KR-5 Super II 35mm SLR Camera


Ricoh

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Charge!
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Amanda M. Goslin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 9:36:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 9:36:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 9:36:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 9:36:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 9:36:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
An Oldie but a Goodie!
6/19/2006 9:36:20 AM
 
Cheri Newkirk
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/20/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 7:17:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 7:17:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 7:17:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 7:17:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 7:17:29 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great Student Camera and so very durable!
1/25/2006 7:17:29 AM
 
CrisMarie Williams
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/22/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 8:51:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 8:51:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 8:51:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 8:51:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 8:51:53 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to use SLR. Takes good pictures.
10/25/2005 8:51:53 PM
 
Amy Jackson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/24/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 9:00:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 9:00:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 9:00:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 9:00:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 9:00:11 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This was my first SLR camera. I got this when I took Photography 101 in school. It has taken some really good pictures, but it is all manual and slow to focus. It really was good to start out with because I did learn alot about the settings. It does not have a built in flash, I used a Vivitar flash with it. One thing I can say that was really great was I don't remember a single shot with red eye. Film was also a pain to load!
7/31/2005 9:00:11 PM
 
Ben Howell 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 11:44:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 11:44:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 11:44:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 11:44:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 11:44:14 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good learners' camera.
4/7/2005 11:44:14 AM
 
Leeonie Stephens
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/27/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:48:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:48:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:48:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:48:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2005 2:48:45 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Ricoh super II are very capable of producing reliable good images. The down side is if you are at some stage wanting motor drive features and aperture priority and a faster flash sync speeds it does have limitations. A great camera that is a great teacher to learn everything quickly about the basics on have it all works.
3/27/2005 2:48:45 PM
 
Tom Schmitt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2005
Contact Tom
Tom's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 3:36:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 3:36:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 3:36:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 3:36:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 3:36:57 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have the KR-5 Super (not II) but I picked the closest match. This is my trusty old first SLR from 1984. It always worked well for me; I only wish it had a few slower shutter speeds (slowest is 1/8). I shot all of my Spain and England shots with this camera. For the last few years there was a hair stuck inside (and it was appearing on the top edge in all of my photos) but I finally found it stuck under the mirror and removed it. I have been using my N65, MF, and LF, but now I will also start using this camera again.
3/23/2005 3:36:57 AM
 
Tom Schmitt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2005
Contact Tom
Tom's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 3:45:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 3:45:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 3:45:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 3:45:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 3:45:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like for its durability. It's solid. It was the first 35mm I owned so it's my favorite camera. I like that it takes Pentax lenses.
3/22/2005 3:45:42 PM
 
Erin L. Diel 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 3:16:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 3:16:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 3:16:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 3:16:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 3:16:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first fully manual SLR.
2/27/2005 3:16:34 PM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 4:11:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 4:11:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 4:11:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 4:11:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 4:11:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Siple , basic, good starter SLR film, have had many great long exposure star shots with it
1/19/2005 4:11:00 PM
 
Maxim S. Pometun 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:20:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:20:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:20:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:20:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:20:15 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have owned Ricoh KR-5 super II for almost 5 years now. It is a great all-manual camera. Has everything you need and nothing you don't for taking great pictures. Built like a tank, has a good viewfinder and accurate built-in light meter. Because a lot of people seem to prefer (for no apparent reason) Pentax K-1000 over this Ricoh, the KR-5 super II can be bought very cheap on eBay. It also has faster shutter speed than Pentax K-1000 (1/2000 sec vs. 1/1000) and faster flash sync (1/250 sec vs. 1/60 on K-1000). I can recommend this Ricoh to anyone who needs a manual camera or wants to have a cheap dependable backup body.
Cheers.
10/22/2004 2:20:15 PM
 

First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)