, lightweight. With the manual settings, it's a good student camera and with the automatic settings you are well on your way to taking some great shots. I am still trying to decide if I like digital or film and it's tough. Both have advantages. I will probably end up getting a more advanced film SLR and a digital SLR one day.. I hope.
11/2/2003 6:34:39 AM
 
Lisa Wendling
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/16/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 8:46:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 8:46:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 8:46:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 8:46:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 8:46:45 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy this camera. I am still learning how to use it. Most of my pictures are with the auto feature, since I am just starting to learn how to use a better camera. This camera is easy to use, and I have had fewer photos that look bad.
10/16/2003 8:46:45 AM
 
Maddie George 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 7:42:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 7:42:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 7:42:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 7:42:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 7:42:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very lightweight. Super easy to handle. Has a great feel.
9/28/2003 7:42:36 PM
 
Lana Manis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/17/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 9:36:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 9:36:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 9:36:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 9:36:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 9:36:43 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE this camera! My husband bought it for me for Christmas several years ago...my first SLR. Before, I'd only had $20 P&S cameras! Even though I recently purchased a digital (for the convenience of uploading right away) I will continue to use my Rebel. It's been dropped, used out in snow and rain, and still works great. I like the fact that you can use auto or all manual settings, has DOF, SF, timer, etc. I have 35-80mm & 80-200mm lenses. Highly recommend for the beginner and I'm sure a pro could do great things with it!
9/25/2003 9:36:43 AM
 

25 Reviews