BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EF 28-70mm f/2.8L USM Lens


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses : Zoom Lenses

The EF 28-70mm f/2.8L USM  Lens

Features:

  • Focus Drive: Ultrasonic
  • Groups/Elements: 11/16
  • Angle of View: 75 deg. - 34 deg.
  • Minimum Focus: 1.6 ft. (0.5m)
  • Minimum Aperture: f/22
  • Filter (diameter): 77mm
  • Length: 45/8 (118mm)
  • Weight: 1.9 lb. (880g)
  • Comes with LP-1219 case and EW-83B hood.
  • Includes Canon 1 year USA warranty


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Peter Konrad
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/11/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
As expected, this is a superbly clear and fast lens. I just traded up to this and have tried it on my Canon 5D this past week. Was amazed at the color clarity. I find the 77mm size lens matches the other L series I have and that makes it easy to trade filters or use a single Expodisc that fits the telephotos as well as this one. This lens is ideal if you want low light shooting and clarity for wide angle photos.
8/18/2007 8:03:43 PM
 
Diana  Gallagher

member since: 2/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this lens, but took half a mark off for its sheer size. I have it on a 5D and as a team I am consistantly creating sharp images with beautiful saturation, even in less favourable light. NOT A TRAVEL LENS! I took it with me for a one month trip and made many sacrifices to keep it in my carry-on luggage due to weight. But it's metal construction does mean it's going to be in my kit for many years to come.
8/15/2006 1:19:12 AM
 
Ron Goldman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/5/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recently purchased this lens for a Canon 10D digital SLR. It is an amazing lens at all focal lengths and apertures. With the 1.6 crop factor of the 10D, it becomes a 45-112mm lens which is great for a lot of situations. I add extension tubes to this for an incredible macro lens as well. It is rather large and expensive but worth every penny!
6/11/2003 3:58:36 PM
 
chris calabro

member since: 3/18/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
A great lens. Extremely sharp with excellent build quality. Smooth, fast autofocus, comes with a high price. Defines Canon L series lens. Only negatives tend to be its size given it somewhat limited focal range. It is a bear especially when you mount the hood to it. Not a great travel lens due to ints size and weight. But if your looking for a sharp lens in this range this is it. I would suggest a hard look at the 28-135 IS if you don't need the 2.8 speed
 
Jeremy D. West
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Jeremy
Jeremy's Gallery

member since: 3/4/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very smooth, very fast, and extremely sharp pictures. However, it is a tad large, although I still want the 2.8 aperature. This is probably one of Canon's best zoom lenses for overall optical quality from what I have seen.
 

5 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.