Maxxum HTsi Plus SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

yellowstone falls
View photos created with this camera

The Maxxum HTsi Plus SLR Camera

Feature Highlights

  • Three-Point Crosscut Autofocusing
  • Improved AF Control
  • Built-in Flash 14-Segment Honeycomb-Pattern Metering
  • 1/4000 Second High-Speed Shutter
  • Double-Exposure Mode

3-Point Crosscut Autofocus
The new 3-point crosscut autofocus system instantly identifies and tracks your subject. Separate 3-point sensors keep even off-center subjects sharp. And the combination horizontal and vertical pattern enables you to focus even on the horizon.

Action
So fast, so accurate, the Maxxum HTsi is point-and-shoot easy to use. While you compose your, shot the autofocus system captures and tracks even a moving subject. You can simply wait for the right moment, or you can fire non-stop at up to 2 frames per second.

Predictive Focus Control
Predictive focus control means the Maxxum HTsi calculates exactly where a moving subject will be, even at the moment of shutter release, so that the focus is always razor sharp.

1/4000 Second
The Maxxum HTsi is the only camera in its class to offer such a high shutter speed—allowing you to freeze images at the height of action. The high speed shutter allows a high flash-synchronization speed of 1/125 sec., enabli

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


23 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Sandra Walker 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:36:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:36:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:36:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:36:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:36:18 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my Minolta camera it's great. I've had it forever and every since I got my low aperature lens I love it even more. My Kodak z740 digital camera is another story it's not so good in low light and I've had a lot of problems with it killing batteries. My next digital camera I want to be more like a 35mm, in the fact that I can change the settings and lenses.
7/7/2006 5:36:18 AM
 
Shirlee D. Schuster 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 8:06:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 8:06:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 8:06:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 8:06:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 8:06:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just got this as another fantastic ebay deal and already love it! Takes great pics and I haven't even begun to use all the functions yet.You can't go wrong with these Maxxums!!
6/4/2006 8:06:06 AM
 
Marnie R. Dunbar 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 4:12:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 4:12:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 4:12:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 4:12:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 4:12:57 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. I find the colors to be true. What I see in the lense is the picture I get. I use 800 film always. My kids are actors so we thought we should get a good camera for their head shots and we are happy with our choice.
6/9/2005 4:12:57 PM
 
Jody Jackson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/5/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 4:23:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 4:23:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 4:23:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 4:23:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 4:23:36 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I really like it because it is easy to use but I am a beginner so I am not using everything on the camera.
3/5/2005 4:23:36 PM
 
Jody Jackson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/5/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 4:23:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 4:23:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 4:23:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 4:23:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 4:23:11 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I really like it because it is easy to use but I am a beginner so I am not using everything on the camera.
3/5/2005 4:23:11 PM
 
Charles Granger 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 3:25:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 3:25:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 3:25:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 3:25:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 3:25:23 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera has done its duty for me. A classically great camera that acts more mature than it is.
3/3/2005 3:25:23 AM
 
Michelle L. Vazul 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 4:49:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 4:49:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 4:49:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 4:49:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 4:49:27 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I absolutely love this camera. It is very user friendly, but has grown with me as I get more experienced. I wish I had more flexibility with the aperature settings, but overall, I wouldn't trade it for anything.
12/31/2004 4:49:27 AM
 
Eliza R. Daniels 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 6:49:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 6:49:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 6:49:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 6:49:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 6:49:23 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I bought it from a photographer who was going all digital. I am not very good at choosing the correct settings or remembering all of the cameras, expansive features. Its a little out of my league sometimes, but I enjoy it. I wish it were easier to understand, and quicker with focusing.
11/8/2004 6:49:23 AM
 
Patty J. Brennan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 3:55:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 3:55:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 3:55:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 3:55:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 3:55:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It takes really great pictures and is easy to use. I wish that the lenses were more universal so I could use other lenses and filters.
7/21/2004 3:55:25 PM
 
RD Photography 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 7:27:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 7:27:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 7:27:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 7:27:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 7:27:04 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera, just picked it up and it has lots of nice features on it that I like.
4/28/2004 7:27:04 AM
 
Colleen B. McColgan 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 7:32:46 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 7:32:46 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 7:32:46 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 7:32:46 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 7:32:46 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Decent camera, I have had good luck with it and some terrific results. It was my first SLR purchase...I wish I had gotten a Canon or Nikon. I haven't had any photography training, so some of the cameras shortcomings may acutally have been mine. But, I seemed to have a lot of trouble focusing in the auto mode.
1/7/2004 7:32:46 AM
 
Hazel Brooks 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 9:23:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 9:23:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 9:23:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 9:23:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 9:23:53 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. I have had it for 2 years and not one problem. The only bad point in my opinion is that if you want to take a picture in automatic you don't have the option to turn the flash off.
1/4/2004 9:23:53 PM
 
Patrick Cusher 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:07:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:07:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:07:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:07:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 10:07:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera. I love the control over everything here.
1/2/2004 10:07:09 PM
 
Michael L. Vinyard 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2003 8:39:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2003 8:39:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2003 8:39:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2003 8:39:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2003 8:39:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my fourth Minolta SLR. Shoots wonderful pictures. Has interchangable lenses. Will use in conjunction with my new Minolta Dimage.
11/10/2003 8:39:28 PM
 
Daniel Vega 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 8:05:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 8:05:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 8:05:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 8:05:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 8:05:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera; sharp pictures, great sensors and many great features.
8/28/2003 8:05:00 AM
 
Kari L. Young 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 7:07:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 7:07:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 7:07:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 7:07:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 7:07:28 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like this camera because it gives me, as an amateur, the ability to simply point-and-shoot or take the time to select specific settings.
8/26/2003 7:07:28 AM
 
Kristina M. Drake 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 4:32:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 4:32:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 4:32:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 4:32:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 4:32:07 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera.I like how you can change it from manual to automatic and can overlap yor pictures. It has alot of neat functions to it and is light weight.
8/19/2003 4:32:07 PM
 
Jerry Moran 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 11:02:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 11:02:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 11:02:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 11:02:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 11:02:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great camera.I've used this camera for hundreds of shots.
8/12/2003 11:02:13 PM
 
Jaclyn McGinnis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 7:23:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 7:23:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 7:23:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 7:23:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 7:23:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera was purchased for me as a gift from my parent for my 19th birthday. I love it. It was inexpensive and is light weight. I have always been interested in photography since high school. I wanted to buy a SLR camera after graduation, so instead my parents baught it. It goes everywhere I go. Someday I do wish to upgrade to better but for now this is perfect.
7/24/2003 7:23:40 PM
 
Dee  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 8:40:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 8:40:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 8:40:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 8:40:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 8:40:35 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've had this camera for a year. This is a very good starter camera to learn a few things on till you can fully utilize anything more expensive, and not a bad camera for the intermediate photographer. Easy to handle, and simple modes make this a camera that is easy to fall in love with.
7/24/2003 8:40:35 AM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I got this camera just two weeks back
This is a great camera a starter can buy

The plastic feel is little bit fagile but with this price I think this is the best.

 
Heather A. Campbell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have owned this camera for about 6 months - it is my first SLR camera and I have loved it. I really like how light it is since I like to take it hiking with me...and it takes great portraits and action shots. Although I am still just learning all the ins and outs, it has been a great first camera for me!
 
Patrick Cusher 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Got this camera about a month ago. The weight bothered me at first, and seemed a bit "plastic-y" but after I got used to handling it, it feels great...especially on long hikes. The versatility of the camera itself is the reason I bought this particular camera. I wanted the full manual modes with a full-auto, fast, whip it out and shoot mode. The Bulb mode was what impressed me the most. Lightning shots are considered one of my vices and I have to have a camera that I can do this...My previous Maxxum 3000i couldn't and I was pulling my hair out whenever a genuine Oklahoma thunderstorm rolled this way.

So far, I have had no problems with the feel of the camera except the fact that the quick-release head off my tripod is actually heavier than the SLR body! Great camera...Great buy.

 

23 Reviews